A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Pressario intermittent hardware failures



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th 04, 05:52 PM
Franou
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Pressario intermittent hardware failures

Presario 8000 (8LSXE1) Win XP, 256MB RAM

The computer is clean: no virus, worm, spyware, malware, etc. The
primary HD has 42GB of defragmented space.

The problem started a few months ago, when, occasionally, upon being
powered on, the computer would not detect the external Iomega HDD.

The problem worsened a few weeks after I installed a second hard
drive, a Western digital 120GB, the maximum recommended by Compaq.

The computer freezes, or reboots itself unexpectedly. Upon
restarting, it finds only the CD-ROM drives and "No IDE fixed disk
present", or detects everything. I also get: "Non system disk or disk
error" without diskette in the A: drive.

I have changed the power source to make sure the computer receives
adequate power.

I have disabled Windows Automatic Restart

Clue: often, before the computer crashes, I hear repeated "clunky"
noise. The closest I can relate it to is an old fashion hardware
relay.

As I unplugged the second hard drive, the computer is more stable.

The computer is still under warranty and, if Compaq ever follows
through, I should get a new motherboard. But I am not sure this will
fix my problem.

Any suggestions are welcome! Can someone recommend software to
diagnostic my problem?

Thanks!
  #2  
Old October 11th 04, 05:56 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are the original IDE cables being used? If so is the new internal HD
jumpered CS for Cable Select?
HH

"Franou" wrote in message
om...
Presario 8000 (8LSXE1) Win XP, 256MB RAM

The computer is clean: no virus, worm, spyware, malware, etc. The
primary HD has 42GB of defragmented space.

The problem started a few months ago, when, occasionally, upon being
powered on, the computer would not detect the external Iomega HDD.

The problem worsened a few weeks after I installed a second hard
drive, a Western digital 120GB, the maximum recommended by Compaq.

The computer freezes, or reboots itself unexpectedly. Upon
restarting, it finds only the CD-ROM drives and "No IDE fixed disk
present", or detects everything. I also get: "Non system disk or disk
error" without diskette in the A: drive.

I have changed the power source to make sure the computer receives
adequate power.

I have disabled Windows Automatic Restart

Clue: often, before the computer crashes, I hear repeated "clunky"
noise. The closest I can relate it to is an old fashion hardware
relay.

As I unplugged the second hard drive, the computer is more stable.

The computer is still under warranty and, if Compaq ever follows
through, I should get a new motherboard. But I am not sure this will
fix my problem.

Any suggestions are welcome! Can someone recommend software to
diagnostic my problem?

Thanks!




  #3  
Old October 12th 04, 08:08 AM
Franou
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are the original IDE cables being used?

Yes.

If so is the new internal HD
jumpered CS for Cable Select?


Not Cable Select, but dual/slave as it is on the same cable as the master.

The problem worsens with the second HD, but also occurs without it.

Thanks,

VM
  #4  
Old October 12th 04, 12:15 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Compaqs ship with Cable Select IDE cables and drives attached should be
jumpered CS. With such an arrangement the end connector is the master and
the niddle is slave. Make sure the drive(s) are jumpered CS.
HH

"Franou" wrote in message
m...
Are the original IDE cables being used?


Yes.

If so is the new internal HD
jumpered CS for Cable Select?


Not Cable Select, but dual/slave as it is on the same cable as the master.

The problem worsens with the second HD, but also occurs without it.

Thanks,

VM




  #5  
Old October 12th 04, 02:51 PM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Or change the data cables to the new IDE cables that were likely to have been
included in the box with the new HDD, and continue to use master/slave
jumpering....

Dale
  #6  
Old October 12th 04, 07:37 PM
Stuart Carrison
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Clue: often, before the computer crashes, I hear repeated "clunky"
noise. The closest I can relate it to is an old fashion hardware
relay."

This is almost certainly a broken hard disk.

--

Regards,

Stuart

PS remove the obvious to e-mail me.


"Franou" wrote in message
om...
Presario 8000 (8LSXE1) Win XP, 256MB RAM

The computer is clean: no virus, worm, spyware, malware, etc. The
primary HD has 42GB of defragmented space.

The problem started a few months ago, when, occasionally, upon being
powered on, the computer would not detect the external Iomega HDD.

The problem worsened a few weeks after I installed a second hard
drive, a Western digital 120GB, the maximum recommended by Compaq.

The computer freezes, or reboots itself unexpectedly. Upon
restarting, it finds only the CD-ROM drives and "No IDE fixed disk
present", or detects everything. I also get: "Non system disk or disk
error" without diskette in the A: drive.

I have changed the power source to make sure the computer receives
adequate power.

I have disabled Windows Automatic Restart

Clue: often, before the computer crashes, I hear repeated "clunky"
noise. The closest I can relate it to is an old fashion hardware
relay.

As I unplugged the second hard drive, the computer is more stable.

The computer is still under warranty and, if Compaq ever follows
through, I should get a new motherboard. But I am not sure this will
fix my problem.

Any suggestions are welcome! Can someone recommend software to
diagnostic my problem?

Thanks!



  #7  
Old October 12th 04, 11:03 PM
Franou
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HH wrote:
Compaqs ship with Cable Select IDE cables and drives attached should be
jumpered CS. With such an arrangement the end connector is the master and
the niddle is slave. Make sure the drive(s) are jumpered CS.


I switched the jumper to Cable Select. So far so good... time will
tell if the wrong jumper setting was compounding the problem...
whatever the problem still is...

I did not buy the HD from Compaq. Why pay $260 + tax + shipping when
I can get it from a reputable company for $86!

Thanks Dale too for your suggestions.

VM
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have a A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard? Najum Hussain Asus Motherboards 33 February 9th 05 12:17 PM
K8N-E Deluxe - remove hardware icon for SATA disk? Martin Asus Motherboards 1 December 5th 04 11:09 PM
IDE RAID Ted Dawson Asus Motherboards 29 September 21st 04 03:39 AM
A7V600 On Boot-- Hardware Monitor Error Aardvark G. Bandersnatch, CPE, RCA, IBM, LSMFT Asus Motherboards 1 April 4th 04 06:12 AM
ATI Catalyst 3.8's causing hardware failures? Paul D. Sullivan Ati Videocards 4 October 15th 03 01:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.