A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Compaq 4/25c



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 27th 10, 03:21 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
mc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 188
Default Compaq 4/25c

I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works
fine. This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a
standard phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an
expansion module, whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this
computer but if anyone has one I would sure like a copy.
thanks mc
  #2  
Old January 29th 10, 07:14 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
mc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 188
Default Compaq 4/25c

On Jan 27, 10:21*am, mc wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works
fine. This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a
standard phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an
expansion module, whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this
computer but if anyone has one I would sure like a copy.
thanks mc


As a side note the second plug in has 8 conductors as though it were a
network plug, but a standard data plug does not fit..
mc
  #3  
Old February 28th 10, 06:54 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Postman Delivers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 20
Default Compaq 4/25c

On Fri, 29 Jan 2010 11:14:32 -0800, mc wrote:

On Jan 27, 10:21*am, mc wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works fine.
This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a standard
phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an expansion module,
whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this computer but if anyone
has one I would sure like a copy. thanks mc


As a side note the second plug in has 8 conductors as though it were a
network plug, but a standard data plug does not fit.. mc

mc,

Reading this link, maybe it is a com port for an external modem...
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/12534-2-tomshardware

JR the postman
  #4  
Old March 1st 10, 01:20 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Phil Gilmer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Compaq 4/25c

Postman Delivers wrote:

On Fri, 29 Jan 2010 11:14:32 -0800, mc wrote:

On Jan 27, 10:21 am, mc wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works fine.
This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a standard
phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an expansion module,
whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this computer but if anyone
has one I would sure like a copy. thanks mc

As a side note the second plug in has 8 conductors as though it were a
network plug, but a standard data plug does not fit.. mc

mc,

Reading this link, maybe it is a com port for an external modem...
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/12534-2-tomshardware

JR the postman


Modems of that era typically had a 2nd com port so that you could plug
the phone back in where you had presumably unplugged it to use the
modem. Note, if you do try this, note that the phone must be on-hook for
the modem to work. If you aren't using the modem, you should get dial
tone when you pick up the phone.

Phil
  #5  
Old March 1st 10, 01:29 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Phil Gilmer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Compaq 4/25c

Phil Gilmer wrote:


Postman Delivers wrote:

On Fri, 29 Jan 2010 11:14:32 -0800, mc wrote:

On Jan 27, 10:21 am, mc wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works fine.
This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a standard
phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an expansion module,
whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this computer but if anyone
has one I would sure like a copy. thanks mc
As a side note the second plug in has 8 conductors as though it were a
network plug, but a standard data plug does not fit.. mc

mc,

Reading this link, maybe it is a com port for an external modem...
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/12534-2-tomshardware

JR the postman


Modems of that era typically had a 2nd com port so that you could plug
the phone back in where you had presumably unplugged it to use the
modem. Note, if you do try this, note that the phone must be on-hook for
the modem to work. If you aren't using the modem, you should get dial
tone when you pick up the phone.

Phil


Sorry, that should be a second MODEM CONNECTOR!
  #6  
Old March 9th 10, 12:35 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
mc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 188
Default Compaq 4/25c

On Feb 28, 8:29*pm, Phil Gilmer wrote:
Phil Gilmer wrote:

Postman Delivers wrote:


On Fri, 29 Jan 2010 11:14:32 -0800, mc wrote:


On Jan 27, 10:21 am, mc wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works fine.
This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a standard
phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an expansion module,
whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this computer but if anyone
has one I would sure like a copy. thanks mc
As a side note the second plug in has 8 conductors as though it were a
network plug, but a standard data plug does not fit.. mc
mc,


Reading this link, maybe it is a com port for an external modem...
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/12534-2-tomshardware


JR the postman


Modems of that era typically had a 2nd com port so that you could plug
the phone back in where you had presumably unplugged it to use the
modem. Note, if you do try this, note that the phone must be on-hook for
the modem to work. If you aren't using the modem, you should get dial
tone when you pick up the phone.


Phil


Sorry, that should be a second MODEM CONNECTOR!- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -


thanks JR and Phil, I wonder how I can find one of these plugs? it is
mostly a rectangular shaped plug in, but with one side higher and the
other side slightly lower than a standard network connector
mc
  #7  
Old March 9th 10, 09:47 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ann4369
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Compaq 4/25c


mc;892850 Wrote:
I have a compaq 4/25c with a 2818 speedpaq 14.4 modem which works
fine. This modem has 2 plug ins. What is the 2nd plug in for (not a
standard phone plug)? I see on the web they call this modem an
expansion module, whatever that means. I have no manuaks for this
computer but if anyone has one I would sure like a copy.
thanks mc


Just say hello to everyone. I'm a lovely girl from Beijing, China.




--
Ann4369
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq Smart Array 2P in a non-Compaq machine? Jason Arthurs Compaq Servers 4 September 23rd 05 10:09 AM
compaq user diagnostics diskette for compaq deskpro 4000 naresh ghanghas Compaq Computers 6 April 27th 05 07:50 PM
Anyone here know who oems the Compaq 041Ch motherboard for Compaq? GMAN Compaq Computers 3 July 1st 04 10:55 AM
config a compaq array 3200 in a non compaq pc? David Bartram Compaq Computers 2 August 16th 03 12:23 AM
config a compaq array 3200 in a non compaq pc? David Bartram Compaq Servers 2 August 16th 03 12:23 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.