A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

will a 200gb hd work in Compaq S4020WM ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 9th 04, 03:26 PM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default will a 200gb hd work in Compaq S4020WM ?

Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my Compaq
S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E


  #2  
Old October 10th 04, 01:12 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my Compaq
S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E





  #3  
Old October 10th 04, 01:58 AM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK, thanks, I'll probably get one at Staples tomorrow and try it. I'd really
like to have a SCSI drive for my op system but don't know enough about the
technical factors nor whether my computer could handle it.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my Compaq
S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E







  #4  
Old October 10th 04, 12:13 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

SCSI would be an expensive solution for almost no benefit. It has its uses.
This just isn't one of them.

Tom
"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
OK, thanks, I'll probably get one at Staples tomorrow and try it. I'd
really like to have a SCSI drive for my op system but don't know enough
about the technical factors nor whether my computer could handle it.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my
Compaq S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E









  #5  
Old October 10th 04, 12:41 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Another point. Most PCs won't boot from a SCSI drive if there is an IDE
drive present.
HH

"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
SCSI would be an expensive solution for almost no benefit. It has its
uses. This just isn't one of them.

Tom
"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
OK, thanks, I'll probably get one at Staples tomorrow and try it. I'd
really like to have a SCSI drive for my op system but don't know enough
about the technical factors nor whether my computer could handle it.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my
Compaq S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E












  #6  
Old October 10th 04, 07:56 PM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK, I figured there were technical problems, but it would benefit me if I
had one. The IDE drives are too slow and unreliable for one of my database
applications that has constant heavy disk access. The experts with that
application software recommended the faster SCSI drives as the only possible
solution. Of course they're mostly university professors running
unix-related op systems, not windows.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Another point. Most PCs won't boot from a SCSI drive if there is an IDE
drive present.
HH

"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
SCSI would be an expensive solution for almost no benefit. It has its
uses. This just isn't one of them.

Tom
"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
OK, thanks, I'll probably get one at Staples tomorrow and try it. I'd
really like to have a SCSI drive for my op system but don't know enough
about the technical factors nor whether my computer could handle it.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my
Compaq S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E














  #7  
Old October 10th 04, 10:36 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The experts are idiots.

If you need real speed, get a 10,000 RPM IDE drive and put it on a separate
controller Better yet, get a SATA controller and 10K drive.

SCSI is so last year.
"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
OK, I figured there were technical problems, but it would benefit me if I
had one. The IDE drives are too slow and unreliable for one of my database
applications that has constant heavy disk access. The experts with that
application software recommended the faster SCSI drives as the only
possible solution. Of course they're mostly university professors running
unix-related op systems, not windows.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Another point. Most PCs won't boot from a SCSI drive if there is an IDE
drive present.
HH

"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
SCSI would be an expensive solution for almost no benefit. It has its
uses. This just isn't one of them.

Tom
"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
OK, thanks, I'll probably get one at Staples tomorrow and try it. I'd
really like to have a SCSI drive for my op system but don't know enough
about the technical factors nor whether my computer could handle it.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
Most likely, yes. Jumper it CS for Cable Select.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
Staples has some 200GB hard drives on sale, but will it work in my
Compaq S4020WM purchased at Walmart a little over a year ago?
-E
















  #8  
Old October 11th 04, 03:25 PM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Perhpas I'll get the chance to test your opinion at some point--my SCSI at this
point still out performs my 7200 RPM IDE when paying avi files that are
processed by my encoder video card out to NTSC. Playback studders with the
7200 IDE--perhaps the 10,000 is enough to do the job. I'd welcome loosing the
SCSI card and HDD, simplifing the setup in my PC to one or two large IDEs....

Dale
  #9  
Old October 11th 04, 06:51 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'd be surprised if your hard drive was the limiting factor. I record DVD
quality video and play it back off a 5400rpm drive in an external USB2 case
and it plays flawlessly.

Tom
"DEJ57" wrote in message
...
Perhpas I'll get the chance to test your opinion at some point--my SCSI at
this
point still out performs my 7200 RPM IDE when paying avi files that are
processed by my encoder video card out to NTSC. Playback studders with
the
7200 IDE--perhaps the 10,000 is enough to do the job. I'd welcome loosing
the
SCSI card and HDD, simplifing the setup in my PC to one or two large
IDEs....

Dale



  #10  
Old October 11th 04, 07:30 PM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Excellent point. May well be the 1996 16 bit capture/encoder video card I
use--but I can get smooth playback using the SCSI Quantum Vicking II--heck, had
it so long now I don't remember what its rotation speed is--likely 10,000...but
the 7200 IDE studders occasionally....when I got the SCSI way back when (1997)
it was to get video playback working smoothly with the above video card in my
4112--a 133/60 MHZ, 96 RAM, and 10,000 in IDE was unheard of, at least by
me....

Dale
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 July 17th 04 08:30 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 July 3rd 04 04:25 AM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 April 25th 04 10:45 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 April 17th 04 11:03 AM
Compaq FAQ (New Link included) HH Compaq Computers 0 January 24th 04 01:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.