A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Power up password



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 4th 06, 08:22 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
KMS - Brett Anderson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Power up password

I have an old Compaq Desk Pro.

It has a power on password.

I know the password, but would like to eliminate it. I can't work out how
to get to the point where I can reset it. I've tried holding down both the
F8 and the DEL keys on start up but can't get in to anything that would
allow me to eliminate the password.

What is the procedure to remove/change the power up password?

Thanks

Brett Anderson


  #2  
Old September 4th 06, 01:11 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 51
Default Power up password

Try F10 at the Compaq Logo.

HH


"KMS - Brett Anderson" wrote in message
...
I have an old Compaq Desk Pro.

It has a power on password.

I know the password, but would like to eliminate it. I can't work out
how to get to the point where I can reset it. I've tried holding down
both the F8 and the DEL keys on start up but can't get in to anything that
would allow me to eliminate the password.

What is the procedure to remove/change the power up password?

Thanks

Brett Anderson



  #3  
Old September 4th 06, 03:54 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Power up password

If you are talking about the BIOS/CMOS password, either remove the motherboard
battery for an hour or so (if it is not soldered permanently), or find a jumper
on the motherboard to reset the password... Ben Myers

On Mon, 4 Sep 2006 03:22:04 -0400, "KMS - Brett Anderson" wrote:

I have an old Compaq Desk Pro.

It has a power on password.

I know the password, but would like to eliminate it. I can't work out how
to get to the point where I can reset it. I've tried holding down both the
F8 and the DEL keys on start up but can't get in to anything that would
allow me to eliminate the password.

What is the procedure to remove/change the power up password?

Thanks

Brett Anderson

  #4  
Old September 4th 06, 05:43 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Patty
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 60
Default Power up password

On Mon, 04 Sep 2006 10:54:06 -0400, Ben Myers wrote:

If you are talking about the BIOS/CMOS password, either remove the motherboard
battery for an hour or so (if it is not soldered permanently), or find a jumper
on the motherboard to reset the password... Ben Myers


That will also change all the BIOS settings to the default. Since he knows
the password, F10 will more than likely get him into the BIOS where he can
change or remove the password.

Patty
  #5  
Old September 4th 06, 10:00 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Power up password

Resetting the BIOS settings to the defaults is a side-effect of clearing the
BIOS CMOS, but the defaults are rarely problematic any more. Way back when in
the infancy of BIOS setups, in 386/486 days before autodetection of drive
geometry, resetting the BIOS CMOS settings was sometimes traumatic... Ben Myers

On Mon, 4 Sep 2006 12:43:27 -0400, Patty wrote:

On Mon, 04 Sep 2006 10:54:06 -0400, Ben Myers wrote:

If you are talking about the BIOS/CMOS password, either remove the motherboard
battery for an hour or so (if it is not soldered permanently), or find a jumper
on the motherboard to reset the password... Ben Myers


That will also change all the BIOS settings to the default. Since he knows
the password, F10 will more than likely get him into the BIOS where he can
change or remove the password.

Patty

  #6  
Old September 5th 06, 03:22 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
KMS - Brett Anderson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Power up password

Thanks to all who replied. I'll try F10 tomorrow.


Brett





"HH" wrote in message
...
Try F10 at the Compaq Logo.

HH


"KMS - Brett Anderson" wrote in message
...
I have an old Compaq Desk Pro.

It has a power on password.

I know the password, but would like to eliminate it. I can't work out
how to get to the point where I can reset it. I've tried holding down
both the F8 and the DEL keys on start up but can't get in to anything
that would allow me to eliminate the password.

What is the procedure to remove/change the power up password?

Thanks

Brett Anderson





  #7  
Old September 13th 06, 04:39 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Mikey
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 15
Default Power up password

Well, did it work? I guess we'll never know.

KMS - Brett Anderson wrote:

Thanks to all who replied. I'll try F10 tomorrow.

Brett

"HH" wrote in message
...
Try F10 at the Compaq Logo.

HH


"KMS - Brett Anderson" wrote in message
...
I have an old Compaq Desk Pro.

It has a power on password.

I know the password, but would like to eliminate it. I can't work out
how to get to the point where I can reset it. I've tried holding down
both the F8 and the DEL keys on start up but can't get in to anything
that would allow me to eliminate the password.

What is the procedure to remove/change the power up password?

Thanks

Brett Anderson




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply fried, replaced it, computer won't start . Homebuilt PC's 66 September 11th 06 06:34 AM
HP Pavilion ZE4600 Power on Password madscientist General 0 August 29th 05 11:24 PM
GW Power Supply Feedback RDBrimmer Gateway Computers 9 October 22nd 04 07:15 PM
GW Power Supply Feedback RDBrimmer Gateway Computers 0 October 20th 04 07:26 AM
How can I make motherboard to restart after power loss automatically? Amiran General 1 September 24th 03 11:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.