A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

hd jumpers - is "Cable Select" best?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th 04, 02:24 PM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default hd jumpers - is "Cable Select" best?

I have a Compaq Presario S4020WM purchased from Wal-Mart last year. I
replaced the original hard drive with 120G and 80G drives. My question is
whether it makes a difference in performance whether I selected Master and
Slave for the jumper settings, or Cable Select for one or both of them? I
can't remember offhand. Of course I can open up the computer case and look,
but I'd like to know beforehand if possible.

This question is prompted by the fact that I'm getting slow hard drive
access with my primary application, slow enough that it is slowing down that
program significantly, and I don't think that is supposed to happen. Most
other people using the same application and ordinary PCs don't report such a
problem.

I suppose this could also be a problem with bus speed and the motherboard,
but I don't know about such things. Also in reading I notice that the
channels used by the drives are important, but I don't know how to check
them.

Any advice appreciated. They're both Maxtor drives, and of course they're on
the same Maxtor IDE cable - one at the end connector, the other on the
middle connector. Here's some system specs:
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
992 Megabytes Installed Memory
Board: KM266-8235
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD AM37320 08/01/2003
S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR [Display adapter]
MAXTOR 6L080J4 [Hard drive] (80.05 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 664213219209, rev
A93.0500, SMART Status: Healthy
Maxtor 6Y120P0 [Hard drive] (122.94 GB) -- drive 0, s/n Y31WBLZE, rev
YAR41BW0, SMART Status: Healthy

-E


  #2  
Old May 6th 04, 04:31 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The original IDE cable is a Cable Select cable. so the drives should be
jumpered CS.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
I have a Compaq Presario S4020WM purchased from Wal-Mart last year. I
replaced the original hard drive with 120G and 80G drives. My question is
whether it makes a difference in performance whether I selected Master and
Slave for the jumper settings, or Cable Select for one or both of them? I
can't remember offhand. Of course I can open up the computer case and

look,
but I'd like to know beforehand if possible.

This question is prompted by the fact that I'm getting slow hard drive
access with my primary application, slow enough that it is slowing down

that
program significantly, and I don't think that is supposed to happen. Most
other people using the same application and ordinary PCs don't report such

a
problem.

I suppose this could also be a problem with bus speed and the motherboard,
but I don't know about such things. Also in reading I notice that the
channels used by the drives are important, but I don't know how to check
them.

Any advice appreciated. They're both Maxtor drives, and of course they're

on
the same Maxtor IDE cable - one at the end connector, the other on the
middle connector. Here's some system specs:
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
992 Megabytes Installed Memory
Board: KM266-8235
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD AM37320 08/01/2003
S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR [Display adapter]
MAXTOR 6L080J4 [Hard drive] (80.05 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 664213219209, rev
A93.0500, SMART Status: Healthy
Maxtor 6Y120P0 [Hard drive] (122.94 GB) -- drive 0, s/n Y31WBLZE, rev
YAR41BW0, SMART Status: Healthy

-E





  #3  
Old May 8th 04, 02:29 AM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I found that the drives were jumpered for Master and Slave. I made the
change to Cable Select for both drives. It didn't work at first, and I don't
know why. I had to reseat the jumpers and power plugs and reboot several
times before the main drive would boot. But now it's working OK, and there
appears to be no change in performance for the drives. Thus as long as it's
working, there's no reason to change to Cable Select from Master/Slave. But
of course I didn't know until I tried it.

A negative side effect of my adventure under the hood is that my processor's
fan now has a loud, high-pitched whine. It's too loud and annoying, so I'll
have to fix it. Naturally I blew out the dust while I had the computer cover
off, but that apparently caused the fan noise to start. I tried
repositioning wires leading to the fan, but that has no effect. I'll have to
take the fan apart and use some WD40, or replace it, I guess.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
The original IDE cable is a Cable Select cable. so the drives should be
jumpered CS.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
I have a Compaq Presario S4020WM purchased from Wal-Mart last year. I
replaced the original hard drive with 120G and 80G drives. My question is
whether it makes a difference in performance whether I selected Master and
Slave for the jumper settings, or Cable Select for one or both of them? I
can't remember offhand. Of course I can open up the computer case and

look,
but I'd like to know beforehand if possible.

This question is prompted by the fact that I'm getting slow hard drive
access with my primary application, slow enough that it is slowing down

that
program significantly, and I don't think that is supposed to happen. Most
other people using the same application and ordinary PCs don't report such

a
problem.

I suppose this could also be a problem with bus speed and the motherboard,
but I don't know about such things. Also in reading I notice that the
channels used by the drives are important, but I don't know how to check
them.

Any advice appreciated. They're both Maxtor drives, and of course they're

on
the same Maxtor IDE cable - one at the end connector, the other on the
middle connector. Here's some system specs:
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
992 Megabytes Installed Memory
Board: KM266-8235
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD AM37320 08/01/2003
S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR [Display adapter]
MAXTOR 6L080J4 [Hard drive] (80.05 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 664213219209, rev
A93.0500, SMART Status: Healthy
Maxtor 6Y120P0 [Hard drive] (122.94 GB) -- drive 0, s/n Y31WBLZE, rev
YAR41BW0, SMART Status: Healthy

-E






  #4  
Old May 8th 04, 10:49 AM
GH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you blew the fan enough to make it spin, you may have damaged it.
Some fans do not want to be spun except by the power.

GH


"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
I found that the drives were jumpered for Master and Slave. I made the
change to Cable Select for both drives. It didn't work at first, and I

don't
know why. I had to reseat the jumpers and power plugs and reboot several
times before the main drive would boot. But now it's working OK, and there
appears to be no change in performance for the drives. Thus as long as

it's
working, there's no reason to change to Cable Select from Master/Slave.

But
of course I didn't know until I tried it.

A negative side effect of my adventure under the hood is that my

processor's
fan now has a loud, high-pitched whine. It's too loud and annoying, so

I'll
have to fix it. Naturally I blew out the dust while I had the computer

cover
off, but that apparently caused the fan noise to start. I tried
repositioning wires leading to the fan, but that has no effect. I'll have

to
take the fan apart and use some WD40, or replace it, I guess.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
The original IDE cable is a Cable Select cable. so the drives should be
jumpered CS.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
I have a Compaq Presario S4020WM purchased from Wal-Mart last year. I
replaced the original hard drive with 120G and 80G drives. My question

is
whether it makes a difference in performance whether I selected Master

and
Slave for the jumper settings, or Cable Select for one or both of them?

I
can't remember offhand. Of course I can open up the computer case and

look,
but I'd like to know beforehand if possible.

This question is prompted by the fact that I'm getting slow hard drive
access with my primary application, slow enough that it is slowing down

that
program significantly, and I don't think that is supposed to happen.

Most
other people using the same application and ordinary PCs don't report

such
a
problem.

I suppose this could also be a problem with bus speed and the

motherboard,
but I don't know about such things. Also in reading I notice that the
channels used by the drives are important, but I don't know how to check
them.

Any advice appreciated. They're both Maxtor drives, and of course

they're
on
the same Maxtor IDE cable - one at the end connector, the other on the
middle connector. Here's some system specs:
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
992 Megabytes Installed Memory
Board: KM266-8235
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD AM37320 08/01/2003
S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR [Display adapter]
MAXTOR 6L080J4 [Hard drive] (80.05 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 664213219209, rev
A93.0500, SMART Status: Healthy
Maxtor 6Y120P0 [Hard drive] (122.94 GB) -- drive 0, s/n Y31WBLZE, rev
YAR41BW0, SMART Status: Healthy

-E








  #5  
Old May 8th 04, 03:17 PM
Euclid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oops...
I took the computer cover off again and did some trial & error disconnects.
It was the 80G hard drive that was putting out the high-pitch whining noise,
not the fan. I didn't change or do anything that should have affected it.
Possibly it was making the noise beforehand and I got used to it, so didn't
notice it. But it's annoying enough that I unplugged it, now all is OK. I
don't really need it except for occasional system backups, then it's easy
enough to plug it in again temporarily.

I won't replace the 80G drive with another IDE/ATA drive because I want a
SCSI drive next time, for the extra speed. My special application needs it.
I suppose that will require a PCI adapter card, but I've got 2 open slots so
that shouldn't be a problem. Don't know anything about SCSI otherwise,
except rotational speed is a factor - at least 10,000 rpm, preferably more.
-E

"GH" wrote in message
...
If you blew the fan enough to make it spin, you may have damaged it.
Some fans do not want to be spun except by the power.

GH


"Euclid" wrote in message
nk.net...
I found that the drives were jumpered for Master and Slave. I made the
change to Cable Select for both drives. It didn't work at first, and I

don't
know why. I had to reseat the jumpers and power plugs and reboot several
times before the main drive would boot. But now it's working OK, and there
appears to be no change in performance for the drives. Thus as long as

it's
working, there's no reason to change to Cable Select from Master/Slave.

But
of course I didn't know until I tried it.

A negative side effect of my adventure under the hood is that my

processor's
fan now has a loud, high-pitched whine. It's too loud and annoying, so

I'll
have to fix it. Naturally I blew out the dust while I had the computer

cover
off, but that apparently caused the fan noise to start. I tried
repositioning wires leading to the fan, but that has no effect. I'll have

to
take the fan apart and use some WD40, or replace it, I guess.
-E

"HH" wrote in message
...
The original IDE cable is a Cable Select cable. so the drives should be
jumpered CS.
HH

"Euclid" wrote in message
ink.net...
I have a Compaq Presario S4020WM purchased from Wal-Mart last year. I
replaced the original hard drive with 120G and 80G drives. My question

is
whether it makes a difference in performance whether I selected Master

and
Slave for the jumper settings, or Cable Select for one or both of them?

I
can't remember offhand. Of course I can open up the computer case and

look,
but I'd like to know beforehand if possible.

This question is prompted by the fact that I'm getting slow hard drive
access with my primary application, slow enough that it is slowing down

that
program significantly, and I don't think that is supposed to happen.

Most
other people using the same application and ordinary PCs don't report

such
a
problem.

I suppose this could also be a problem with bus speed and the

motherboard,
but I don't know about such things. Also in reading I notice that the
channels used by the drives are important, but I don't know how to check
them.

Any advice appreciated. They're both Maxtor drives, and of course

they're
on
the same Maxtor IDE cable - one at the end connector, the other on the
middle connector. Here's some system specs:
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon XP
992 Megabytes Installed Memory
Board: KM266-8235
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD AM37320 08/01/2003
S3 Graphics ProSavageDDR [Display adapter]
MAXTOR 6L080J4 [Hard drive] (80.05 GB) -- drive 1, s/n 664213219209, rev
A93.0500, SMART Status: Healthy
Maxtor 6Y120P0 [Hard drive] (122.94 GB) -- drive 0, s/n Y31WBLZE, rev
YAR41BW0, SMART Status: Healthy

-E









 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
80 pin v 40 pin drive and cable question senn Homebuilt PC's 17 February 21st 05 02:06 PM
Please advise on home cable internet setup Victor Smith General 11 December 8th 04 05:16 AM
whats up with the unified driver? Rob Nvidia Videocards 14 November 12th 04 08:51 AM
IDE ribbon cable connectors orientation Art Homebuilt PC's 4 April 25th 04 11:17 PM
ATA100 cable Pin #34 (CBLID) V W Wall General 2 January 5th 04 07:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.