A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Deskpro BIOS....



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 25th 05, 09:40 PM
Gilbert d
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Deskpro BIOS....

How can you access the BIOS on an old Compaq Deskpro? Already tried the
usual stuff... DEL after POST, F4, F5, F8, F10... Nothing.
Any suggestions
Thanks,
Gilbert


  #2  
Old September 26th 05, 03:03 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If F10 doesn't work, it means the non-DOS setup partition at the front of
the hard drive is damaged or missing. If this is the case, go he

http://h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/

Select your model desktop or notebook and download the Softpaq for Computer
Setup. Run this SoftPaq and it will create a boot floppy from which you can
enter the BIOS. You might want to download the Personal Computer Diagnostics
SoftPaq as well.

HH


"Gilbert d" wrote in message
...
How can you access the BIOS on an old Compaq Deskpro? Already tried the
usual stuff... DEL after POST, F4, F5, F8, F10... Nothing.
Any suggestions
Thanks,
Gilbert



  #3  
Old September 26th 05, 07:04 PM
a
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Gilbert,

on my old laptop it's F2. Don't know when this was changed by Compaq.

Good luck,
Theo

"Gilbert d" wrote in message
...
How can you access the BIOS on an old Compaq Deskpro? Already tried the
usual stuff... DEL after POST, F4, F5, F8, F10... Nothing.
Any suggestions
Thanks,
Gilbert



  #4  
Old September 27th 05, 02:35 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Never F2 on a Compaq. 95% are F10. A few newer Presarios are F1 and one
older Presario series (7100s) were delete. Older DeskPros, Prolineas and
Proliants are all F10.
HH

"a" [email protected] wrote in message
. nl...
Gilbert,

on my old laptop it's F2. Don't know when this was changed by Compaq.

Good luck,
Theo

"Gilbert d" wrote in message
...
How can you access the BIOS on an old Compaq Deskpro? Already tried the
usual stuff... DEL after POST, F4, F5, F8, F10... Nothing.
Any suggestions
Thanks,
Gilbert






  #5  
Old September 27th 05, 08:32 AM
Nicholas D Richards
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , HH
writes
Never F2 on a Compaq. 95% are F10. A few newer Presarios are F1 and one
older Presario series (7100s) were delete. Older DeskPros, Prolineas and
Proliants are all F10.
HH


Yes and some newer Presarios F10 is restore to Factory Setup
(destructive of data). Confusing and not very satisfactory, like top
posting.
--
Nicholas David Richards -

"Oł sont les neiges d'antan?"
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID- Major problem need to save my data MC General 21 December 5th 04 05:38 AM
ASUS PC-DL bios disaster biomorphic Asus Motherboards 3 September 22nd 04 02:11 AM
SP2 865/875 Microcode Industry Failure? Ron Reaugh Asus Motherboards 31 September 13th 04 12:02 PM
Compaq user diagnostics diskette bananaboat Compaq Computers 3 April 21st 04 03:05 AM
AWARD BIOS and big disks support Nexus6 Intel 6 December 9th 03 11:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.