A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

MS DOS REFORMAT REInstlALING OPERATING SYSTEM!



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 10th 03, 05:17 PM
Paula M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default MS DOS REFORMAT REInstlALING OPERATING SYSTEM!

Hey all.
I really need help, computer is compaq 5000 (desktop) don't have all the
details to it, as it's my sister's. But I can get them if needed! What i
do know is

That we had to reformat her hard drive thru msdos - because the recovery
disk wouldn't work, nothing worked - couldn't get into anything to do with
the computer (my computer/controlpanel, nothing at all) kept comin up with
some error) She has a 30gb hard drive, which was partioned...was windows
ME operation system.

So anyhow - we reformated, fdisked, repartioned it, try to boot up by floppy
and everything else (even recovery cd) - nothing has worked!!! In a last
hope, we tried to install 98 by boot disk, to see if that would work - Stil
NOTHING!

Just comes up with a A: promt thingy....but we can't do much from there.
We tried setup.exe, and all those things -but nothing.. We have looked at
various way to install it..tried many ways - nothing!

Can anyone give me an detailed way to do this? We are totally at lost, on
how to get this computer back up and running. I'm really hopein someone
knows what they are doing, cuz we don't anymore - we are at lost!

Thanks!!

Paula


  #2  
Old July 10th 03, 07:37 PM
Homer Simpson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You should be able to boot the recovery cd, if the PC is 4 years old or less
(early models couldn't boot CDs). Be sure there is no floppy disk in the
drive. Put the recovery CD (Quick Restore) in the CD drive. Turn the PC
off. Turn the PC on. See if it boots the CD and gives you a menu to
restore.

If that doesn't work, look around for a companion floppy that came with the
Quick Restore CD. It might be necessary to put both in (not sure on a
5000). Turn on PC. See if it boots floppy, then activates CD, then gives
you a menu.

If that doesn't work, you may need to come up with a boot floppy that can
activate a CD drive. They are available on the net if you look around a bit
(http://support.buympc.com/file_lib/boot.html for one). Make a CD
activating boot floppy and boot it. When you get to the a:\ prompt, type
the CD drive letter followed by a colon (might be R:, might be D:, could be
anything). You should get to a R:\ prompt. Now try different possible
commands (SETUP, START, INSTALL, QR, etc.) to see if you get a menu to use
for restore.

If that doesn't work, report back with your results and somebody can
probably take you to the next step.


"Paula M" wrote in message
.. .
Hey all.
I really need help, computer is compaq 5000 (desktop) don't have all the
details to it, as it's my sister's. But I can get them if needed! What

i
do know is

That we had to reformat her hard drive thru msdos - because the recovery
disk wouldn't work, nothing worked - couldn't get into anything to do with
the computer (my computer/controlpanel, nothing at all) kept comin up with
some error) She has a 30gb hard drive, which was partioned...was

windows
ME operation system.

So anyhow - we reformated, fdisked, repartioned it, try to boot up by

floppy
and everything else (even recovery cd) - nothing has worked!!! In a last
hope, we tried to install 98 by boot disk, to see if that would work -

Stil
NOTHING!

Just comes up with a A: promt thingy....but we can't do much from there.
We tried setup.exe, and all those things -but nothing.. We have looked at
various way to install it..tried many ways - nothing!

Can anyone give me an detailed way to do this? We are totally at lost, on
how to get this computer back up and running. I'm really hopein someone
knows what they are doing, cuz we don't anymore - we are at lost!

Thanks!!

Paula





  #3  
Old August 9th 03, 12:23 AM
skids
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What do you do when the "For Compaq Presario PCs' Only / Microsoft Windows
98se Updates" disk tells you that it will only run from Windows? This after I
fdisked and formated. This is a model 5360.

skids

doS wrote:
http://www.netpathway.com/~kramer/reinstall.html







  #4  
Old August 10th 03, 11:58 PM
Spam Buster
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"HH" wrote in message
news | If you do not have the QuickRestore CDs to restore Win98, you are out of
| luck. The 98SE updates CD only contains the SE updates only. I doubt
Compaq
| still has the QRs with Win 98. You might have to buy your own copy of
Win98
| or possibly Me. Be sure to get the full version, not an upgrade.
| HH
|
|
| "skids" wrote in message
| ...
| What do you do when the "For Compaq Presario PCs' Only / Microsoft
Windows
| 98se Updates" disk tells you that it will only run from Windows? This
| after I
| fdisked and formated. This is a model 5360.
|
| skids
|

Call 1-800-go-compaq

The restore you're running is expecting the necessary bytes on Drive D.

For a full restore you need another CD. Most likely Compaq/HP can still
provide the CD. Probably for the cost of shipping.


SB


  #5  
Old August 12th 03, 02:58 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Unlikely they have ANY Win 98 or 98SE Restore kits still in stock.
HH

"Spam Buster" wrote in message
...
"HH" wrote in message
news | If you do not have the QuickRestore CDs to restore Win98, you are out of
| luck. The 98SE updates CD only contains the SE updates only. I doubt
Compaq
| still has the QRs with Win 98. You might have to buy your own copy of
Win98
| or possibly Me. Be sure to get the full version, not an upgrade.
| HH
|
|
| "skids" wrote in message
| ...
| What do you do when the "For Compaq Presario PCs' Only / Microsoft
Windows
| 98se Updates" disk tells you that it will only run from Windows? This
| after I
| fdisked and formated. This is a model 5360.
|
| skids
|

Call 1-800-go-compaq

The restore you're running is expecting the necessary bytes on Drive D.

For a full restore you need another CD. Most likely Compaq/HP can still
provide the CD. Probably for the cost of shipping.


SB




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game freezes system - possible ATI issue? Blaedmon Ati Videocards 1 February 12th 05 05:20 PM
On the brink of madness... I.C. Koets General 18 January 31st 05 10:49 PM
"Operating System Not Found" - revisited seabat Homebuilt PC's 4 December 4th 04 01:25 PM
ABIT VP6 "ERROR LOADING OPERATING SYSTEM" revised SiLapuLapu Homebuilt PC's 0 October 14th 03 10:58 PM
Cooling Questions Peter Cavan General 35 September 2nd 03 06:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.