A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Cdr
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Can't copy Microsoft CDs but I've done it before with Plex and ECDC?Using Liteon and Nero



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 26th 03, 09:06 PM
smh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can't copy Microsoft CDs but I've done it before with Plex and ECDC?Using Liteon and Nero

.. --------------------------------------
Mike Richter, were you born with
"Scam Artist" emblazoned on your face?
--------------------------------------
(Mike Richter, any Material Connection w/ Roxio?)

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm...mindspring.com
(Messages 10, 12 -- 34, 54 -- 69)

( No pipsqueaks have been able to prove ANY of the above is a libel )
( -- despite Mikey's supposed to have proof of misquotes! )


"Digital copy permitted/allowed" flag:
(Just ignore the copyrighted message.)

http://www.cdrfaq.org/faq02.html#S2-11
http://www.cdrfaq.org/faq02.html#S2-25

Don't know why you have troubles making a copy as I have no trouble with
all settings set at the defaults. You may try making an .iso by
[Recorder, Save Track] and have IsoBuster look at it. (Upgrade to
5.5.10.54.)

The red ISO in IsoBuster means ISO file system. There should also be a
sideways chevron symbol () for Joliet file system. (These are
explained in the Help.)

How to do a CD copy
http://nero.com/us/ns4_631939438959507.html


[email protected] wrote:

I'm trying to copy old Microsoft MSDN Library 6.0 discs with a Liteon burner. I did it
before with a Plextor 12/10/32A and bundled ECDC 4 with no problem. I don't think there is
any copy protection since I made copies before without using any special software for copy
protected CDs. The source disc is okay because I just used it to install the MSDN library.
The discs are the original MS discs.

Now I'm using a Liteon 52x24x52 and bundled Nero 5.5.10.9. Nero shows a message saying
they are copyrighted. The discs seem to copy. Nero says the burns completed successfully
but when I look at the discs with Windows Explorer or in DOS they have no files on them.

I tried using the Liteon as the source drive and also an NEC CD reader as the source with
the same results. I had nero "save the data first to the hard drive". I also tried copying
an old copy of the original disc with the same results.

ISO Buster sees Session 1 600.96 MB, Track 1 and the label name but no files. The label
name has ISO next to it in red letters. I don't know what that means.

What am I doing wrong and how can I copy these discs? Maybe I don't know how to use Disc
Copy in Nero properly? Nero's help isn't much help. There's no detail at all.

The CDRs I'm using now are Hewlitt Packard Taiyo Yudens and Kodak Silver plus Gold. I'm
not having any other problems with these discs so I know it's not the CDRs causing the
problem.

I need these copies because when I use the MSDN library, the discs have to be in the
CD-ROM drive (I don't want to use the originals). This is because I'm not doing a full
installation to save hard disk space so data has to be read from discs. My old CDRs were
Sonys and they look like they are going bad. The edges of the discs are discolored.

Thanks.

  #2  
Old November 27th 03, 09:11 AM
smh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

.. --------------------------------------
Mike Richter, were you born with
"Scam Artist" emblazoned on your face?
--------------------------------------
(Mike Richter, any Material Connection w/ Roxio?)

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm...mindspring.com
(Messages 10, 12 -- 34, 54 -- 69)

( No pipsqueaks have been able to prove ANY of the above is a libel )
( -- despite Mikey's supposed to have proof of misquotes! )


[email protected] wrote:
smh wrote:

"Digital copy permitted/allowed" flag:
(Just ignore the copyrighted message.)

http://www.cdrfaq.org/faq02.html#S2-11
http://www.cdrfaq.org/faq02.html#S2-25


This appears to be about audio discs only. I don't know if it appys at all to data discs
like the Nero software disc or the MS Visual C++ discs I tried to copy.


I know. AFAIK, there is no such flag for data cd, yet Nero issues such
message. Nero issues that even for the data cd you make. Think this is
a Nero bug, even though harmless.

Don't know why you have troubles making a copy as I have no trouble with
all settings set at the defaults. You may try making an .iso by
[Recorder, Save Track] and have IsoBuster look at it. (Upgrade to
5.5.10.54.)


I tried this with a copy of Office 97. ISO Buster shows lots of files and folders when I
click on the ISO icon. Below this is the Rock Ridge icon. Clicked on it and see more files
and folders.


Why didn't you try it with the MSDN disc?

The red ISO in IsoBuster means ISO file system. There should also be a
sideways chevron symbol () for Joliet file system. (These are
explained in the Help.)


I see. I had to upgrade to version 1.4 to get the Help.


How to do a CD copy
http://nero.com/us/ns4_631939438959507.html


Thanks Sam. I was using the Wizard in the past for CD copying and it seemed to work but
not anymore. Using the Wizard I was able to copy the Nero disc that came with my CD
writer. I can access files on the disc and the setup program runs so I'm assuming it's a
working copy.

I tried the How To guide as you suggested. As before it seems to write the CDR and tells
me it was successful when it's done. When I try to look at the disc in Windows Explorer I
get a message saying the "drive is not accessable, the drive cannot find the sector
requested". I followed the instructions almost exactly except I didn't check the box for
on the fly copying.

IsoBuster is showing me the ISO symbol with files and directories. Below that I see the
blue chevron for the Juliet file system and when I click on that I don't see any files. On
the original disc (a CDR copy of Nero made with Nero) clicking on the chevron shows me
files.

Why did it work when I copied the Nero disc but now it doesn't work with the MS discs or a
copy of the Nero disc? The only difference I can think of is I installed MS Visual C++ 6.0
but I don't think that would cause this problem.


That could have an effect. Some .dll's might have been
modified/replaced from the one's Nero was using, like Nero was using
older/newer version than that of VC++6.

I don't know what to try next.


Well, there's always the uninstall/reinstall 5.5.10.54.


[email protected] wrote:

I'm trying to copy old Microsoft MSDN Library 6.0 discs with a Liteon burner. I did it
before with a Plextor 12/10/32A and bundled ECDC 4 with no problem. I don't think there is
any copy protection since I made copies before without using any special software for copy
protected CDs. The source disc is okay because I just used it to install the MSDN library.
The discs are the original MS discs.

Now I'm using a Liteon 52x24x52 and bundled Nero 5.5.10.9. Nero shows a message saying
they are copyrighted. The discs seem to copy. Nero says the burns completed successfully
but when I look at the discs with Windows Explorer or in DOS they have no files on them.

I tried using the Liteon as the source drive and also an NEC CD reader as the source with
the same results. I had nero "save the data first to the hard drive". I also tried copying
an old copy of the original disc with the same results.

ISO Buster sees Session 1 600.96 MB, Track 1 and the label name but no files. The label
name has ISO next to it in red letters. I don't know what that means.

What am I doing wrong and how can I copy these discs? Maybe I don't know how to use Disc
Copy in Nero properly? Nero's help isn't much help. There's no detail at all.

The CDRs I'm using now are Hewlitt Packard Taiyo Yudens and Kodak Silver plus Gold. I'm
not having any other problems with these discs so I know it's not the CDRs causing the
problem.

I need these copies because when I use the MSDN library, the discs have to be in the
CD-ROM drive (I don't want to use the originals). This is because I'm not doing a full
installation to save hard disk space so data has to be read from discs. My old CDRs were
Sonys and they look like they are going bad. The edges of the discs are discolored.

Thanks.

  #3  
Old November 27th 03, 08:27 PM
Crypto
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 27 Nov 2003 14:32:08 GMT, [email protected] wrote:

On Thu, 27 Nov 2003 13:49:35 GMT, [email protected] wrote:


I rebooted and the install of the update went okay. I tried another disc and the same
thing happened. Windows Explorer doesn't give me an error message anymore when
I click on the CD drive. It just doesn't show any files and the properties shows the
amount of space used on the disc. ISOBuster shows pretty much the same thing, space used
andno files. 9 coasters so far. ;-)

It really shouldn't be this complicated to copy an ordinary data CD. :-) I guess I'll try
making a CD from data files just to make sure the burner isn't ****ed up which I guess is
a possibility. I'd appreciate any other suggestions. Maybe I'll try copying a CDR with
some MP3 files on it to try to see if there is anything it will copy. Thanks.


Well the burner seems to be okay. I just made a DAO disc with some files on my hard disk
and I can read them. I think I need a nap for about 20 hours. ;-)


Wish I could help you but I have no idea what you are doing wrong but
you are doing something wrong. I have a MSDN license and have copied
many of the disks for various reasons using EZCD or Nero, versions 5
or 6 of both programs with all sorts of CD burners. The CDs are not
copy protected.
  #4  
Old November 27th 03, 09:15 PM
smh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

.. --------------------------------------
Mike Richter, were you born with
"Scam Artist" emblazoned on your face?
--------------------------------------
(Mike Richter, any Material Connection w/ Roxio?)

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm...mindspring.com
(Messages 10, 12 -- 34, 54 -- 69)

( No pipsqueaks have been able to prove ANY of the above is a libel )
( -- despite Mikey's supposed to have proof of misquotes! )


[email protected] wrote:
smh wrote:

Well, there's always the uninstall/reinstall 5.5.10.54.


True. I guess I'll have to reinstall 5.5.10.9 first since I only have the bundled version.


I tried the reinstall of the version that came with the drive and it was no help. Now
ISOBuster shows data written on the disc but no files.

Next I tried the update. I got an error message during the update saying:

An error has occurred during the copy process (file name: Nero neroshx.dll)
Error 32:
Please reboot your computere and retry.


I rebooted and the install of the update went okay. I tried another disc and the same
thing happened. Windows Explorer doesn't give me an error message anymore when
I click on the CD drive. It just doesn't show any files and the properties shows the
amount of space used on the disc. ISOBuster shows pretty much the same thing, space used
andno files. 9 coasters so far. ;-)


(Use cd-rw until this problem is fixed.)

NEROSHX.DLL (along with NEROCD95.VXD on win9x) implements MultiMounter.
Ahead now has MultiMounter download:
http://www.nero.com/us/ns4_631940720275822.html
(This may already be incorporated in 5.5.10.54.)

Search for CDR4VSD.VXD and delete the ******* if found. Also, run
ROXIZAP (and pray it gets rid of all cRoxio junk):
http://softwareupdates.roxio.com/gm/...ls/roxizap.exe

Uninstall Nero and then run Nero Clean Tool:
http://www.nero.com/us/ns4_631940828445001.html

Reinstall Nero to 5.5.10.54. If still problems, you still have
conflicts,
most likely with cRoxio junk.
  #5  
Old November 28th 03, 05:06 AM
Tim Kroesen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey Dave...Please snip that SMH drivel; most here have him killfiled and
only read his crap when someone floats it en quote.

I'm sure you didn't mean to further spread his now Four Year psychotic
vendetta over a product (and beta tester) he *never even purchased*.
You where of course targeted to do so for him as new here; note how he
posts his spank as a header, while then bottom posting some reply; net
result is a banner used to defame, and you being played to distribute
it.

Tim K

[email protected] wrote in message
...
On Thu, 27 Nov 2003 12:50:43 GMT, [email protected] wrote:

On Thu, 27 Nov 2003 08:11:47 GMT, smh wrote:

Usual Psychosis Snipped-

  #6  
Old November 29th 03, 03:24 AM
Tim Kroesen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There of course is no reason to repeat and perpetuate harassment; please
snip it! If you think they mean nothing perhaps a Four Year campaign
of harassment against YOU personally would change YOUR (lazy assed and
self-centered) view of trimming posts?

We can arrange that here... Just say "GO ROXIO"! g

Tim K

[email protected] wrote in message
...
On Thu, 27 Nov 2003 23:06:19 -0500, "Tim Kroesen"

wrote:

Hey Dave...Please snip that SMH drivel; most here have him killfiled

and
only read his crap when someone floats it en quote.

I'm sure you didn't mean to further spread his now Four Year

psychotic
vendetta over a product (and beta tester) he *never even purchased*.
You where of course targeted to do so for him as new here; note how

he
posts his spank as a header, while then bottom posting some reply;

net
result is a banner used to defame, and you being played to

distribute
it.

Tim K


Snip out the spank? I don't know, it doesn't really seem worth the

effort. I rarely snip
anything partly for that reason. I think you guys take this stuff too

seriously. Never
take insults seriously on the internet. If you do then the other

person wins, not that I
necessarily practice what I preach but I'm working on it. :-)

I'm not new here BTW. I've been here almost 3 years.



  #7  
Old November 29th 03, 07:05 AM
smh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

.. --------------------------------------
Mike Richter, were you born with
"Scam Artist" emblazoned on your face?
--------------------------------------
(Mike Richter, any Material Connection w/ Roxio?)

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm...mindspring.com
(Messages 10, 12 -- 34, 54 -- 69)

( No pipsqueaks have been able to prove ANY of the above is a libel )
( -- despite Mikey's supposed to have proof of misquotes! )


[email protected] wrote:
smh wrote:

Well, there's always the uninstall/reinstall 5.5.10.54.

True. I guess I'll have to reinstall 5.5.10.9 first since I only have the bundled version.


I tried the reinstall of the version that came with the drive and it was no help. Now
ISOBuster shows data written on the disc but no files.

Next I tried the update. I got an error message during the update saying:

An error has occurred during the copy process (file name: Nero neroshx.dll)
Error 32:
Please reboot your computere and retry.


I rebooted and the install of the update went okay. I tried another disc and the same
thing happened. Windows Explorer doesn't give me an error message anymore when
I click on the CD drive. It just doesn't show any files and the properties shows the
amount of space used on the disc. ISOBuster shows pretty much the same thing, space used
andno files. 9 coasters so far. ;-)


(Use cd-rw until this problem is fixed.)

NEROSHX.DLL (along with NEROCD95.VXD on win9x) implements MultiMounter.
Ahead now has MultiMounter download:
http://www.nero.com/us/ns4_631940720275822.html
(This may already be incorporated in 5.5.10.54.)

Search for CDR4VSD.VXD and delete the ******* if found. Also, run
ROXIZAP (and pray it gets rid of all cRoxio junk):
http://softwareupdates.roxio.com/gm/...ls/roxizap.exe

Uninstall Nero and then run Nero Clean Tool:
http://www.nero.com/us/ns4_631940828445001.html


The clean tool is supposed to uninstall the Nero programs for you. Are you saying I should
still uninstall Nero from Add/Remove programs and they run the Clean Tool?

From the link you gave me:
Double click the EXE file to start the program. Select the option: Clean All and then
click on the "Clean Button". All Nero programs will be deinstalled. After that please
restart your computer so all registry entries will be removed.


Running Nero Clean Tool after Add/Remove is a sort of insurance, and
should remove any remnants left behind by Add/Remove (if it works as
advertised).


Reinstall Nero to 5.5.10.54. If still problems, you still have
conflicts,
most likely with cRoxio junk.

  #8  
Old November 30th 03, 12:52 AM
smh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

.. --------------------------------------
Mike Richter, were you born with
"Scam Artist" emblazoned on your face?
--------------------------------------
(Mike Richter, any Material Connection w/ Roxio?)

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm...mindspring.com
(Messages 10, 12 -- 34, 54 -- 69)

( No pipsqueaks have been able to prove ANY of the above is a libel )
( -- despite Mikey's supposed to have proof of misquotes! )


[email protected] wrote:
smh wrote:

Search for CDR4VSD.VXD and delete the ******* if found. Also, run
ROXIZAP (and pray it gets rid of all cRoxio junk):
http://softwareupdates.roxio.com/gm/...ls/roxizap.exe

Uninstall Nero and then run Nero Clean Tool:
http://www.nero.com/us/ns4_631940828445001.html

Reinstall Nero to 5.5.10.54. If still problems, you still have
conflicts, most likely with cRoxio junk.


Good news. It worked. It must have been poop left behind by ECDC 4. Now I can finally copy
CDs again. Life is good. That should be the last tremendous pain in the ass for me
courtesy of cRoxio. :-) I'll never install their rotten software again. Thanks Sam.


Happy Burning!
  #9  
Old December 1st 03, 04:02 AM
Tim Kroesen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

All smoke and no substance to your crack-head 'argument'.

Why quote what you clearly know via Three claimed Years here is nothing
but harassing crap unrelated to your question???

Oh; you're lazy and I'm a bad guy for calling you on it.

Tim K

[email protected] wrote in message
...
On Fri, 28 Nov 2003 21:24:34 -0500, "Tim Kroesen"

wrote:

There of course is no reason to repeat and perpetuate harassment;

please
snip it! If you think they mean nothing perhaps a Four Year campaign
of harassment against YOU personally would change YOUR (lazy assed

and
self-centered) view of trimming posts?

We can arrange that here... Just say "GO ROXIO"! g


With your attitude I can see why he is doing it. If he bothers you I

hope he continues for
another four years.



  #10  
Old December 2nd 03, 06:02 AM
Tim Kroesen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

....seems to me your the guy who's now bugged...g But *I* take no
enjoyment...

Tim K

[email protected] wrote in message
news Jada Jada Zing Snipped-

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice Please: The Importance of Hard Drive RPMs Darren Harris Homebuilt PC's 95 August 24th 04 11:16 PM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
My system seems to "recover" with great frequency Louise Homebuilt PC's 3 May 17th 04 06:02 AM
Machine seems slow. [email protected] General 12 January 20th 04 01:13 PM
Flood of virus and patch warnings from Microsoft. Is a new worm loose or is it spam? Phil Weldon Overclocking 28 September 21st 03 05:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.