A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 15th 06, 09:31 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
Mark Nicholls
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time tried
to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA connection
on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first hurdle, as I
can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button is just greyed
out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video socket before,
could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the drivers & done
everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful for any other
suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark


  #2  
Old August 15th 06, 01:34 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
Ted F
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

After you connect it to the TV, you must reboot the cumputer and you should
see both the computer monitor and the TV have a signal.


"Mark Nicholls" wrote in message
...
I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time
tried to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA
connection on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first
hurdle, as I can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button
is just greyed out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video
socket before, could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the drivers
& done everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful for any
other suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark



  #3  
Old August 15th 06, 04:28 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
Mark Nicholls
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

I'm afraid I've done that, several times! Thanks for the responding, in any
case!

Mark

"Ted F" wrote in message
...
After you connect it to the TV, you must reboot the cumputer and you
should see both the computer monitor and the TV have a signal.


"Mark Nicholls" wrote in message
...
I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time
tried to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA
connection on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first
hurdle, as I can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button
is just greyed out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video
socket before, could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the
drivers & done everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful
for any other suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark





  #4  
Old August 16th 06, 10:56 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
Mark Nicholls
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

I discovered new drivers for the Radeon 8500 including a GUI called
'Catalyst Control Centre'. After downloading these, my TV is now recognised.
Enabling it allows me to show my PC desktop on my TV very well (as long as I
disconnect the TV signal from my aerial). However, whenever I play a video,
the TV screen goes blank! The setup options I'm given are 'Extend Main on to
TV', 'Clone Main with TV', 'Stretch Main Horizontally onto TV' & 'Stretch
Main Vertically onto TV'. I've tried out the first 2 of these, but neither
allow me to play a video. Does anyone know if there are any other settings I
should be adusting?...

Mark


"Ted F" wrote in message
...
After you connect it to the TV, you must reboot the cumputer and you
should see both the computer monitor and the TV have a signal.


"Mark Nicholls" wrote in message
...
I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time
tried to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA
connection on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first
hurdle, as I can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button
is just greyed out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video
socket before, could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the
drivers & done everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful
for any other suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark





  #5  
Old August 16th 06, 11:00 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
Mark Nicholls
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

Ok - please ignore this message: I found 'Theatre Mode' in Catalyst!...

"Mark Nicholls" wrote in message
...
I discovered new drivers for the Radeon 8500 including a GUI called
'Catalyst Control Centre'. After downloading these, my TV is now
recognised. Enabling it allows me to show my PC desktop on my TV very well
(as long as I disconnect the TV signal from my aerial). However, whenever I
play a video, the TV screen goes blank! The setup options I'm given are
'Extend Main on to TV', 'Clone Main with TV', 'Stretch Main Horizontally
onto TV' & 'Stretch Main Vertically onto TV'. I've tried out the first 2 of
these, but neither allow me to play a video. Does anyone know if there are
any other settings I should be adusting?...

Mark


"Ted F" wrote in message
...
After you connect it to the TV, you must reboot the cumputer and you
should see both the computer monitor and the TV have a signal.


"Mark Nicholls" wrote in message
...
I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time
tried to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA
connection on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first
hurdle, as I can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button
is just greyed out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video
socket before, could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the
drivers & done everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful
for any other suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark







  #6  
Old August 20th 06, 02:04 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.videocards.ati
p jayant
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Radeon 8500 doesn't recognise TV....

If the TV Panel in MMC is greyed, you also need to check the funny
adaptor
provided by ATI with ATI 8500 Cards. It must get neatly plugged in your

video card and the S Video plug from the TV must go to the video out
side of
that funny adapter.

I have used the S-Video connection between the 8500 DV card on my
computer
to connect the external Pioneer DVD player and it worked fine as long
as the
above mentioned connections were firm. They don't stay firm, though. I
have
scrapped the ATI Card, after getting fed up with finding the correct
Catalyst version which marked the TV Tuner/capture work.

P. Jayant

Mark Nicholls schreef:

I've had this Radeon 8500LE for about 4 years now & for the first time tried
to connect it to my TV, using a 4-pin S-video adaptor to the RCA connection
on the front of my TV. I seemed to have failed at the first hurdle, as I
can't enable the TV under Displays on the 8500 - the button is just greyed
out! Since the card's so old & I haven't used the s-video socket before,
could it be broken or faulty? I've re-installed the drivers & done
everything else I can think of, so I'd be really grateful for any other
suggestions!!!

Regds

Mark


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 9800 & Windows NT 4.0 Andrew Aronoff Ati Videocards 3 July 31st 06 07:00 PM
Radeon 8500: Can't see BIOS POST msgs with DVI out Markeau Ati Videocards 2 December 25th 05 04:25 PM
Asus A7v333 AGP Pro 4x slot Radeon 8500 died. Which card? Radeon 9550? or Geforce 6600 or X? compatible Darren General 4 December 20th 05 06:23 AM
Asus P4P800 Deluxe et ATI Radeon 8500 jga Asus Motherboards 1 December 16th 03 01:24 AM
Asus P4P800 Deluxe et ATI Radeon 8500 Ken Fox Ati Videocards 1 December 15th 03 06:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.