A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 12th 04, 11:01 PM
We Live for the One we Die for the One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?




Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?


A freinds upgrading and he wants to know this.

He just wants a pc that will last a bit longer are their any 940 mobos
out ? and when you plug or if you can plug a 754 cpu into it will it
be dual channel or do only 940 cpus do dual channel any other draw
backs benifits ?

Thanks.
  #3  
Old June 12th 04, 11:33 PM
We Live for the One we Die for the One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Sorry i mean the two diff 64 bit cpu types 939 940 well i think i
do



On Sat, 12 Jun 2004 17:23:25 -0500, "Peter van der Goes"
wrote:


"We Live for the One we Die for the One" Mr wrote in
message ...



Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?


A freinds upgrading and he wants to know this.

He just wants a pc that will last a bit longer are their any 940 mobos
out ? and when you plug or if you can plug a 754 cpu into it will it
be dual channel or do only 940 cpus do dual channel any other draw
backs benifits ?

Thanks.


This is a joke, right? What do you think the numbers 754 and 940 represent?
(Hint: # of pins).
Try using Google.


  #4  
Old June 12th 04, 11:36 PM
Will Dormann
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

We Live for the One we Die for the One wrote:


Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?


Absolutely. Just make sure your tool kit has a hammer, though, or you
might not get it to fit.


-WD
  #5  
Old June 13th 04, 12:21 AM
xman Charlie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Will Dormann" wrote in message
...
We Live for the One we Die for the One wrote:


Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?


Absolutely. Just make sure your tool kit has a hammer, though, or you
might not get it to fit.


-WD


Makes a good key fob for your key rings...

my 2 cents


  #8  
Old June 14th 04, 10:11 AM
johny
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2004...et_939-02.html

According to this article 939pin CPU will fit into the 940 socket, no it
won't boot, but it will fit, unfortunately for people like the one who
started this thread. Bytheway, NO, YOU CAN'T PLUG 754 PIN CPU INTO SOCKET
940 MOBO!

940pin cpu is for Socket 940
939pin cpu is for Socket 939
754pin cpu is for Socket 754
478pin cpu is for Socket 478
462pin cpu is for Socket A
etc. and don't try anything stupid











"Canus_Lupis" wrote in message
...

"rstlne" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"We Live for the One we Die for the One" Mr wrote in
message ...



Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ?


A freinds upgrading and he wants to know this.


Dear god

is it to the stage now where you have to lie to us..
JUST GO BUY YOUR NEW COMPUTER KIT AND STOP ASKING QUESTIONS.
You'll never actually be able to buy the top line kit after a month of
research. It's really impossible.. by the time you have EVERY answer

that
you want then it's time to ask more questions..
JUST GO BUY SOMETHING.


He would love to go out and buy a new computer but he is not allowed to
cross the street on his own.




  #9  
Old June 14th 04, 04:16 PM
Tim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Will Dormann" wrote in message

Absolutely. Just make sure your tool kit has a hammer, though, or you
might not get it to fit.


Nonsense Lay the CPU on the mobo then back over it with an SUV. And wear a
grounding strap for God's sake. I can't believe the misinformation around
here.



  #10  
Old June 14th 04, 06:01 PM
We Live for the One we Die for the One
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Yep that worked, thats how i got my old Socket 7 cpu into the Pentium
2 board still working to this day


On Mon, 14 Jun 2004 11:16:39 -0400, "Tim"
wrote:


"Will Dormann" wrote in message

Absolutely. Just make sure your tool kit has a hammer, though, or you
might not get it to fit.


Nonsense Lay the CPU on the mobo then back over it with an SUV. And wear a
grounding strap for God's sake. I can't believe the misinformation around
here.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question relating to 754 Socket and the 939 socket Midnight Moocher AMD x86-64 Processors 6 January 11th 05 08:49 PM
Socket 939 Choices? Peter van der Goes AMD x86-64 Processors 4 November 27th 04 06:21 AM
Athlon 64 queries Spiro AMD x86-64 Processors 11 September 19th 04 01:30 AM
Are Heat Sink fans for socket 754 AMD CPU's compatable with the socket 939 Motherboards? Keith S. Overclocking AMD Processors 0 July 4th 04 01:35 PM
Can you plug a socket 754 cpu into a socket 940 mobo ? We Live for the One we Die for the One General 4 June 14th 04 05:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.