A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Presario 6000



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 18th 04, 03:01 PM
Stephen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Presario 6000

Hi

I have a friend who wishes to upgrade the performance of his Compaq Presario
6000 (128Mb RAM Celeron processor).

Would replacing the motherboard be a viable option? Is it possible to
replace Intel motherboards with an AMD compatible motherboard?

Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Stephen


  #2  
Old October 18th 04, 07:27 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check the Compaq FAQ.
HH

"Stephen" wrote in message
...
Hi

I have a friend who wishes to upgrade the performance of his Compaq
Presario 6000 (128Mb RAM Celeron processor).

Would replacing the motherboard be a viable option? Is it possible to
replace Intel motherboards with an AMD compatible motherboard?

Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Stephen




  #3  
Old October 19th 04, 12:45 PM
Stephen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I just cannot find any Presario FAQ that mentions upgrades.


"HH" wrote in message
...
Check the Compaq FAQ.
HH

"Stephen" wrote in message
...
Hi

I have a friend who wishes to upgrade the performance of his Compaq
Presario 6000 (128Mb RAM Celeron processor).

Would replacing the motherboard be a viable option? Is it possible to
replace Intel motherboards with an AMD compatible motherboard?

Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Stephen






  #4  
Old October 19th 04, 01:33 PM
Stephen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The best I can find from the Compaq FAQ is:

"So, generally speaking for most users, the board is NOT easily
upgradeable."


"Stephen" wrote in message
...
I just cannot find any Presario FAQ that mentions upgrades.


"HH" wrote in message
...
Check the Compaq FAQ.
HH

"Stephen" wrote in message
...
Hi

I have a friend who wishes to upgrade the performance of his Compaq
Presario 6000 (128Mb RAM Celeron processor).

Would replacing the motherboard be a viable option? Is it possible to
replace Intel motherboards with an AMD compatible motherboard?

Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Stephen








  #5  
Old October 19th 04, 08:28 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You found it...for the reasons stated.
HH

"Stephen" wrote in message
. ..
The best I can find from the Compaq FAQ is:

"So, generally speaking for most users, the board is NOT easily
upgradeable."


"Stephen" wrote in message
...
I just cannot find any Presario FAQ that mentions upgrades.


"HH" wrote in message
...
Check the Compaq FAQ.
HH

"Stephen" wrote in message
...
Hi

I have a friend who wishes to upgrade the performance of his Compaq
Presario 6000 (128Mb RAM Celeron processor).

Would replacing the motherboard be a viable option? Is it possible to
replace Intel motherboards with an AMD compatible motherboard?

Any views would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Stephen











 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
presario 6000 6027ca model: what nic card is this? Nettransplant Compaq Computers 1 March 20th 06 09:41 PM
compaq presario 6000 playing dvd's caseystengel Compaq Computers 2 August 5th 04 08:51 PM
Compaq Presario 6000 restore problem. Gary Compaq Computers 10 May 22nd 04 09:06 PM
HP DVD Writer200i On Compaq Presario 6000 Gerry Paton Compaq Computers 1 November 25th 03 09:22 PM
Problems with Presario 700 (711AU) SFR Compaq Computers 1 July 8th 03 10:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.