A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Storage (alternative)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 4th 06, 04:44 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

hi

i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive, all files are
bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get curser
flashing at me, no error message.

i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new harddrive & that
works but i of course i cant take all my files/setting/programs with me that
way.

any suggestions please.

many thanks

robin...



  #2  
Old March 4th 06, 05:27 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

"robin" wrote:
i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm laptop.
i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.
i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive, all files are
bing copied from what i can tell.
however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get curser
flashing at me, no error message.


try Radified Ghost forum:

http://radified.com/cgi-bin/YaBB/YaBB.cgi?board=general
  #3  
Old March 4th 06, 06:37 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

robin wrote:

i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm laptop.


i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.


i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive,


You dont need to use maxblast at all.

all files are bing copied from what i can tell.


however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get curser
flashing at me, no error message.


i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new harddrive &
that works but i of course i cant take all my files/setting/programs with
me that way.


any suggestions please.


What was the physical config you used to copy to the new drive ?

Did you create an image file or did you just
clone the 60G drive to the 100G drive ?

What OS is on the drive ?

If you cloned the drive, its crucial to only boot the 100G drive
with just the 100G drive in the system for the first boot after
the clone has been done if its got XP on it. Otherwise XP
gets royally confused and you will get the result you got.


  #4  
Old March 5th 06, 12:23 AM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

yes i have removed old drive

yes its active


"Michael Cecil" wrote in message
...
On Sat, 4 Mar 2006 16:44:36 +0000 (UTC), "robin" wrote:

hi

i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive, all files
are
bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get curser
flashing at me, no error message.

i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new harddrive &
that
works but i of course i cant take all my files/setting/programs with me
that
way.

any suggestions please.

many thanks

robin...


You've removed the old drive (temporarily at least) before booting, and
you've set the new drive to be active?
--
Michael Cecil
http://home.comcast.net/~macecil/
http://home.comcast.net/~safehex/



  #5  
Old March 5th 06, 12:25 AM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

hi

i cloned the 60g to the 100g
yes its windows xp sp2
yes i removed old drive before rebooting so only the new drive is in the
laptop

thanks

robin..


"Rod Speed" wrote in message
...
robin wrote:

i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm laptop.


i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.


i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive,


You dont need to use maxblast at all.

all files are bing copied from what i can tell.


however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get curser
flashing at me, no error message.


i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new harddrive &
that works but i of course i cant take all my files/setting/programs with
me that way.


any suggestions please.


What was the physical config you used to copy to the new drive ?

Did you create an image file or did you just
clone the 60G drive to the 100G drive ?

What OS is on the drive ?

If you cloned the drive, its crucial to only boot the 100G drive
with just the 100G drive in the system for the first boot after
the clone has been done if its got XP on it. Otherwise XP
gets royally confused and you will get the result you got.



  #6  
Old March 5th 06, 02:31 AM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

robin wrote

i cloned the 60g to the 100g
yes its windows xp sp2
yes i removed old drive before rebooting so only the new drive is in the
laptop


You should have cloned the entire physical drive, not just the partition.

Try it again, it does work fine as long as the first boot of the
100G drive is with that as the only drive visible to the system.


Rod Speed wrote
robin wrote


i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm
laptop.


i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.


i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive,


You dont need to use maxblast at all.

all files are bing copied from what i can tell.


however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get
curser flashing at me, no error message.


i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new
harddrive & that works but i of course i cant take all my
files/setting/programs with me that way.


any suggestions please.


What was the physical config you used to copy to the new drive ?

Did you create an image file or did you just
clone the 60G drive to the 100G drive ?

What OS is on the drive ?

If you cloned the drive, its crucial to only boot the 100G drive
with just the 100G drive in the system for the first boot after
the clone has been done if its got XP on it. Otherwise XP
gets royally confused and you will get the result you got.



  #7  
Old March 5th 06, 07:13 AM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

"robin" wrote:
i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size
in my ibm laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone
disk drive, all files are bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up,
just get curser flashing at me, no error message.



You may have neglected to tell Ghost to copy the
Master Boot Record (MBR) over to the new HD.
Ghost will ask you if you want to make the new
partition "active" and whether you want the MBR
copied, too.

*TimDaniels*
  #8  
Old March 5th 06, 02:08 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size


"robin" wrote:
i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size
in my ibm laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone
disk drive, all files are bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up,
just get curser flashing at me, no error message.



"Timothy Daniels" wrote in message
...
You may have neglected to tell Ghost to copy the
Master Boot Record (MBR) over to the new HD.
Ghost will ask you if you want to make the new
partition "active" and whether you want the MBR
copied, too.


*TimDaniels*


Tim:
Note he said he used the Ghost 2003 version so ordinarily he/she shouldn't
be getting any message re the need to copy over the MBR nor creating an
active partition.

robin:
Using your Ghost 2003 program, give it another shot. Here are some
step-by-step instructions for using the Ghost 2003 program to clone the
contents of one HD to another HD. I recently prepared these for a local
computer club. Hopefully, they'll be of some use to you...

Before I provide you (and others who may be interested) with the detailed
instructions involved, let me make the following points.
1. It (nearly) goes without saying, that in order for the cloning process to
be successful, both the source disk (the drive you're cloning from) and the
destination disk (the drive you're cloning to) must be non-defective and
properly connected/configured in your system.
2. The OS that you're cloning must be free from system files corruption.
("If you clone garbage, garbage is what you'll get").
3. It is *vital* that you work with the latest version of the Ghost 2003
program. That's the Ghost 2003.793 build. Should you have an earlier
version, you can use Symantec's LiveUpdate feature available in the Ghost
program to download & automatically install that latest update.
4. We prefer to work with the Ghost 2003 program rather than its successor
Ghost 9 & Ghost 10 programs. For our purposes, we find the 2003 version more
straightforward in design, simpler to use, faster in carrying out its
function than the newer versions. And, I might add, just as effective for
the purposes indicated. I want to emphasize that we use the program solely
for the *direct* cloning of the contents of one HD to another HD.
5. In using the Ghost 2003 program, our preference is to work with the Ghost
2003 bootable floppy disk (or on occasion the Ghost 2003 bootable CD). We
find that media simpler to use in comparison with the Windows GUI and we
enjoy the portability aspects of using that media. But, of course, a user is
free to work in the Windows GUI should he or she prefer that environment.

So, here are step-by-step instructions for using the Ghost 2003 program
(using a Ghost 2003 bootable floppy disk or bootable CD) to directly clone
the contents of one HD to another HD...

Creating the bootable Ghost floppy disk:
1. Install the Ghost 2003 program on your computer. Make sure you're using
the latest "build" - Ghost 2003.793. If not, use Ghost's LiveUpdate feature
to automatically download the latest version. It's important that you be
using this latest "build".
2. Insert a blank floppy disk (it need not be formatted) and access your
Ghost program.
3. Click on Ghost Utilities.
4. Click on Norton Ghost Boot Wizard.
5. Select Standard Ghost Boot Disk. A dialog box will appear.
a. Select the USB 2.0 Support option (assuming you have that
capability).
b. Select the Assign DOS drive letters option and click Next.
6. Select the Use PC-DOS option.
7. Complete the process following the screen prompts.
8. Remove floppy and label accordingly.

That's it. Now you have a Ghost bootable floppy disk which you can use to
undertake your cloning operations now and in the future. So now when you
want to clone the contents of one HD to another HD you simply insert the
Ghost bootable floppy disk in your floppy drive and boot up with both drives
connected.

BTW, after creating the Ghost bootable floppy disk, you can create a Ghost
bootable CD from it using the Roxio or Nero CD burning programs, or most
other CD burning programs that allow you to create a bootable CD.
Unfortunately I know of no way to *directly* create this bootable CD from
the Ghost program (as you can do, for example, with the Acronis True Image
program).

Here's how to perform the cloning operation...
1. With both drives connected, boot up with the Ghost bootable floppy (or
Ghost bootable CD). You'll get an initial screen that displays "License
agreement warning". Right-arrow (or tab) over to the "Continue without
marking drives" button and press Enter.
2. The "About Norton Ghost" screen appears. Click OK.
3. Right-arrow twice over to the "To Disk" button and press Enter.
4. The next screen will list both your drives - the Drive 1 (source disk)
and Drive 2 (destination disk). MAKE ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN Drive 1 IS INDEED
YOUR SOURCE DISK, I.E., THE DISK YOU'RE CLONING *FROM*!
Drive 1 will be highlighted. Press Enter.
5. The next screen will have Drive 2 (destination disk) highlighted. AGAIN,
ENSURE THAT Drive 2 IS YOUR DESTINATION DISK, I.E., THE DISK YOU'RE CLONING
*TO*! Press Enter.
6. The next screen is the "Destination Drive Details" window, and reflects
your ultimate destination disk, i.e., your current Drive 2. Press your Tab
key to highlight the OK button and press Enter.
7. The "Proceed with disk clone?" dialog box will open. Left-arrow over to
the Yes button and press Enter.
8. The cloning process will begin. The data transfer speed will vary
depending upon the speed of your processor and the HDs involved. On a medium
to high-powered system you should get transfer speeds ranging from 800
MB/min to 1.5 GB/min should you be cloning internal drives. It will be
considerably slower if you're cloning to a USB external HD.
9. After you get the "Clone Completed Successfully" message, left-arrow over
to the Continue button and press Enter.
10. Down-arrow to Quit and press Enter.
11. Click Yes at the "Are you sure you want to quit?" message.
12. Remove the Ghost floppy and shut down the computer.
13. Disconnect your source disk and boot up with the cloned drive. In most
cases (but not always), a Windows "Found New Hardware" message will appear
in the Desktop's Notification Area followed by a "System Settings Change"
message window informing you that new hardware has been found and asks "Do
you want to restart your computer now?" Click Yes.
14. BTW, the reboot of the newly-cloned drive usually takes a longer time
than usual, so one must be patient. On rare occasions the system will fail
to reboot - the system will hang before reaching the Windows XP Welcome
screen. It's a rare occurrence, but you may experience it from time-to-time.
If that does occur, simply use the Ctrl-Alt-Delete keys to reboot.

Assuming you've cloned the contents of your working drive to your second
internal drive, that second drive will be bootable (after disconnecting your
primary one, of course) as indicated above. You also have the option of
cloning your working drive to a USB external hard drive. In that case the
USB EHD is *not* bootable, but you could clone the contents back to your
internal drive for restoration purposes should the need arise.

Just one other point I wish to emphasize with respect to the cloning
operation involving internal drives. Immediately following the cloning
operation and the shutdown of your machine, disconnect your source drive and
boot ONLY to the newly-cloned drive (as indicated in step 13. above). DO NOT
BOOT IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE CLONING OPERATION WITH BOTH DRIVES CONNECTED.
Doing so is likely (although not always) to cause future boot problems with
the cloned drive. Obviously there is no problem in this area should a USBEHD
be involved in the cloning process since that device is not bootable in an
XP environment.
Anna


  #9  
Old March 5th 06, 06:05 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

Anna wrote:
"robin" wrote:
i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size
in my ibm laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone
disk drive, all files are bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up,
just get curser flashing at me, no error message.



"Timothy Daniels" wrote in message
...
You may have neglected to tell Ghost to copy the
Master Boot Record (MBR) over to the new HD.
Ghost will ask you if you want to make the new
partition "active" and whether you want the MBR
copied, too.


*TimDaniels*


Tim:
Note he said he used the Ghost 2003 version so ordinarily he/she
shouldn't be getting any message re the need to copy over the MBR nor
creating an active partition.

robin:
Using your Ghost 2003 program, give it another shot. Here are some
step-by-step instructions for using the Ghost 2003 program to clone
the contents of one HD to another HD. I recently prepared these for a
local computer club. Hopefully, they'll be of some use to you...

Before I provide you (and others who may be interested) with the
detailed instructions involved, let me make the following points.
1. It (nearly) goes without saying, that in order for the cloning
process to be successful, both the source disk (the drive you're
cloning from) and the destination disk (the drive you're cloning to)
must be non-defective and properly connected/configured in your
system. 2. The OS that you're cloning must be free from system files
corruption. ("If you clone garbage, garbage is what you'll get").
3. It is *vital* that you work with the latest version of the Ghost
2003 program. That's the Ghost 2003.793 build. Should you have an
earlier version, you can use Symantec's LiveUpdate feature available
in the Ghost program to download & automatically install that latest
update. 4. We prefer to work with the Ghost 2003 program rather than its
successor Ghost 9 & Ghost 10 programs. For our purposes, we find the
2003 version more straightforward in design, simpler to use, faster
in carrying out its function than the newer versions. And, I might
add, just as effective for the purposes indicated. I want to
emphasize that we use the program solely for the *direct* cloning of
the contents of one HD to another HD. 5. In using the Ghost 2003 program,
our preference is to work with
the Ghost 2003 bootable floppy disk (or on occasion the Ghost 2003
bootable CD). We find that media simpler to use in comparison with
the Windows GUI and we enjoy the portability aspects of using that
media. But, of course, a user is free to work in the Windows GUI
should he or she prefer that environment.


So, here are step-by-step instructions for using the Ghost 2003
program (using a Ghost 2003 bootable floppy disk or bootable CD) to
directly clone the contents of one HD to another HD...


Creating the bootable Ghost floppy disk:
1. Install the Ghost 2003 program on your computer. Make sure you're
using the latest "build" - Ghost 2003.793. If not, use Ghost's
LiveUpdate feature to automatically download the latest version. It's
important that you be using this latest "build".
2. Insert a blank floppy disk (it need not be formatted) and access
your Ghost program.
3. Click on Ghost Utilities.
4. Click on Norton Ghost Boot Wizard.
5. Select Standard Ghost Boot Disk. A dialog box will appear.
a. Select the USB 2.0 Support option (assuming you have that
capability).
b. Select the Assign DOS drive letters option and click Next.
6. Select the Use PC-DOS option.
7. Complete the process following the screen prompts.
8. Remove floppy and label accordingly.


That's it. Now you have a Ghost bootable floppy disk which you can
use to undertake your cloning operations now and in the future. So
now when you want to clone the contents of one HD to another HD you
simply insert the Ghost bootable floppy disk in your floppy drive and
boot up with both drives connected.


BTW, after creating the Ghost bootable floppy disk, you can create a
Ghost bootable CD from it using the Roxio or Nero CD burning
programs, or most other CD burning programs that allow you to create
a bootable CD. Unfortunately I know of no way to *directly* create
this bootable CD from the Ghost program (as you can do, for example,
with the Acronis True Image program).


You can actually, tho its rather non obvious. Just create an image
to CD and dont bother to use the image on the CD. The CD will
be a bootable Ghost 2003. You dont even need to write anything
more than the first CD, no need to write the rest if you just want
a bootable Ghost 2003 CD.

The Ghost 2003 distribution CD is also bootable, but
that doesnt help much if you want to use the latest build.

Here's how to perform the cloning operation...
1. With both drives connected, boot up with the Ghost bootable floppy
(or Ghost bootable CD). You'll get an initial screen that displays
"License agreement warning". Right-arrow (or tab) over to the
"Continue without marking drives" button and press Enter.
2. The "About Norton Ghost" screen appears. Click OK.
3. Right-arrow twice over to the "To Disk" button and press Enter.
4. The next screen will list both your drives - the Drive 1 (source
disk) and Drive 2 (destination disk). MAKE ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN Drive 1
IS INDEED YOUR SOURCE DISK, I.E., THE DISK YOU'RE CLONING *FROM*!
Drive 1 will be highlighted. Press Enter.
5. The next screen will have Drive 2 (destination disk) highlighted.
AGAIN, ENSURE THAT Drive 2 IS YOUR DESTINATION DISK, I.E., THE DISK
YOU'RE CLONING *TO*! Press Enter.
6. The next screen is the "Destination Drive Details" window, and
reflects your ultimate destination disk, i.e., your current Drive 2.
Press your Tab key to highlight the OK button and press Enter.
7. The "Proceed with disk clone?" dialog box will open. Left-arrow
over to the Yes button and press Enter.
8. The cloning process will begin. The data transfer speed will vary
depending upon the speed of your processor and the HDs involved. On a
medium to high-powered system you should get transfer speeds ranging
from 800 MB/min to 1.5 GB/min should you be cloning internal drives.
It will be considerably slower if you're cloning to a USB external HD.
9. After you get the "Clone Completed Successfully" message,
left-arrow over to the Continue button and press Enter.
10. Down-arrow to Quit and press Enter.
11. Click Yes at the "Are you sure you want to quit?" message.
12. Remove the Ghost floppy and shut down the computer.
13. Disconnect your source disk and boot up with the cloned drive. In
most cases (but not always), a Windows "Found New Hardware" message
will appear in the Desktop's Notification Area followed by a "System
Settings Change" message window informing you that new hardware has
been found and asks "Do you want to restart your computer now?" Click
Yes. 14. BTW, the reboot of the newly-cloned drive usually takes a longer
time than usual, so one must be patient. On rare occasions the system
will fail to reboot - the system will hang before reaching the
Windows XP Welcome screen. It's a rare occurrence, but you may
experience it from time-to-time. If that does occur, simply use the
Ctrl-Alt-Delete keys to reboot.


Assuming you've cloned the contents of your working drive to your
second internal drive, that second drive will be bootable (after
disconnecting your primary one, of course) as indicated above. You
also have the option of cloning your working drive to a USB external
hard drive. In that case the USB EHD is *not* bootable, but you could
clone the contents back to your internal drive for restoration
purposes should the need arise.


Just one other point I wish to emphasize with respect to the cloning
operation involving internal drives. Immediately following the cloning
operation and the shutdown of your machine, disconnect your source
drive and boot ONLY to the newly-cloned drive (as indicated in step
13. above). DO NOT BOOT IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE CLONING OPERATION
WITH BOTH DRIVES CONNECTED. Doing so is likely (although not always)
to cause future boot problems with the cloned drive. Obviously there
is no problem in this area should a USBEHD be involved in the cloning
process since that device is not bootable in an XP environment.



  #10  
Old March 5th 06, 06:38 PM posted to comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware.storage
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default help on cloning Hard drive to upgrade drive size

hi Rod

yes i have cloned the entire dirve, with maxblast & ghost 2003

what program are you suggesting i use for this ?

thanks

Robin..


"Rod Speed" wrote in message
...
robin wrote

i cloned the 60g to the 100g
yes its windows xp sp2
yes i removed old drive before rebooting so only the new drive is in the
laptop


You should have cloned the entire physical drive, not just the partition.

Try it again, it does work fine as long as the first boot of the
100G drive is with that as the only drive visible to the system.


Rod Speed wrote
robin wrote


i am having problems with upgrading disk drive size in my ibm
laptop.

i have 60 gig & a new 100 gig unit i want to fit.

i have used maxblast & norton ghost 2003 to clone disk drive,

You dont need to use maxblast at all.

all files are bing copied from what i can tell.

however when i put new drive in bay it will not boot up, just get
curser flashing at me, no error message.

i have done a quick test in doing a restore of os onto new
harddrive & that works but i of course i cant take all my
files/setting/programs with me that way.

any suggestions please.

What was the physical config you used to copy to the new drive ?

Did you create an image file or did you just
clone the 60G drive to the 100G drive ?

What OS is on the drive ?

If you cloned the drive, its crucial to only boot the 100G drive
with just the 100G drive in the system for the first boot after
the clone has been done if its got XP on it. Otherwise XP
gets royally confused and you will get the result you got.





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghost 10 sucks for drive cloning.... S.Lewis Dell Computers 91 March 13th 06 06:59 PM
Newbie: OC Advice: AMDXP2200 CPU Donald Bock Overclocking AMD Processors 2 March 12th 05 12:14 AM
Primary Hard Disk Drive 1 Not Found brandon General Hardware 5 July 18th 04 11:39 PM
Upgrade Report [Hardware Tips: Get the Right Hard Drive - 05/11/2004] Ablang General 0 May 16th 04 03:17 AM
How can I diagnose what is interfering with partition/FAT info? John S. Storage (alternative) 3 January 12th 04 09:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.