A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

need 3 drive ribbon cable



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 4th 04, 02:36 AM
tele64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default need 3 drive ribbon cable

Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin ribbon cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64


  #2  
Old May 4th 04, 03:52 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin ribbon

cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64





  #3  
Old May 5th 04, 12:25 AM
tele64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin ribbon

cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64







  #4  
Old May 5th 04, 12:56 AM
doS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No he doesn't.

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin ribbon

cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64









  #5  
Old May 5th 04, 02:09 AM
Steve W.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not possible considering the floppy uses a smaller cable and connector
than the other two drives.

--
Steve Williams



"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives

and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin

ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----
  #6  
Old May 5th 04, 02:19 AM
tele64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you're wrong.


"doS" wrote in message
...
No he doesn't.

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives

and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin

ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











  #7  
Old May 5th 04, 02:20 AM
tele64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes possible....



"Steve W." wrote in message
...
Not possible considering the floppy uses a smaller cable and connector
than the other two drives.

--
Steve Williams



"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives

and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin

ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----



  #8  
Old May 5th 04, 02:33 AM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Never on any computer I've seen since 1981. Perhaps a very, very, very,
very special model.

For a standard IDE controller, two is the limit. Now pretty much every
motherboard has two controllers. so two cables = four devices.

Tom
"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Yes possible....



"Steve W." wrote in message
...
Not possible considering the floppy uses a smaller cable and connector
than the other two drives.

--
Steve Williams



"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives

and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin

ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----





  #9  
Old May 5th 04, 02:51 AM
tele64
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

This group has tried to answer my question but can not....



"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
Never on any computer I've seen since 1981. Perhaps a very, very, very,
very special model.

For a standard IDE controller, two is the limit. Now pretty much every
motherboard has two controllers. so two cables = four devices.

Tom
"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Yes possible....



"Steve W." wrote in message
...
Not possible considering the floppy uses a smaller cable and connector
than the other two drives.

--
Steve Williams



"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW

drives
and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin
ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----







  #10  
Old May 5th 04, 03:18 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Again, the floppy drive uses a floppy controller, not the IDE controllers,
and a 34-conductor cable. IDE cables are 40-conductor (wider). On a standard
PC, there are two ide controllers (primary and secondary). Each can handle 2
devices. Period.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
This group has tried to answer my question but can not....



"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
Never on any computer I've seen since 1981. Perhaps a very, very, very,
very special model.

For a standard IDE controller, two is the limit. Now pretty much every
motherboard has two controllers. so two cables = four devices.

Tom
"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Yes possible....



"Steve W." wrote in message
...
Not possible considering the floppy uses a smaller cable and

connector
than the other two drives.

--
Steve Williams



"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
HH, I don't get it....my nephew has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW

drives
and
one floppy.....all with one ribbon cable!


"HH" wrote in message
...
You cannot. Only 2 drives per IDE controller.
HH

"tele64" wrote in message
. ..
Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin
ribbon
cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64











-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =-----
http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1 Newsgroup Service in the World!
-----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----









 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to test psu and reset to cmos to default Tanya General 23 February 7th 05 09:56 AM
"Failure Imminent" should i continue? Lindsay Asus Motherboards 3 July 11th 04 06:45 PM
Help... Gene Puhl Homebuilt PC's 3 April 10th 04 02:16 AM
Help needed: problem installing XP on new system GJ General 26 March 1st 04 10:04 PM
isolating new clone drive for 1st bootup Timothy Daniels General 86 February 29th 04 03:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.