A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Expanding Drives on Fibre Channel Array



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 7th 05, 07:56 PM
Will
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Expanding Drives on Fibre Channel Array

The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com


  #2  
Old June 8th 05, 03:46 AM
NuTCrAcKeR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think you should read the PDF at this link:

http://h200001.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/s.../c00257511.pdf

it lays it out, nice and easy, what you need to bea bale to do to expand
drives under 2000/2003

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com




  #3  
Old June 8th 05, 03:58 AM
NuTCrAcKeR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I suspect your test was successful due to the fact that you extended a
pristine disk?

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com




  #4  
Old June 8th 05, 06:38 AM
Will
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I was not doing a capacity expansion by increasing the number of drives. I
was doing what they call a drive extension, where in the ACU you extend a
logical device's size onto free space in the array.

Inside of Windows Device Manager, after the extension finishes, I simply did
a Rescan on the drives, at which point the partition I wanted to grow showed
more free space at the end of its logical device. I did an "extend"
operation in Windows Disk Manager and all was okay.

I gather from the article you sent over that there are cases when an
extended logical device can have all of its Windows partitions marked as
"foreign". I didn't really understand precisely what those cases are. It
would have been nice if they had given specific examples.

For sure I am going to make and break mirrors of any partition before
attempting to extend its logical drive.

--
Will
Internet: westes AT earthbroadcast.com


"NuTCrAcKeR" wrote in message
...
I suspect your test was successful due to the fact that you extended a
pristine disk?

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com






  #5  
Old June 8th 05, 07:00 AM
NuTCrAcKeR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I see. I wrongly assumed that since you were referring to the RA4x00 array
software, that you were dealing with the ACU, or one of its variations. I
did not know that you were expanding from within the windows disk manager.

That changes the landscape considerably ...

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
I was not doing a capacity expansion by increasing the number of drives.
I
was doing what they call a drive extension, where in the ACU you extend a
logical device's size onto free space in the array.

Inside of Windows Device Manager, after the extension finishes, I simply
did
a Rescan on the drives, at which point the partition I wanted to grow
showed
more free space at the end of its logical device. I did an "extend"
operation in Windows Disk Manager and all was okay.

I gather from the article you sent over that there are cases when an
extended logical device can have all of its Windows partitions marked as
"foreign". I didn't really understand precisely what those cases are.
It
would have been nice if they had given specific examples.

For sure I am going to make and break mirrors of any partition before
attempting to extend its logical drive.

--
Will
Internet: westes AT earthbroadcast.com


"NuTCrAcKeR" wrote in message
...
I suspect your test was successful due to the fact that you extended a
pristine disk?

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com








  #6  
Old June 8th 05, 07:12 AM
Will
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm doing both:

1) I grow the logical drive using the ACU.

2) Once the ACU finishes drive extension, I then use that available space by
extending the partition in Windows 2000.

The article you reference seems to imply that sometimes when you do 1), all
of the partitions on the extended drive will be marked as foreign and in
effect corrupted. I didn't understand the exact circumstances very well.

--
Will
Internet: westes AT earthbroadcast.com


"NuTCrAcKeR" wrote in message
...
I see. I wrongly assumed that since you were referring to the RA4x00 array
software, that you were dealing with the ACU, or one of its variations. I
did not know that you were expanding from within the windows disk manager.

That changes the landscape considerably ...

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
I was not doing a capacity expansion by increasing the number of drives.
I
was doing what they call a drive extension, where in the ACU you extend

a
logical device's size onto free space in the array.

Inside of Windows Device Manager, after the extension finishes, I simply
did
a Rescan on the drives, at which point the partition I wanted to grow
showed
more free space at the end of its logical device. I did an "extend"
operation in Windows Disk Manager and all was okay.

I gather from the article you sent over that there are cases when an
extended logical device can have all of its Windows partitions marked as
"foreign". I didn't really understand precisely what those cases are.
It
would have been nice if they had given specific examples.

For sure I am going to make and break mirrors of any partition before
attempting to extend its logical drive.

--
Will
Internet: westes AT earthbroadcast.com


"NuTCrAcKeR" wrote in message
...
I suspect your test was successful due to the fact that you extended a
pristine disk?

- LC

"Will" wrote in message
...
The RA4000 and RA4100 fibre array software warns you that you
cannot expand drives when they run under Windows 2000. What is
the observed behavior for such cases? I tried to do it with a
small sample NTFS volume I created, and it worked without any
problems at all.

--
Will
Internet: westes at earthbroadcast.com










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS printers/parts trays, printheads -- oki fujitsu dl3700 dl3800 hp genicom epson ibm dec jetdirect laserjet lexmark qms okidata microline 320 ml320 393 tally printronix tektronix qms toshiba zebra otc ibm intermec 7755 boul st laurent montreal ca cisco Printers 2 May 22nd 05 02:05 AM
FS PRINTER PARTS trays fusers drums printheads -- oki fujitsu hp genicom epson ibm dec jetdirect laserjet lexnmark qms okidata ml320 mannesmann tally printonix tektronix qms toshiba zebra otc ibm lexmark intermec dec compaq montreal canada toronto o [email protected] Printers 1 March 15th 05 05:50 AM
help with motherboard choice S.Boardman General 30 October 20th 03 10:23 PM
Building a new system: SCSI or IDE? Jonathan Sachs Storage (alternative) 48 August 5th 03 07:11 PM
IBM LTO Fibre Channel Tape Drive Rewinding In A Loop CHANGE USERNAME TO westes Storage (alternative) 0 July 13th 03 09:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.