A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How to make it faster?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 7th 05, 08:51 PM
pete
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to make it faster?

Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be improved.


  #2  
Old July 7th 05, 09:18 PM
SteveH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"pete" wrote in message
...
Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be improved.


You are joking?

If you haven't got it yet, how can you know you want/need it to go faster?

SteveH


  #3  
Old July 7th 05, 09:25 PM
Haley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"SteveH" wrote:
"pete" wrote:
Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be improved.


You are joking?

If you haven't got it yet, how can you know you want/need it to go faster?

SteveH


.... and actually, *why* would you ever want it to go faster? That's got to be the
highest-quality configuration I've seen in a while...

Haley


  #4  
Old July 7th 05, 09:56 PM
pete
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok, for example, would I get any additional benefit by getting another
fx3400 card and running in SLI or get a fx7800?


The Asus motherboard can take a athlon 64 fx57, would this be better than
the one I have brought?



"Haley" wrote in message
...
"SteveH" wrote:
"pete" wrote:
Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be
improved.


You are joking?

If you haven't got it yet, how can you know you want/need it to go
faster?

SteveH


... and actually, *why* would you ever want it to go faster? That's got to
be the
highest-quality configuration I've seen in a while...

Haley




  #5  
Old July 8th 05, 12:17 AM
Veritech
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Pete, maybe your ill.

That system is practically the hotest thing you could possibly buy.

You would have one of the most powerful Desktops availible in the
world(stock speeds wise & raw CPU power), why on earth do you seem dis
content. Your systems got two CPUs for crying out loud! i struggling to keep
my one cool, never mind having two.
My only question is are you sure about the "fx3400" cause i've never heard
of desktop GFx card called that. Check again.
"pete" wrote in message
...
ok, for example, would I get any additional benefit by getting another
fx3400 card and running in SLI or get a fx7800?


The Asus motherboard can take a athlon 64 fx57, would this be better than
the one I have brought?



"Haley" wrote in message
...
"SteveH" wrote:
"pete" wrote:
Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be
improved.

You are joking?

If you haven't got it yet, how can you know you want/need it to go
faster?

SteveH


... and actually, *why* would you ever want it to go faster? That's got
to be the
highest-quality configuration I've seen in a while...

Haley






  #6  
Old July 8th 05, 12:21 AM
DaveW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, if speed is the order of the day, I would suggest adding a Western
Digital "Raptor" 10,000rpm SATA 36 GB harddrive to use exclusively as the C:
boot drive for Windows. Then the OS would be operating lightening fast, and
your applications on the 250 GB would not be slowed down when the computer
accesses the OS on the Raptor drive. I set up a similar computer for a
friend this way and it made a big difference.

--
DaveW



"pete" wrote in message
...
Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be improved.



  #7  
Old July 8th 05, 12:52 AM
Cuzman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Veritech wrote:

" My only question is are you sure about the *fx3400" cause i've never
heard of desktop GFx card called that. Check again. "


The Quadro FX3400 is a workstation card.
http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadrofx.html

With posts like this, you aren't sure whether the OP is trolling or not.
Sure, games that use a single processor will be faster with an FX57,
but only until they bring out more games that utilise dual-core, or
release patches for existing ones. This argument though is futile, as,
if your main aim is gaming, you wouldn't buy a Quadro 3400.

IMO the OP is a bit of a cheapskate for not getting an A8N-SLI Premium,
more hard drives, and some fluffy dice to hang on his monitor.
  #8  
Old July 8th 05, 01:37 AM
SteveH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Cuzman" wrote in message
...
Veritech wrote:

" My only question is are you sure about the *fx3400" cause i've never
heard of desktop GFx card called that. Check again. "


The Quadro FX3400 is a workstation card.
http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadrofx.html

With posts like this, you aren't sure whether the OP is trolling or not.
Sure, games that use a single processor will be faster with an FX57, but
only until they bring out more games that utilise dual-core, or release
patches for existing ones. This argument though is futile, as, if your
main aim is gaming, you wouldn't buy a Quadro 3400.

IMO the OP is a bit of a cheapskate for not getting an A8N-SLI Premium,
more hard drives, and some fluffy dice to hang on his monitor.


I think its just talk..

SteveH


  #9  
Old July 8th 05, 01:42 AM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 7 Jul 2005 20:51:30 +0100, "pete"
wrote:

Hello

I have just brought a system consisting of:-
Amd athlon 64 r 4800 Dual core
Asus A8N SLI motherboard
4Gb ddr400 ram
250Gb Seagate baracuda sata
Nvidia Fx3400 PciE graphics card
Liteon dual layer dvdrom
Antec 550w psu
Antec performance II case

Can this be made to go faster?

I will get this next week, but I would like to know if it can be improved.


Amphetamines- The bottleneck is the user.
  #10  
Old July 8th 05, 07:10 AM
pete
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey guys!
not just talk or a troll thank you.

I use Cad software for a living, (see I did not mention the name, so not
trolling), and if you wish to get an email showing the invoice, I will
gladly send it to you, (so just not talk).

As I was saying, I use cad software, but I also play games on line (Burn
baby! should give a clue without mentioning the name, still not trolling).

I am not some kid boasting , I am 44, !
Yes it is a great system, that is why I brought it, but so are F1 cars, and
they are always trying to make them better and faster.

Every PC I have brought so far, has never been fast enough for the latest
cad or games software to run at full specs, just look at cad work-stations
going for 5000 +.
Mine comes nowhere near that pricing.

So the questions genuine.





"SteveH" wrote in message
. uk...
"Cuzman" wrote in message
...
Veritech wrote:

" My only question is are you sure about the *fx3400" cause i've never
heard of desktop GFx card called that. Check again. "


The Quadro FX3400 is a workstation card.
http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadrofx.html

With posts like this, you aren't sure whether the OP is trolling or not.
Sure, games that use a single processor will be faster with an FX57, but
only until they bring out more games that utilise dual-core, or release
patches for existing ones. This argument though is futile, as, if your
main aim is gaming, you wouldn't buy a Quadro 3400.

IMO the OP is a bit of a cheapskate for not getting an A8N-SLI Premium,
more hard drives, and some fluffy dice to hang on his monitor.


I think its just talk..

SteveH



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Be a Smart Worker - Projects Available - Data Entry Data Network Forum Storage & Hardrives 0 November 13th 04 06:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.