A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

9600SE vs 9500PRO



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 26th 04, 08:21 PM
jim fallon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 9600SE vs 9500PRO

Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB, from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!


  #2  
Old February 27th 04, 12:12 AM
DaveW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...

--
DaveW



"jim fallon" wrote in message
...
Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,

from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!




  #3  
Old February 27th 04, 12:57 AM
Kirby & Christine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

um .........yah it is.............

"DaveW" wrote in message
news:_Xv%[email protected]_s54...
Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...

--
DaveW



"jim fallon" wrote in message
...
Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get

a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score

was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,

from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score

was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!






  #4  
Old February 27th 04, 01:17 AM
Sept1967
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ah but the 9500Pro *IS* DX9...and it kicks the crap out of a 9600se
(Same GPU as the Radeon 9700, but 128bit memory access).

Try reading about something before you post BS about it...

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Mzk2


"DaveW" wrote in message
news:_Xv%[email protected]_s54...
Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...

--
DaveW



"jim fallon" wrote in message
...
Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get

a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score

was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,

from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score

was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!






  #5  
Old February 27th 04, 01:40 AM
Roland Scheidegger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Or, if you want to stay with a 9600, get a 9600XT. This one has almost
identical performance to the 9500pro (sometimes slightly faster,
sometimes slightly slower) and needs a lot less power. The 9500pro is a
fine card, but might be hard to get nowadays.
The 9600SE has only *1/3* the memory bandwidth (slow 64bit memory) of
the 9600pro/xt/9500pro (slow 64bit memory) which really hurts its
performance.
(if you need a decent but cheap, possibly passive-cooled DX9 card, the
9600 (without suffix) is also an option.)

Roland


Sept1967 wrote:
Ah but the 9500Pro *IS* DX9...and it kicks the crap out of a 9600se
(Same GPU as the Radeon 9700, but 128bit memory access).

Try reading about something before you post BS about it...

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Mzk2


"DaveW" wrote in message
news:_Xv%[email protected]_s54...

Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...

--
DaveW



"jim fallon" wrote in message
...

Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get


a

9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score


was

2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,


from

Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score


was

2855 an increase of 61%!!!!






  #6  
Old February 27th 04, 02:21 AM
J. Clarke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DaveW wrote:

Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...


Prove it.

--
--John
Reply to jclarke at ae tee tee global dot net
(was jclarke at eye bee em dot net)
  #7  
Old February 27th 04, 07:16 AM
ClockŽn Roll
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"jim fallon" skrev i en meddelelse
...
Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!


Your statement...

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!

I think youŽre doing sth wring here.

Had 3200 with an 9200 and a Celeron

(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ


PC3200 is 200mhz ( 2x ) isnŽt it ? 166mhz is PC2700, I think.

hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,

from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!


Crossposted. Hmm...
To get this somehow ASUS related IŽll give you some reading he

ASUS P4B266 ( FSB100 (4x) board ! ), P4 2,8/533 @2960, 512mb PC2700 @376mhz,
5900XT, 300W PSU at (3D) Vcore 1,458, 12V at 11,477V.
16479 3D2001marks - 6469 3D2003 marks...

Do you run the tests with v-synch activated ?

Greetz



  #8  
Old February 27th 04, 03:59 PM
BoB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

For a few bucks more the powercolor 9600 pro(400Mghz)
with 128meg(600mghz) looks awful good!

"Roland Scheidegger" wrote in message
...
Or, if you want to stay with a 9600, get a 9600XT. This one has almost
identical performance to the 9500pro (sometimes slightly faster,
sometimes slightly slower) and needs a lot less power. The 9500pro is a
fine card, but might be hard to get nowadays.
The 9600SE has only *1/3* the memory bandwidth (slow 64bit memory) of
the 9600pro/xt/9500pro (slow 64bit memory) which really hurts its
performance.
(if you need a decent but cheap, possibly passive-cooled DX9 card, the
9600 (without suffix) is also an option.)

Roland


Sept1967 wrote:
Ah but the 9500Pro *IS* DX9...and it kicks the crap out of a 9600se
(Same GPU as the Radeon 9700, but 128bit memory access).

Try reading about something before you post BS about it...

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Mzk2


"DaveW" wrote in message
news:_Xv%[email protected]_s54...

Ah, but the 9500 is Not DX9 capable...

--
DaveW



"jim fallon" wrote in message
...

Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap,

get

a

9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score


was

2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670

to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB,

from

Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score


was

2855 an increase of 61%!!!!








  #9  
Old February 27th 04, 04:31 PM
Dark Avenger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"jim fallon" wrote in message ...
Just a note to tell anyone NOT to buy a Radeon 9600SE they are crap, get a
9500PRO if you can find one!!!

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!
(see below for my system details)
By the way does anyone know how to check whether a card is a 9500 or a
9500PRO? Windows, 3Dmark reckons its a 9500 not a 9500PRO?
Thanks

Jim

My previous post regarding performance:

Graphics card: powercolor Radeon 9600SE, 128MB DDR
Motherboard: asus a7N8x deluxe
cpu: athlon xp 2000+
memory: single channel 512MB PC3200 at 166MHZ
hard disks: 60mb + 80MB both 7200rpm
Windoze XP Pro SP1

This is a new board, I replaced an Asus A7133 with 256MB PC133 memory.

However with the new setup my 3DMark03 score only increased from 1670 to
1707 an increase of 2%.
Have I set it up incorrectly?
I'm considering replacing the 9600SE with an ATI Radeon 9500PRO 128MB, from
Tom's benmarking this has far higher scores.

Any ideas?

I have just replaced the 9600SE with a 9500PRO my first 3Dmark03 score was
2855 an increase of 61%!!!!


The ati radeon 9500 Pro ( wich I boost in my system by the way ) has 8
pipelines versus 4 on the 9600SE, and also has a 128bits memory acces
while the 9600SE only has 64-bits.

Yes, the biggest problem the 9600SE has is the.. 64-bits memory bus.

The 9500 Pro, though hard to get indeed is very par with the 9600 XT
wich is clocked WAY higher.

So, though its official a "dead mans" card it still, yes..still kicks
the ass out of many other cards in games. The card is as ATI said..to
good for it's value! It was sold pretty cheap and those who have the
card don't need to upgrade not even now yet, yes we as 9500 Pro owners
might need to ... use a bit lower settings, but games still run very
fine, that after 2 years of the existance of the GPU.

I hold on this one untill probably the big upgrade when I replace
EVERYTHING, or actually just kick this pc into File Server usage...
and get a new shining pc with 64-bit processor, 2Gb of pure memory,
hard disk space enough for all the games I like. Ah yes... that over a
year or 2/1,5 :-)
  #10  
Old February 27th 04, 04:57 PM
Rob Stow
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I know someone who replaced a 9200 Pro with a 9600 SE
without doing his research first. He took a big hit
on every benchmark he tried.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI Radeon 9600SE or 8500? [email protected] Homebuilt PC's 2 April 12th 04 11:31 PM
ATI Radeon 9600SE or 8500? [email protected] General 2 April 10th 04 10:04 PM
P4P800Deluxe and radeon 9600SE Rob W. Asus Motherboards 1 February 23rd 04 05:51 PM
mem timings hlp with 9600se raj Overclocking AMD Processors 0 December 30th 03 12:00 AM
building a new computer Stacey Homebuilt PC's 11 August 8th 03 01:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.