A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Asus a7n8x Win98 PCI driver problems. TIA



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 16th 03, 06:24 AM
JuanMa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Asus a7n8x Win98 PCI driver problems. TIA

Greetings.

I currently have an Asus A7N8X MB with 524MB RAM and a GeForce
FX 5200 AGP card 128MB DDR and a AMD XP Athlon 1900+.

I have installed win98, Asus drivers and video drivers, but
whenever I start my computer windows pops the new hardware
found window for PCI Universal Serial Bus and PCI Raid
controller, but can't find the drivers in the win9x CD or in
Asus CD.

I also am having trouble setting the CPU speed in my BIOS, it
is currently setting it at 1600 instead of 1900+, any suggestions?

Thank you.

--
Take Care.

JuanMa


Please remove NOSPAM to reply.

  #2  
Old September 16th 03, 10:09 AM
Ben Pope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

JuanMa wrote:
Greetings.

I currently have an Asus A7N8X MB with 524MB RAM and a GeForce
FX 5200 AGP card 128MB DDR and a AMD XP Athlon 1900+.

I have installed win98, Asus drivers and video drivers, but
whenever I start my computer windows pops the new hardware
found window for PCI Universal Serial Bus and PCI Raid
controller, but can't find the drivers in the win9x CD or in
Asus CD.


From Asus:
ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/misc/...usb20_98me.zip
Which I believe are these (which might be newer):
http://www.orangemicro.com/bin/USB2/Setup.exe

SiI 3112A homepage:
http://www.siimage.com/products/sii3112.asp
Should be able to navigate to he
http://12.24.47.40/utility/getfile.asp?rid=1634

I also am having trouble setting the CPU speed in my BIOS, it
is currently setting it at 1600 instead of 1900+, any suggestions?



You can't set the CPU speed per se, you can set the FSB and multiplier...
what are they set to and why can't you simply change them?

They should be 133MHz and 12. Which is 1600MHz. This CPU has been
supported since the first BIOS and board Rev.

Ben
--
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...


  #3  
Old September 16th 03, 12:32 PM
rstlne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I also am having trouble setting the CPU speed in my BIOS, it
is currently setting it at 1600 instead of 1900+, any suggestions?


Yea, Leave it alone
the 1900+ runs @ 1600
PR Rated chips, gotta hate em in one way and love them in another. Intel
has bigger numbers for slower chips and can sell more.. so this is how amd
made competition..
the 1400 (non mobile) was the last non PR Athlon chip.. so a athlon 1400 is
running @ 1400, a athlon xp 1600 is running at 1400
ect ect


  #4  
Old September 17th 03, 08:10 AM
JuanMa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"rstlne" [email protected] wrote in message ...
I also am having trouble setting the CPU speed in my BIOS, it
is currently setting it at 1600 instead of 1900+, any suggestions?

snip

Thank you both for your help.

Another thing that I find strange is that, when I use a boot disk with
win98 in it, it gives me an error that the oakcdrom.sys driver in
config.sys is corrupt, yet if I try it on another computer it works
without problems. I doubt that the problem is with the floppy drive
since it was working with the previous mother board, and if I insert
another boot disk it gives me a corrupt file also, which is a
different file/driver: eg. one boot disk doesn't load the cd driver
for DOS and the other doesn't load himem.sys becauses of supposed file
corruption.

Any ideas?

Thank you.

Take care.

Juan
  #5  
Old September 17th 03, 08:49 AM
rstlne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"JuanMa" wrote in message
m...
"rstlne" [email protected] wrote in message

...
I also am having trouble setting the CPU speed in my BIOS, it
is currently setting it at 1600 instead of 1900+, any suggestions?

snip

Thank you both for your help.

Another thing that I find strange is that, when I use a boot disk with
win98 in it, it gives me an error that the oakcdrom.sys driver in
config.sys is corrupt, yet if I try it on another computer it works
without problems. I doubt that the problem is with the floppy drive
since it was working with the previous mother board, and if I insert
another boot disk it gives me a corrupt file also, which is a
different file/driver: eg. one boot disk doesn't load the cd driver
for DOS and the other doesn't load himem.sys becauses of supposed file
corruption.



Is the same CDRom in both systems?
I dont know that cdrom driver so it's not sony or creative labs (same
difference usually)..
If your booting from a floppy then you need all of the files that config sys
calls for to be on the floppy.
I dont remember what the win98 boot will show if something in the config sys
line isnt found so I might be way off target
also, try to clean the floppy drive .. It's possible that moving it
around to mess with the new pc resulted in something dirty moving around..
They do get dirty and stop working sometimes


  #6  
Old September 17th 03, 08:50 PM
JuanMa
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"rstlne" [email protected] wrote in message ...
Is the same CDRom in both systems?
I dont know that cdrom driver so it's not sony or creative labs (same
difference usually)..
If your booting from a floppy then you need all of the files that config sys
calls for to be on the floppy.
I dont remember what the win98 boot will show if something in the config sys
line isnt found so I might be way off target
also, try to clean the floppy drive .. It's possible that moving it
around to mess with the new pc resulted in something dirty moving around..
They do get dirty and stop working sometimes


Greetings.

Will do. Thank you.

The CD-ROM drives are different in both systems, but they were
recognized by the same floppy previous to the new mobo. The oakcdrom
driver is a generic driver for windows.

TIA

Juan
  #7  
Old September 17th 03, 09:03 PM
Ben Pope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

JuanMa wrote:
The CD-ROM drives are different in both systems, but they were
recognized by the same floppy previous to the new mobo. The oakcdrom
driver is a generic driver for windows.


Indeed. I've never found a cdrom drive in the last 6 years that isn't
picked up by the trusty old oakcdrom.sys

Ben
--
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus A7N8X Deluxe or Abit NF7-S Which? Choosing a MB. James Paraskeva Homebuilt PC's 0 November 25th 03 03:09 AM
Asus A7N8X or Asus A7N8X Deluxe? Derek Homebuilt PC's 1 November 1st 03 08:59 PM
Asus P4SD-LA Audio Problems Karl M. North General 1 October 10th 03 07:49 PM
ASUS A7N8X and Power supply selection Steve Wolfe Asus Motherboards 2 July 20th 03 11:33 PM
Asus v9280 and v44.03 Driver - problems! James Martin Asus Motherboards 0 July 20th 03 03:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.