A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Did I get what I paid for?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 7th 04, 08:10 AM
Sune Storgaard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sean Berry mumbled his insignificant opinion in:
[email protected]

Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone
could help.


In your case i would try post in an UNDERCLOCKING group

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer
store yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just
for kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to
properties it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM


My guess is that the above speed is achieved by 100(fsb)*15 (multiplier)

If you change fsb to 133, you will get: 133*15= 1995 = desired speed.


So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+


You cant rely on that, if you change the speed of it, it will also change
name of it.

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

No but you do need to set fsb straight , calm down

Any help here is greatly appreciated.


Try check again with wcpuid if im right about the 100 *15vs 133*15, its a
classic mistake. Often you need to move a jumper on the mother board. Check
with the manual whether it supports such cpu, and how to change fsb.


  #2  
Old April 7th 04, 08:13 AM
Eric Parker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.



Sean

It's running at the wrong FSB frequency (100 MHz).
That CPU has a default multiplier of *15 which gives you 1500 MHz (~1.49
GHz).
In your bios you may be able to switch the FSB to 133 MHz, which will
give you 2000 MHz for the internal frequency and an AMD figure of XP 2400+.
Its probably worth running prime95 for 24 hours if you are pushing your
components
to give you confidence about reliability.
I've actually got my XP 2400+ to run at 2100 MHz through the bios (others
have
managed to get them higher).

eric
--
Remove the dross to contact me directly


  #3  
Old April 7th 04, 09:26 AM
QBall
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, you shoulda loaded opt. defaults in bios, when you rebooted.
Were you running a 100FSB chip before ?
But WCPU-ID will only show what it reads from BIOS.
For instance, it shows my mobile Barton 2400+ (default speed - 1.8 GHz : 13
x 133) as a 2.58 GHz chip because it's running at 10.5 x 246 on my DFI
Infinity (air-cooled).
CPU Brain shows that if AMD made a chip which ran at a default of 2.58 GHz,
it would be an XP 4000+


"Eric Parker" wrote in message
...

"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer

store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to

properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.



Sean

It's running at the wrong FSB frequency (100 MHz).
That CPU has a default multiplier of *15 which gives you 1500 MHz (~1.49
GHz).
In your bios you may be able to switch the FSB to 133 MHz, which will
give you 2000 MHz for the internal frequency and an AMD figure of XP

2400+.
Its probably worth running prime95 for 24 hours if you are pushing your
components
to give you confidence about reliability.
I've actually got my XP 2400+ to run at 2100 MHz through the bios (others
have
managed to get them higher).

eric
--
Remove the dross to contact me directly




  #4  
Old April 7th 04, 12:56 PM
Peter van der Goes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.

All the previous answers offer good advice, *if* you have a motherboard that
supports 133MHz FSB (some older Socket A motherboards don't) and your memory
is capable of running at 133MHz (266 DDR).
So, post back with motherboard make/model/chipset if the board is older, and
confirm that you are running PC2100 memory, minimum. You'll also want to
check your motherboard manual to see if it has a jumper for setting FSB.


  #5  
Old April 7th 04, 06:58 PM
Sean Berry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have an MSI K7N2 Delta Board.

It was indeed the jumper which had two options for settings, 133 or 100.
When I changed the jumper, I lost my video.
I changed back and entered the BIOS and changed it manually in the BIOS to
133 then shutdown, changed the jumper, and all is good now.

Thanks very much to all of you who pointed out my seemingly obvious mistake.

I only took one course in school to do with ECE so I do not know hardware
all that well.
When I enter the BIOS I have the option to set the FSB to 100, 133, 166, or
200. Is setting it higher than 133 overclocking?

Thanks.


Peter van der Goes wrote in message
news:M%[email protected]

"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer

store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to

properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.

All the previous answers offer good advice, *if* you have a motherboard

that
supports 133MHz FSB (some older Socket A motherboards don't) and your

memory
is capable of running at 133MHz (266 DDR).
So, post back with motherboard make/model/chipset if the board is older,

and
confirm that you are running PC2100 memory, minimum. You'll also want to
check your motherboard manual to see if it has a jumper for setting FSB.




  #6  
Old April 7th 04, 06:59 PM
Geoff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sean Berry wrote:
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone
could help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer
store yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just
for kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to
properties it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.


set your FSB to 133, it's running at 100


  #7  
Old April 7th 04, 07:41 PM
Sean Berry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Did I get what I paid for?

Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.


  #8  
Old April 7th 04, 09:18 PM
iTsMeMa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Setting it past 133 is definitely overclocking.
Were you to simply set the bios to166 and not change the multi, I doubt it
would even boot. XP2400s typically don't do well above about 2300, excepting
with voltage modifications and extreme cooling. They come designed to run at
15 (multi) x 133fsb
This being a new experience for you, the world is your oyster. Just remember
in any and all overclocking attempts to err on the side of sanity and always
watch temps.

Regards,

Garry


"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
I have an MSI K7N2 Delta Board.

It was indeed the jumper which had two options for settings, 133 or 100.
When I changed the jumper, I lost my video.
I changed back and entered the BIOS and changed it manually in the BIOS to
133 then shutdown, changed the jumper, and all is good now.

Thanks very much to all of you who pointed out my seemingly obvious

mistake.

I only took one course in school to do with ECE so I do not know hardware
all that well.
When I enter the BIOS I have the option to set the FSB to 100, 133, 166,

or
200. Is setting it higher than 133 overclocking?

Thanks.


Peter van der Goes wrote in message
news:M%[email protected]

"Sean Berry" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Sorry if this question doesn't belong here, but I figured someone

could
help.

I bought an OEM AMD Athlon XP 2400+ processor from a local computer

store
yesterday.

I am going to primarily run FreeBSD on it, but tried it with XP just

for
kicks. When I right clicked the "My Computer" icon and went to

properties
it says under "Computer":

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM

So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+

What gives???
Did I get ripped off, and do I now need to set some people staight?

Any help here is greatly appreciated.

All the previous answers offer good advice, *if* you have a motherboard

that
supports 133MHz FSB (some older Socket A motherboards don't) and your

memory
is capable of running at 133MHz (266 DDR).
So, post back with motherboard make/model/chipset if the board is older,

and
confirm that you are running PC2100 memory, minimum. You'll also want to
check your motherboard manual to see if it has a jumper for setting FSB.






  #9  
Old April 14th 04, 12:04 AM
Piotr Makley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Sune Storgaard" wrote:

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.49 GHz
1.00 GB of RAM


My guess is that the above speed is achieved by 100(fsb)*15
(multiplier)

If you change fsb to 133, you will get: 133*15= 1995 = desired
speed.


So, I ran wcpuid and it came up with:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP (Model 8)
Name String: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+


You cant rely on that, if you change the speed of it, it will
also change name of it.



Can't he identify the chip from one of these?

picture = http://tinyurl.com/3fjlf
reported by OS = http://tinyurl.com/3fjlf
AMD model numbers document = http://snipurl.com/5oyw
extract from above = http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html

etc
etc
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I get what I paid for? Hugo Roubroeks Overclocking AMD Processors 4 April 8th 04 07:16 AM
Did I get what I paid for? Sean Berry AMD x86-64 Processors 5 April 7th 04 09:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.