A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Servers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 18th 07, 11:06 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Trojan Hussar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?

I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.

Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?

Many Thanks,
Jason.

  #2  
Old September 18th 07, 09:21 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
peacekeeper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?

On 18 sep, 12:06, Trojan Hussar wrote:
I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.

Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?

Many Thanks,
Jason.


I would say you don't need other VRM's in case you happen to own the
933Mhz already, why don't you try with a single chip? In case it runs
smoothly you have the answer.
As far as I know a VRM is a VRM als long as it's a VRM . At least with
the IBM machines it is.

Finding out about the power consuption of the chip would help you as
well. Keep in mind that you might have to change some settings on the
board.

  #3  
Old September 19th 07, 03:31 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Phil[_9_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?


"peacekeeper" wrote in message
ups.com...
On 18 sep, 12:06, Trojan Hussar wrote:
I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.

Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?

Many Thanks,
Jason.


I would say you don't need other VRM's in case you happen to own the
933Mhz already, why don't you try with a single chip? In case it runs
smoothly you have the answer.
As far as I know a VRM is a VRM als long as it's a VRM . At least with
the IBM machines it is.

Finding out about the power consuption of the chip would help you as
well. Keep in mind that you might have to change some settings on the
board.


A vrm is indeed a vrm, but like a woman they are not all equal.

The "older" G1 (generation 1) Compaq VRM's fall into two categories. First,
a lower current version that was for the P2/400 through the P3/550. The
second version is a higher current version for the P3/600 through P3/1000.
The slowest cpu I've seen in the ML350 is 733 so the vrm that's in there
will work on your 933.

There are quite a few numbers that are interchangeable but The 155681-001
157825-001 is the hi-current version for the 600 through the 1000 MHz cpu's

As long as you don't monkey with any board settings, the server will
auto-find and set itself up for the newer cpu. If you install two cpu's
where it had only one you will have to run the system configuration /setup
program for cpu #2 to be recognized.

I've got gobs of the parts for those older Compaq's including cpu's
500,550,600,667,733,850,933 and 1000's as well as vrm's we have been
unloading. If you need anything let me know.

Phil


  #4  
Old September 19th 07, 03:53 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Phil[_9_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 25
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?


"Phil" wrote in message
. ..

"peacekeeper" wrote in message
ups.com...
On 18 sep, 12:06, Trojan Hussar wrote:
I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.

Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?

Many Thanks,
Jason.


I would say you don't need other VRM's in case you happen to own the
933Mhz already, why don't you try with a single chip? In case it runs
smoothly you have the answer.
As far as I know a VRM is a VRM als long as it's a VRM . At least with
the IBM machines it is.

Finding out about the power consuption of the chip would help you as
well. Keep in mind that you might have to change some settings on the
board.


A vrm is indeed a vrm, but like a woman they are not all equal.

The "older" G1 (generation 1) Compaq VRM's fall into two categories.

First,
a lower current version that was for the P2/400 through the P3/550. The
second version is a higher current version for the P3/600 through

P3/1000.
The slowest cpu I've seen in the ML350 is 733 so the vrm that's in there
will work on your 933.

There are quite a few numbers that are interchangeable but The 155681-001
157825-001 is the hi-current version for the 600 through the 1000 MHz

cpu's

As long as you don't monkey with any board settings, the server will
auto-find and set itself up for the newer cpu. If you install two cpu's
where it had only one you will have to run the system configuration /setup
program for cpu #2 to be recognized.

I've got gobs of the parts for those older Compaq's including cpu's
500,550,600,667,733,850,933 and 1000's as well as vrm's we have been
unloading. If you need anything let me know.

Phil


Just checked the 330638-001 that you have now is for the P3/400 through
P3/600.


  #5  
Old September 19th 07, 01:15 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Trojan Hussar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?

On 18 Sep, 21:21, peacekeeper wrote:
On 18 sep, 12:06, Trojan Hussar wrote:

I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.


Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?


Many Thanks,
Jason.


I would say you don't need other VRM's in case you happen to own the
933Mhz already, why don't you try with a single chip? In case it runs
smoothly you have the answer.
As far as I know a VRM is a VRM als long as it's a VRM . At least with
the IBM machines it is.

Finding out about the power consuption of the chip would help you as
well. Keep in mind that you might have to change some settings on the
board.


I think from experience the cut off appears to be the 600MHz PIII
boundary, for some reason (probably power consumption) 600MHz PIII's
require different VRMs. I've now found a couple of references to
933MHz PIII processors being used with 155681-001 so I think I'll go
with them for now!

Many Thanks,
Jason

  #6  
Old September 19th 07, 04:54 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers
Jez T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 101
Default Any know the compaq part number for a VRM for an ML350?


"Trojan Hussar" wrote in message
ups.com...
I have a ML350 (G1) which is currently running a single PIII 600
(133MHz FSB), and it uses a VRM with the part numbers
330638-001/329267-001. I'm planning to drop a pair of 933MHz PIIIs
into it but will need a pair of VRMs for the new processors? I believe
I need a pair 155681-001 but I cannot find a definitive answer as to
if this is the correct model.

Anyone have any idea of the part numbers I need?

Many Thanks,
Jason.

I thought the correct terminology was a Processor Power Module (PPM)

Use this:
http://partsurfer.hp.com/cgi-bin/spi/main

157825-001 Processor power module

?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq ML350 G2 Kernel Panic Maartens Compaq Servers 2 December 1st 06 10:47 PM
Compaq ML350 g2 with LC2 raid need Array config tool Michael Jenkin Compaq Servers 2 July 6th 04 05:33 PM
problem with compaq proliant ml350 kuba Compaq Computers 1 February 17th 04 04:44 PM
problem with compaq proliant ml350 kuba Compaq Servers 1 February 17th 04 04:44 PM
Need Part Number Steve K Compaq Computers 1 December 24th 03 04:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.