A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

problem adding memory to compaq deskpro en



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 7th 05, 08:11 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default problem adding memory to compaq deskpro en

Hi - I have a problem getting windows 98 to see some additional memory
I have installed in my Compaq Deskpro EN - it had one 128MB stick, I
have just added a 256 MB stick. The Compaq configuration record show
Compaq memory = 384Mb and Windows memory = 128Mb. Windows system info
shows 128Mb. The CMOS setting also show 128Mb and there doesn't seem
to be any way to change it. Compaq memory diagnostics see 384Mb and the
memory tests pass.

I tried swapping the meory sticks around. The system won't boot with
the new 256 Kb stick in the first slot - the bios just beeps at me.

I also tried upgrading the bios from 686P2 v2.11 to 686P2 v3.14 - no
joy.

I suspect the fact that the diagnostics claim to see 384Mb is a
red-herring and there is something incompataible about the memory - it
is a "Standard 'V-Data' 256MB stick of SD RAM, PC133, DIMM, 168 "

I have a 1 GHz Celeron CPU which I think is non-standard - maybe that
has something to do with it?

Any ideas?

  #2  
Old February 7th 05, 11:20 PM
Michael Hawes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


wrote in message
oups.com...
Hi - I have a problem getting windows 98 to see some additional memory
I have installed in my Compaq Deskpro EN - it had one 128MB stick, I
have just added a 256 MB stick. The Compaq configuration record show
Compaq memory = 384Mb and Windows memory = 128Mb. Windows system info
shows 128Mb. The CMOS setting also show 128Mb and there doesn't seem
to be any way to change it. Compaq memory diagnostics see 384Mb and the
memory tests pass.

I tried swapping the meory sticks around. The system won't boot with
the new 256 Kb stick in the first slot - the bios just beeps at me.

I also tried upgrading the bios from 686P2 v2.11 to 686P2 v3.14 - no
joy.

I suspect the fact that the diagnostics claim to see 384Mb is a
red-herring and there is something incompataible about the memory - it
is a "Standard 'V-Data' 256MB stick of SD RAM, PC133, DIMM, 168 "

I have a 1 GHz Celeron CPU which I think is non-standard - maybe that
has something to do with it?

Any ideas?

Have you updated CMOS config? Did you exit with F10 key? Have you checked
with Crucial website that you have correct memory?
Mike.


  #3  
Old February 8th 05, 07:48 AM
patfada
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry but I - I was using the beta version of google groups and it si
showing my email instead of my alias, so to avodi the spam I've deleted
the top post. I will repost.

To answer your questions
- the CMOS config doesnt have an option to edit the meory settings so
I assume it supposed to auto-detect it

=- Criucial wasnt much help - I dran their activeX checker and it said
it didnt recognzie my system

  #4  
Old February 8th 05, 11:32 PM
Michael Hawes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"patfada" wrote in message
oups.com...
Sorry but I - I was using the beta version of google groups and it si
showing my email instead of my alias, so to avodi the spam I've deleted
the top post. I will repost.

To answer your questions
- the CMOS config doesnt have an option to edit the meory settings so
I assume it supposed to auto-detect it

=- Criucial wasnt much help - I dran their activeX checker and it said
it didnt recognzie my system

Have you checked Compaq/HP website? What CPU? Have you tried with only
the new memory, if fail to boot, memory faulty or incompatible.
Mike.


  #5  
Old February 11th 05, 03:22 AM
K Doty
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is the motherboard compatable withthe memory and will it handle that much
memory or brand, check in on that first.Some limit how much memory thay can
handle unfortunately
wrote in message
oups.com...
Hi - I have a problem getting windows 98 to see some additional memory
I have installed in my Compaq Deskpro EN - it had one 128MB stick, I
have just added a 256 MB stick. The Compaq configuration record show
Compaq memory = 384Mb and Windows memory = 128Mb. Windows system info
shows 128Mb. The CMOS setting also show 128Mb and there doesn't seem
to be any way to change it. Compaq memory diagnostics see 384Mb and the
memory tests pass.

I tried swapping the meory sticks around. The system won't boot with
the new 256 Kb stick in the first slot - the bios just beeps at me.

I also tried upgrading the bios from 686P2 v2.11 to 686P2 v3.14 - no
joy.

I suspect the fact that the diagnostics claim to see 384Mb is a
red-herring and there is something incompataible about the memory - it
is a "Standard 'V-Data' 256MB stick of SD RAM, PC133, DIMM, 168 "

I have a 1 GHz Celeron CPU which I think is non-standard - maybe that
has something to do with it?

Any ideas?



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram: more vs. speed? MustKillMoe-Wheee! Homebuilt PC's 36 November 9th 04 11:32 AM
fsb speed - why does it matter? James Hanley Overclocking 52 November 7th 04 01:04 PM
Do I have a memory problem? Prince of Orange Homebuilt PC's 3 October 20th 04 08:43 PM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
Memory Problem found using a POST code reader Li'l ol' me General 1 October 18th 03 03:49 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.