A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

CPU upgrade 2.4 to 3.06 = new XP?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 5th 04, 06:13 AM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default CPU upgrade 2.4 to 3.06 = new XP?

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike


  #2  
Old April 5th 04, 07:36 AM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks BIOS, sorry

"John Smith" wrote in message
...
I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems

began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike




  #3  
Old April 5th 04, 08:29 AM
Ghostrider
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


John Smith wrote:

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike



If Windows XP borrows a page from the Windows NT/2000 playbook,
then the HAL is for a multi-processor machine is different from
that of a uniprocessor machine. A HT CPU would force a re-install
(or repair) to replace the single processor HAL. (HAL==Hardware
Abstraction Layer.)

  #4  
Old April 5th 04, 08:45 AM
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , "John Smith"
wrote:

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike


Does this have something to do with the HAL used on the OS install ?
This article mentions the types, and maybe the multiprocessor
version is required ?

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=234558

The other possibility is you have one of the boards that cannot
handle a 3.06GHz processor. Possibly a Vcore power problem.
Search in groups.google.com for "P4T533 Serial Number" to see
the comments about production date and the possibilities of
running a 3.06GHz properly. Look at the bottom of this post
for a sample comment:

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...rr.com&rnum=11

The theory goes, that the more power drawn from an early rev
board, the more unstable it gets. Disabling HT might cut the
power a bit, for example. Or reducing the FSB etc. If the
board is still under warranty, you might RMA it to get one
that will work with a 3.06GHz HT processor.

HTH,
Paul
  #5  
Old April 5th 04, 10:49 AM
Hawkeye
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Were you running Intel Application Accelerator prior to installing the
3.06 CPU? If not you need to now that you are running it. Not sure
if this will help the situation tho.










--
______________________________

ASUS P4T533 / P4 2.8 @ 3.0 GHz
ASUS Ti 4600 / 1 Gig 1066MHz
RAMBUS / Audigy 2 / XP Home
  #6  
Old April 5th 04, 10:53 AM
Hawkeye
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Also refer to the following post in this group

Asus P4T533 memory and stability problems
Date: 2 Apr 2004 06:34:46 -0800










--
______________________________

ASUS P4T533 / P4 2.8 @ 3.0 GHz
ASUS Ti 4600 / 1 Gig 1066MHz
RAMBUS / Audigy 2 / XP Home
  #7  
Old April 6th 04, 08:08 AM
Jim Davis Nature Photography
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 05 Apr 2004 05:13:06 GMT, "John Smith"
wrote/replied to:

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike


I can tell you that when I changed MBs with the same CPU that I had a
buggar of a time booting. I had to temporarily install another hard
drive. The reason was the I couldn't get the CDRom drive recognized to
reinstall or repair windoze. My old windoze rescue floppy disks
refused to work.

If you're having a problem getting to the point where you can repair
windoze or reinstall from the CDRom, then you might have to install
another HD temporarily. Or in your case, your windoze floppy booter
should work. You did make one, right?


--
Need a brighter headlight the safe way?
Get a MOTORCYCLE HEADLIGHT RELAY KIT at:
http://jimdavis.oberro.com/html/bike_acc_.html
I'm a BMW rider and enthusiast.
  #8  
Old April 6th 04, 10:29 PM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Paul, thanks for that information. The upgrade is more complicated than it
used to be I see. I think I will buy a new hard drive for C and experiment
with this a bit, Thanks for the information, Mike

"Paul" wrote in message
...
In article , "John Smith"
wrote:

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and

was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power

and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems

began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike


Does this have something to do with the HAL used on the OS install ?
This article mentions the types, and maybe the multiprocessor
version is required ?

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=234558

The other possibility is you have one of the boards that cannot
handle a 3.06GHz processor. Possibly a Vcore power problem.
Search in groups.google.com for "P4T533 Serial Number" to see
the comments about production date and the possibilities of
running a 3.06GHz properly. Look at the bottom of this post
for a sample comment:


http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=e...rr.com&rnum=11

The theory goes, that the more power drawn from an early rev
board, the more unstable it gets. Disabling HT might cut the
power a bit, for example. Or reducing the FSB etc. If the
board is still under warranty, you might RMA it to get one
that will work with a 3.06GHz HT processor.

HTH,
Paul



  #9  
Old April 6th 04, 10:29 PM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hawkeye, yes I was running the most current IAA, Thanks, Mike


"Hawkeye" wrote in message
...
Were you running Intel Application Accelerator prior to installing the
3.06 CPU? If not you need to now that you are running it. Not sure
if this will help the situation tho.










--
______________________________

ASUS P4T533 / P4 2.8 @ 3.0 GHz
ASUS Ti 4600 / 1 Gig 1066MHz
RAMBUS / Audigy 2 / XP Home



  #10  
Old April 6th 04, 10:30 PM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jim Thanks, Mike


"Jim Davis Nature Photography" wrote in message
. ne.jp...
On Mon, 05 Apr 2004 05:13:06 GMT, "John Smith"
wrote/replied to:

I thought that I would up my performance so I bought a P4-3.06 HT and was
going to replace the P4-2.4 in my ASUS P4T533 motherboard, which is a
revision 1.03 with BIOS 1.06, heat sink on chipset not fan. PC Power and
Cooling 450 ATX-PFC watt power supply. Well the BOIS recognized it just
fine, XP started once and I was able to see the P4-3.06 showing as 2
processors as it does with an HT cpu, and then all kinds of problems

began,
blue screens, looping restarts, etc. Has anyone ever been successful
upgrading from a non-HT processor to an HT processor? Thanks, Mike


I can tell you that when I changed MBs with the same CPU that I had a
buggar of a time booting. I had to temporarily install another hard
drive. The reason was the I couldn't get the CDRom drive recognized to
reinstall or repair windoze. My old windoze rescue floppy disks
refused to work.

If you're having a problem getting to the point where you can repair
windoze or reinstall from the CDRom, then you might have to install
another HD temporarily. Or in your case, your windoze floppy booter
should work. You did make one, right?


--
Need a brighter headlight the safe way?
Get a MOTORCYCLE HEADLIGHT RELAY KIT at:
http://jimdavis.oberro.com/html/bike_acc_.html
I'm a BMW rider and enthusiast.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on box upgrade ur_droll Overclocking AMD Processors 17 June 11th 04 06:50 AM
Upgrade Report [Hardware Tips: Get the Right Hard Drive - 05/11/2004] Ablang General 0 May 16th 04 03:17 AM
CD Writer hangs after failed firmware upgrade Lokke Cdr 17 November 17th 03 10:26 PM
P4 3.06 GHz Temps at 50C idle!!! Justin Horne Overclocking 6 August 24th 03 08:59 PM
Nero 6 - Upgrade confusion.... zero Cdr 1 July 28th 03 06:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.