A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Dell Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Going to install fresh



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 5th 06, 08:15 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey
  #2  
Old May 5th 06, 02:03 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

Hi Journey,

I can't answer your question but I have a couple of my own.

Why aren't the drivers on the install disk provided by Dell?
How do you know which drivers to download?

Clark

"journey" wrote in message
...
My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey



  #3  
Old May 5th 06, 02:15 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh


"journey" wrote in message
...
My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey



- Legally no.
- Practically, probably no.

MCE is different from Dell's version of Home and Pro in that it isn't BIOS
locked and will still require a proper key



  #4  
Old May 5th 06, 02:51 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

They never are. They'd have to cut new disks daily.

You just download the latest ones from support.dell.com

"Clark Martin" wrote in message
.. .
Hi Journey,

I can't answer your question but I have a couple of my own.

Why aren't the drivers on the install disk provided by Dell?
How do you know which drivers to download?

Clark

"journey" wrote in message
...
My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey





  #5  
Old May 5th 06, 03:06 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

Uh, Tom. My MCE DVD will install on ANY recent Dell without a key.

Mike


"Tom Scales" wrote in message
.. .


MCE is different from Dell's version of Home and Pro in that it isn't BIOS
locked and will still require a proper key





  #6  
Old May 5th 06, 03:38 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

Really. Mine won't. How interesting. I might have to try it again. Mine
is from my Inspiron 9300, so perhaps it was because I tried it on a desktop,
but.....

Tom
"Mike Marquis" wrote in message
...
Uh, Tom. My MCE DVD will install on ANY recent Dell without a key.

Mike


"Tom Scales" wrote in message
.. .


MCE is different from Dell's version of Home and Pro in that it isn't
BIOS locked and will still require a proper key







  #7  
Old May 5th 06, 05:18 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

Mine too!

"Mike Marquis" wrote in message
...
Uh, Tom. My MCE DVD will install on ANY recent Dell without a key.

Mike


"Tom Scales" wrote in message
.. .


MCE is different from Dell's version of Home and Pro in that it isn't
BIOS locked and will still require a proper key







  #8  
Old May 5th 06, 05:35 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

Yes, you can use whatever install disk you like. There is nothing special
about Dell hardware that would require a specially prepared install CD/DVD.
To save some time, consider partitioning your harddrive and storing all your
drivers on a partition other than C:. That way, you have everything you'll
need on first boot. One more thing: it's always best to start by installing
your chipset drivers, before anything else. On all my machines, Windows is
the only thing I have on my C: drive, in order to simplify the
reformat/reinstall process. Doing this means you never have to worry about
your personal files and data, if you need to do a last minute
reformat/install.

-phil


"journey" wrote in message
...
My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey



  #9  
Old May 5th 06, 06:32 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.dell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Going to install fresh

While that is true, Dell CD/DVDs usually have some drivers slipstreamed.
For example, their SP2 CD has the SATA drivers so you don't have to press F6
and install from floppy.


"Phil" wrote in message
news
Yes, you can use whatever install disk you like. There is nothing special
about Dell hardware that would require a specially prepared install
CD/DVD. To save some time, consider partitioning your harddrive and
storing all your drivers on a partition other than C:. That way, you have
everything you'll need on first boot. One more thing: it's always best to
start by installing your chipset drivers, before anything else. On all my
machines, Windows is the only thing I have on my C: drive, in order to
simplify the reformat/reinstall process. Doing this means you never have
to worry about your personal files and data, if you need to do a last
minute reformat/install.

-phil


"journey" wrote in message
...
My 630m hangs for 75 seconds on the welcome screen right after the
Windows startup music sounds. I don't know what is causing it. I did
logging and the file shows that it is looking for the same drivers
over and over but Google searches didn't help much.

So, I was considering doing installing fresh without the bloatware and
this is a good time.

Basically I think what I need to do is:

- Download the current drivers to CD

- Boot from the install disk which may give me the option to wipe out
my main partition.

- That will install a fresh copy of Windows

- Install drivers.

Does anyone know if I can use an install disk from a different
computer. If I would want XP Media Center on a laptop that currently
has XP Home, can I use the other computers install disk?

Journey





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two memory modules go bad at the same time? Cyde Weys General 36 October 27th 05 01:02 AM
Compaq 5000 series fresh install problem [email protected] Compaq Computers 1 March 3rd 05 03:32 PM
I cant install VIVO for my gforce 4200 Bite Me Nvidia Videocards 1 August 29th 04 04:21 AM
Unable to install Windows 2000 Server on dual CPU 7DPXDW+ Rob Nicholson Gigabyte Motherboards 6 April 13th 04 10:46 PM
How to install 2nd HDD with Partition Magic 6.0 partitions under Windows ME? Phred Dell Computers 13 February 18th 04 08:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.