A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Storage (alternative)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

idiot's question on hd failure



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 20th 04, 08:01 PM
Tony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default idiot's question on hd failure

Okay, but just to be sure. My 80 gig WD drive decided not to be
recognized by my Gateway. I pulled it and put it as a slave on my
other computer, whos slave works fine, and no luck.

DOA????
  #2  
Old October 21st 04, 10:45 AM
ted msn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Tony" wrote in message
om...
Okay, but just to be sure. My 80 gig WD drive decided not to be
recognized by my Gateway. I pulled it and put it as a slave on my
other computer, whos slave works fine, and no luck.

DOA????


Do you mean the Gatway BIOS does not "see" the drive or the OS?
Does the other computer BIOS see the drive?
Is the new drive set as master or slave or cable select
ted


  #3  
Old October 21st 04, 05:51 PM
Tony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"ted msn" wrote in message ...
"Tony" wrote in message
om...
Okay, but just to be sure. My 80 gig WD drive decided not to be
recognized by my Gateway. I pulled it and put it as a slave on my
other computer, whos slave works fine, and no luck.

DOA????


Do you mean the Gatway BIOS does not "see" the drive or the OS?
Does the other computer BIOS see the drive?
Is the new drive set as master or slave or cable select
ted


That is correct. That 1st screen that shows white on a black screen
shows the 2 cdroms but no hard drive.

It is set to master and has worked fine for the last 2 years. Just
happened a couple days ago.
  #4  
Old October 21st 04, 07:57 PM
ted msn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Tony" wrote in message
om...
"ted msn" wrote in message
...
"Tony" wrote in message
om...
Okay, but just to be sure. My 80 gig WD drive decided not to be
recognized by my Gateway. I pulled it and put it as a slave on my
other computer, whos slave works fine, and no luck.

DOA????


Do you mean the Gatway BIOS does not "see" the drive or the OS?
Does the other computer BIOS see the drive?
Is the new drive set as master or slave or cable select
ted


That is correct. That 1st screen that shows white on a black screen
shows the 2 cdroms but no hard drive.

It is set to master and has worked fine for the last 2 years. Just
happened a couple days ago.

Ah, got confused with the DOA which I think means "Dead On Arival"
So this was a working disk that now is not?
If so either the cable has gone AWAL or the disk has gone, or both. This
assumes that there has been no other changes.
If a new cable, which your test on the other PC does not look hopeful,
fails, then the next thing is as they say
..
..
..
..
..
you do have a backup?
ted


  #5  
Old October 22nd 04, 09:53 PM
Tony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"ted msn" wrote in message ...
"Tony" wrote in message
om...
"ted msn" wrote in message
...
"Tony" wrote in message
om...
Okay, but just to be sure. My 80 gig WD drive decided not to be
recognized by my Gateway. I pulled it and put it as a slave on my
other computer, whos slave works fine, and no luck.

DOA????

Do you mean the Gatway BIOS does not "see" the drive or the OS?
Does the other computer BIOS see the drive?
Is the new drive set as master or slave or cable select
ted


That is correct. That 1st screen that shows white on a black screen
shows the 2 cdroms but no hard drive.

It is set to master and has worked fine for the last 2 years. Just
happened a couple days ago.

Ah, got confused with the DOA which I think means "Dead On Arival"
So this was a working disk that now is not?
If so either the cable has gone AWAL or the disk has gone, or both. This
assumes that there has been no other changes.
If a new cable, which your test on the other PC does not look hopeful,
fails, then the next thing is as they say
.
.
.
.
.
you do have a backup?
ted



No back up. Can you recommend a cheap data recovery service?
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couple of Dimension XPS Gen4 question Matt Dell Computers 3 March 4th 05 03:20 AM
Motherboard failure, ram failure, or other? Stockmoose16 General 12 January 19th 05 06:21 AM
VIDEO CARD FAILURE Chopperdad Dell Computers 11 December 28th 04 01:33 AM
Getting rid of that stupid "Previous fan failure" beep Torkel Lindgren Dell Computers 1 November 26th 04 06:05 PM
very late follow on question Issues with preinstalled disk images? Always reinstall OS on brand new system? Winey Dell Computers 4 July 21st 04 04:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.