A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Computer keeps freezing...



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 14th 08, 01:38 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
AlphaOmega[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps freezing...

Hullo all,

My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.

Why it do dis?

Can anyone helps me?

Thanks.
  #2  
Old January 14th 08, 02:09 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Computer keeps freezing...

Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.

.... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:

Hullo all,

My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.

Why it do dis?

Can anyone helps me?

Thanks.

  #3  
Old January 14th 08, 03:44 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
AlphaOmega[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps freezing...

On Jan 14, 9:09 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.

... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
Hullo all,


My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.


Why it do dis?


Can anyone helps me?


Thanks.


Wellllll... Its a HP Pavilion A320N Running Windows XP 512 memory.
  #4  
Old January 14th 08, 04:29 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Computer keeps freezing...

I would check the power-saving options in the BIOS. The usual, best and most
modern setting is S3. The go to Control Panel and click the Power Options icon
and look at the Power Schemes. You may have to modify a Power Scheme to get
the computer to behave as you want it. This may be a process of
trial-and-error.

Install any and all critical Windows XP updates. I'm sure that Microsoft
tweaked the power schemes somewhere along the way between the 2001 classic XP
and today... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 07:44:04 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:

On Jan 14, 9:09 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.

... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
Hullo all,


My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.


Why it do dis?


Can anyone helps me?


Thanks.


Wellllll... Its a HP Pavilion A320N Running Windows XP 512 memory.

  #5  
Old January 14th 08, 04:34 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
AlphaOmega[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps freezing...

On Jan 14, 11:29 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
I would check the power-saving options in the BIOS. The usual, best and most
modern setting is S3. The go to Control Panel and click the Power Options icon
and look at the Power Schemes. You may have to modify a Power Scheme to get
the computer to behave as you want it. This may be a process of
trial-and-error.

Install any and all critical Windows XP updates. I'm sure that Microsoft
tweaked the power schemes somewhere along the way between the 2001 classic XP
and today... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 07:44:04 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
On Jan 14, 9:09 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.


... Ben Myers


On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
Hullo all,


My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.


Why it do dis?


Can anyone helps me?


Thanks.


Wellllll... Its a HP Pavilion A320N Running Windows XP 512 memory.


Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.
  #6  
Old January 14th 08, 07:17 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Computer keeps freezing...

My guess is that using an "Always On" power scheme will work. In other words,
leave the hard drive on all the time, do not allow the system to go into sleep
or hibernation mode, etc. That's the extreme setting that should stop a system
from going into some sort of deep sleep without any possibility of waking again.
And if THAT does not fix it, something is very likely wrong with the hardware.

.... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 08:34:14 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:

On Jan 14, 11:29 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
I would check the power-saving options in the BIOS. The usual, best and most
modern setting is S3. The go to Control Panel and click the Power Options icon
and look at the Power Schemes. You may have to modify a Power Scheme to get
the computer to behave as you want it. This may be a process of
trial-and-error.

Install any and all critical Windows XP updates. I'm sure that Microsoft
tweaked the power schemes somewhere along the way between the 2001 classic XP
and today... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 07:44:04 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
On Jan 14, 9:09 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.


... Ben Myers


On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
Hullo all,


My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.


Why it do dis?


Can anyone helps me?


Thanks.


Wellllll... Its a HP Pavilion A320N Running Windows XP 512 memory.


Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.

  #7  
Old January 14th 08, 07:42 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Colin Wilson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 496
Default Computer keeps freezing...

Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.


No need to dispose of it just yet - there are a couple of other things
to try too, to help determine whether it's a software or hardware
issue.

a) try a live linux CD, and see if it keels over as often

b) is the CPU fan actually spinning ?

c) unplug and replug every "major" connection on the motherboard - the
contacts shouldn't oxidise, but if it's just a crap connection, this
might sort it

d) run memtest86 on it (there are two variants from competing
suppliers, one of whom has a paid-for version available too) - you can
usually tell within a few seconds if the memory is flaky !

For strange hardware problems / lock-ups, (d) might be a smart first
choice :-)
  #8  
Old January 14th 08, 08:01 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
AlphaOmega[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps freezing...

On Jan 14, 2:42 pm, Colin Wilson
o.uk wrote:
Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.


No need to dispose of it just yet - there are a couple of other things
to try too, to help determine whether it's a software or hardware
issue.

a) try a live linux CD, and see if it keels over as often

b) is the CPU fan actually spinning ?

c) unplug and replug every "major" connection on the motherboard - the
contacts shouldn't oxidise, but if it's just a crap connection, this
might sort it

d) run memtest86 on it (there are two variants from competing
suppliers, one of whom has a paid-for version available too) - you can
usually tell within a few seconds if the memory is flaky !

For strange hardware problems / lock-ups, (d) might be a smart first
choice :-)


a) no

b) yes

c) done

d) big hassle to get to work, easier to just smash computer.
  #9  
Old January 14th 08, 08:04 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
AlphaOmega[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps freezing...

On Jan 14, 2:17 pm, Ben Myers
wrote:
My guess is that using an "Always On" power scheme will work. In other words,
leave the hard drive on all the time, do not allow the system to go into sleep
or hibernation mode, etc. That's the extreme setting that should stop a system
from going into some sort of deep sleep without any possibility of waking again.
And if THAT does not fix it, something is very likely wrong with the hardware.

... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 08:34:14 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
On Jan 14, 11:29 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
I would check the power-saving options in the BIOS. The usual, best and most
modern setting is S3. The go to Control Panel and click the Power Options icon
and look at the Power Schemes. You may have to modify a Power Scheme to get
the computer to behave as you want it. This may be a process of
trial-and-error.


Install any and all critical Windows XP updates. I'm sure that Microsoft
tweaked the power schemes somewhere along the way between the 2001 classic XP
and today... Ben Myers


On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 07:44:04 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
On Jan 14, 9:09 am, Ben Myers
wrote:
Lacking further detail about the model of computer the version of software
running, I would hazard a guess that its power management settings in the BIOS
or in the operating system (Windows maybe?) are incorrect for some reason.


... Ben Myers


On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 05:38:21 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:
Hullo all,


My Compaq keeps freezing on me and can only be restarted by pushing
the power button. I mean, if you use the computer constantly it works
fine, but if you let it sit unattended it freezes in about 10 minutes.


Why it do dis?


Can anyone helps me?


Thanks.


Wellllll... Its a HP Pavilion A320N Running Windows XP 512 memory.


Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.


Tried that and still no luck.
Thanks anyway guys.
  #10  
Old January 14th 08, 11:28 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Computer keeps freezing...

Is the CPU fan spinning fast enough? Are the CPU fan clear of all dust and
debris?

Instead of smashing the computer, drop it off here (Harvard, MA) if you are
nearby, or I can pick it up, or donate it to a charity as-is with an explanation
of what is wrong... Ben Myers

On Mon, 14 Jan 2008 12:01:04 -0800 (PST), AlphaOmega wrote:

On Jan 14, 2:42 pm, Colin Wilson
[email protected] co.uk wrote:
Thanks, I will try your suggestions. And if it don't work it will be
dismantled and disposed of.


No need to dispose of it just yet - there are a couple of other things
to try too, to help determine whether it's a software or hardware
issue.

a) try a live linux CD, and see if it keels over as often

b) is the CPU fan actually spinning ?

c) unplug and replug every "major" connection on the motherboard - the
contacts shouldn't oxidise, but if it's just a crap connection, this
might sort it

d) run memtest86 on it (there are two variants from competing
suppliers, one of whom has a paid-for version available too) - you can
usually tell within a few seconds if the memory is flaky !

For strange hardware problems / lock-ups, (d) might be a smart first
choice :-)


a) no

b) yes

c) done

d) big hassle to get to work, easier to just smash computer.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer freezing utbigred General 1 January 13th 07 12:15 AM
Computer freezing Davy General 0 January 12th 07 11:41 PM
Computer keeps freezing! Co-Show Dell Computers 6 January 2nd 05 11:54 AM
Computer freezing up M Jones General 8 March 26th 04 09:42 PM
Computer freezing.... Mickey Dell Computers 2 November 15th 03 11:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.