A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

isolating new clone drive for 1st bootup



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 23rd 04, 08:59 PM
Timothy Daniels
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default isolating new clone drive for 1st bootup

As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?

*TimDaniels*
  #2  
Old February 23rd 04, 09:05 PM
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Timothy Daniels wrote in
message ...

As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.


It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.


So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?


Its not a great idea, plenty of systems dont like having
a drive thats not getting power on the ribbon cable much.

It is a kludge that does sort of work tho, and thats
what quite a few removable drive bay systems do.


  #3  
Old February 23rd 04, 09:23 PM
Eric Gisin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If the drives are on different IDE channels, you can disable the original's
channel in BIOS - Integrated Periphs. Setting the drive type to NONE does not
work.

Most of my newer IDE devices can have their power unplugged and not affect
other system operation.

"Timothy Daniels" wrote in message
...
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?


  #4  
Old February 24th 04, 02:03 AM
Timothy Daniels
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Rod Speed" wrote:

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.


It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.


So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?


Its not a great idea, plenty of systems dont like having
a drive thats not getting power on the ribbon cable much.

It is a kludge that does sort of work tho, and thats
what quite a few removable drive bay systems do.



I guess it's worth a try, then. The more I get into
cloning HDs, the more I see how Microsoft put obstacles
in the way of cloning by making it a hassle.

*TimDaniels*
  #5  
Old February 24th 04, 02:20 AM
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Timothy Daniels" wrote in message ...
"Rod Speed" wrote:

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.


It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.


So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?


Its not a great idea, plenty of systems dont like having
a drive thats not getting power on the ribbon cable much.

It is a kludge that does sort of work tho, and thats
what quite a few removable drive bay systems do.


I guess it's worth a try, then.


Yeah, it mostly does work.

The more I get into cloning HDs, the more I see how Microsoft
put obstacles in the way of cloning by making it a hassle.


Basically because MS assumes that cloning will only be
done much when replacing the boot drive and that having
to unplug the original for the first boot after the clone is
pretty much a non issue when upgrading the drive etc.

There are other approaches like image files
that work fine if you're cloning for backup etc.


  #6  
Old February 24th 04, 02:26 AM
Timothy Daniels
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My motherboard BIOS has an IDE Configuration
setting, and that might be a way to turn off 2 HDs
by turning off one IDE channel, but... my HDs are
on a SIIG controller card - whose BIOS is an
undocumented unknown. Thanks for the info, though.

*TimDaniels*


"Eric Gisin" wrote:
If the drives are on different IDE channels, you can
disable the original's channel in BIOS - Integrated Periphs.
Setting the drive type to NONE does not work.

Most of my newer IDE devices can have their power
unplugged and not affect other system operation.

"Timothy Daniels" wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?


  #7  
Old February 24th 04, 03:22 AM
Angry American
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Or better yet just pick the drive to boot too in your BIOS.

Dan

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?

*TimDaniels*



  #8  
Old February 24th 04, 03:55 AM
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Angry American
wrote in message ...

Or better yet just pick the drive to boot too in your BIOS.


Doesnt work when cloning the boot drive in the NT/2K/XP family.

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?

*TimDaniels*





  #9  
Old February 24th 04, 04:05 AM
Angry American
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It does if you choose and isolate the particular drive. As long as the boot
files are on the root, it will work.

Dan

Rod Speed wrote:
Angry American
wrote in message ...

Or better yet just pick the drive to boot too in your BIOS.


Doesnt work when cloning the boot drive in the NT/2K/XP family.

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?

*TimDaniels*



  #10  
Old February 24th 04, 04:56 AM
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Angry American
wrote in message ...

It does if you choose and isolate the particular drive.


Nothing like what you said. He was talking
about HOW you isolate the original boot drive,
not how you select which drive to boot off.

As long as the boot files are on the root, it will work.


Not if you dont make the original boot drive invisible to
the OS for the first boot after the clone has been made.


Rod Speed wrote:
Angry American
wrote in message ...

Or better yet just pick the drive to boot too in your BIOS.


Doesnt work when cloning the boot drive in the NT/2K/XP family.

Timothy Daniels wrote:
As Rod Speed has pointed out, the clone drive
resulting from a cloning of a WinXP system HD
should be the only drive with an a WinXP OS
on an active partition when booting it up for the
1st time. (Thereafter it can "see" and be "seen"
by another OS in the PC.) The hassle is that you
have to open the case, disconnect the cables to the
other drives, including the one that has just been
cloned, boot up the new clone, and then, usually,
open the case again and reconnect the other drives.

It would be a lot easier if one could just shut down
and then disconnect the other drives by use of a
physical switch to break the connection with their
power cables. That would avoid all the hassle of
opening the case and unplugging the other drives.

So, does anyone have any information that would
indicate if switching the power cables would work?

*TimDaniels*





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mysterious Hard Drive Problem Bill Anderson General 4 January 18th 04 03:43 AM
Multi-boot Windows XP without special software Timothy Daniels General 11 December 12th 03 05:38 AM
help with motherboard choice S.Boardman General 30 October 20th 03 10:23 PM
Help! WinXP can't tell that my 2nd hard drive is already formatted FitPhillyGuy General 12 September 26th 03 03:38 AM
Seagate Hard Drive - Faulty? Mike Walker General 2 September 5th 03 02:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.