A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can EasyTune 4 unlock a Barton?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 24th 03, 03:10 AM
Peter Harrington
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can EasyTune 4 unlock a Barton?

I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100) or
3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would the 3000+
be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same speed as
2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at the 7N400L
MoBo.

TIA,

Pete


  #2  
Old December 24th 03, 05:53 AM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 24 Dec 2003 03:10:06 +0000, Peter Harrington wrote:

I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

No MB can unlock a cpu. It only provides bit settings for cpu's that are
multiplier unlocked. If the cpu is locked, the settings have no effect.

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100)
or 3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would
the 3000+ be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same
speed as 2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at
the 7N400L MoBo.

All Bartons will clock about same regardless of model number. that PC2700
ram might throw in a problem though unless the ram bus can be set lower
than FSB.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.html
  #3  
Old December 24th 03, 10:43 AM
Chip
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Wes Newell" wrote in message
news
On Wed, 24 Dec 2003 03:10:06 +0000, Peter Harrington wrote:

I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said

that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

No MB can unlock a cpu. It only provides bit settings for cpu's that are
multiplier unlocked. If the cpu is locked, the settings have no effect.

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100)
or 3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would
the 3000+ be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same
speed as 2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at
the 7N400L MoBo.

All Bartons will clock about same regardless of model number. that PC2700
ram might throw in a problem though unless the ram bus can be set lower
than FSB.


True. But the faster ones do it with less volts (typically) and therefore
running cooler and therefore potentially quieter. There aren't that many
2500's that will 11x200 at 1.65v. Most you have to bump up the volts a
little.

Chip.


  #4  
Old December 24th 03, 11:33 AM
James Paraskeva
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Peter Harrington wrote:
I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100) or
3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would the 3000+
be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same speed as
2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at the 7N400L
MoBo.

TIA,

Pete


better off oc'ing a 2500 @ 11*200 @ 1.65V
  #5  
Old December 24th 03, 03:30 PM
Chip
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"James Paraskeva" wrote in message
...
Peter Harrington wrote:
I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said

that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100)

or
3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would the

3000+
be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same speed as
2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at the

7N400L
MoBo.

TIA,

Pete


better off oc'ing a 2500 @ 11*200 @ 1.65V


Or even better oc at 15 x 250 @ 1.45v. Or 14 x 300 @ 1.3v Hell, go for
it: run 11 x 500 at only 1.0v! ;-)

Seriously, I agree he should go for a 2500. And he *may* manage to get it
to do 2200MHz. Probably he will. He *might* even get it to do 2200MHz at
1.65v, but I doubt it - almost all need just a little bit more voltage, like
1.7v maybe.

But the way you worded it, it sounded like 2200MHz at 1.65v is a "given".
It isn't.

Chip.

Chip.


  #6  
Old December 24th 03, 03:35 PM
dgk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 24 Dec 2003 11:33:38 GMT, James Paraskeva
wrote:

Peter Harrington wrote:
I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100) or
3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would the 3000+
be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same speed as
2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at the 7N400L
MoBo.

TIA,

Pete


better off oc'ing a 2500 @ 11*200 @ 1.65V


Mine won't do it at 1.65. It only became prime95 stable around 1.775
with MBM showing 1.86 vcore. A7N8X Rev2 DX. Diode runs 48-50C working
hard so I think it's fine. Zalman HSF so it's even fairly quiet. Can
hardly hear it over the 4 case fans, 2 PSU fans, and VGA fan.
  #7  
Old December 24th 03, 05:28 PM
Peter Harrington
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the advice. I will try the 2500+ and an Ultra all copper fan
ULT32017.

I will still have to short out the two pins to unlock this chip?

Pete

"dgk" wrote in message
...
On Wed, 24 Dec 2003 11:33:38 GMT, James Paraskeva
wrote:

Peter Harrington wrote:
I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said

that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification

with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+ ($100)

or
3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would the

3000+
be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the same speed as
2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking at the

7N400L
MoBo.

TIA,

Pete


better off oc'ing a 2500 @ 11*200 @ 1.65V


Mine won't do it at 1.65. It only became prime95 stable around 1.775
with MBM showing 1.86 vcore. A7N8X Rev2 DX. Diode runs 48-50C working
hard so I think it's fine. Zalman HSF so it's even fairly quiet. Can
hardly hear it over the 4 case fans, 2 PSU fans, and VGA fan.



  #8  
Old December 24th 03, 05:31 PM
Ben Pope
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Peter Harrington wrote:
Thanks for the advice. I will try the 2500+ and an Ultra all copper fan
ULT32017.

I will still have to short out the two pins to unlock this chip?


If you get a locked Barton 2500+ there is no known way to unlock it. You
can up the FSB to 200MHz though, which will give you 2.2GHz (since the
multiplier is locked at 11) or a 3200+ if it gets there.

What you are referring to is not unlocking, it is changing the 5th bit of
the multiplier, which allows you to traverse the 12.5/13x multiplier
"boundary".

Ben
--
A7N8X FAQ: www.ben.pope.name/a7n8x_faq.html
Questions by email will likely be ignored, please use the newsgroups.
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...


  #9  
Old December 24th 03, 06:19 PM
DaveL
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

AMD does speed bin those chips, you know.

Dave


"Chip" wrote in message
...
"Wes Newell" wrote in message
news
On Wed, 24 Dec 2003 03:10:06 +0000, Peter Harrington wrote:

I'm thinking of upgrading and overclocking. I read a review that said

that
Gigabyte MoBos can unlock Bartons without any hardware modification

with
Easy Tune 4. Is this true for all Bartons?

No MB can unlock a cpu. It only provides bit settings for cpu's that are
multiplier unlocked. If the cpu is locked, the settings have no effect.

My other question is would I be better off OC'ing a Barton 2600+

($100)
or 3000+ ($200). My main objective is number crunching speed. Would
the 3000+ be a waste of money or will it hit a faster speed or the

same
speed as 2600+? I'm planning on keeping the PC 2700 RAM and looking

at
the 7N400L MoBo.

All Bartons will clock about same regardless of model number. that

PC2700
ram might throw in a problem though unless the ram bus can be set lower
than FSB.


True. But the faster ones do it with less volts (typically) and therefore
running cooler and therefore potentially quieter. There aren't that many
2500's that will 11x200 at 1.65v. Most you have to bump up the volts a
little.

Chip.



  #10  
Old December 24th 03, 10:43 PM
Chip
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
AMD does speed bin those chips, you know.

Dave


Well exactly.

Chip.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the AMD Barton Discontiued? [email protected] General 11 January 2nd 05 11:12 PM
XP2500 Barton or XP2600 Barton? As mellow as a horse General 1 December 11th 03 09:25 PM
cool product to unlock Athlon & Barton Lurch Overclocking AMD Processors 5 October 25th 03 01:23 AM
To Barton or not to Barton; That is the question Harkin Banks Overclocking AMD Processors 5 August 8th 03 03:49 AM
barton 2500 unlock Roger Squires Overclocking AMD Processors 2 June 27th 03 06:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.