A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

access to hard drive not recognised by bios



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 8th 06, 02:47 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
peyoting
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and SO
began to boot, but next to it system reboots.

Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont
listen noise.

any tool could access to hd without bios support ?

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.


  #2  
Old August 8th 06, 02:58 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
peyoting
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd model)?

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd



"peyoting" escribió en el mensaje
s...
I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and SO
began to boot, but next to it system reboots.

Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont
listen noise.

any tool could access to hd without bios support ?

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.




  #3  
Old August 8th 06, 06:44 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,416
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

On Tue, 08 Aug 2006 13:58:56 GMT, "peyoting"
wrote:

"peyoting" escribió en el mensaje
. es...
I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and SO
began to boot, but next to it system reboots.

Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont
listen noise.

any tool could access to hd without bios support ?

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.


is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd model)?

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd




You need another hard drive or another entire system with a
HDD already in it, that other HDD having enough free space
to hold all the data you need to get off of the failing
drive.

The other hard drive or entire other system is used to run
the operating system you will use to copy off the data and
your failing drive is only used passively- as storage, not
to boot the operating system.

If the bios can't detect the failing drive AND you are sure
it is the drive failing and not a bios or motherboard
problem, then no other readily available tool could do it
either as they would have to do the same thing the bios
does, communicate with the hard drive which is not
functioning correctly.

You would try to boot the system and if/when you get the HDD
to detect, you then copy off as much data as you can as it
might fail at any moment. You should refrain from trying to
use the drive at all, don't even have it powered at all,
until you have the other system or hard drive set up and
working.
  #4  
Old August 8th 06, 08:13 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,559
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd model)?


Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd


You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote


I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and SO began to
boot, but next to it system reboots.


Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont listen noise.


any tool could access to hd without bios support ?


If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.



  #5  
Old August 9th 06, 12:27 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Alan Kakareka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.

absolutely true.

p.s. rod speed, gavarish po ruski ?

--
Alan Kakareka
Data Recovery Service
786-253-8286 cell
http://www.247recovery.com
--
"Rod Speed" wrote in message
...
peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd model)?


Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd


You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote


I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and
SO began to boot, but next to it system reboots.


Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont
listen noise.


any tool could access to hd without bios support ?



the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.



  #6  
Old August 9th 06, 01:53 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,559
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

Alan Kakareka wrote:

If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.


absolutely true.


p.s. rod speed, gavarish po ruski ?


Fraid not.

--
Alan Kakareka
Data Recovery Service
786-253-8286 cell
http://www.247recovery.com
peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd
model)?


Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd


You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote


I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it
and SO began to boot, but next to it system reboots.


Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because
i dont listen noise.


any tool could access to hd without bios support ?



the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.



  #7  
Old August 9th 06, 07:40 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
peyoting
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

I have some question about the hd electronic part:

the bios communicate with hd trough mainboard ide controller, its possible
send commands to ide controller or view the process of detection of hd?

are there cmos or flash or other rewritable chip?

Always i hd a bad hd it made a "klok noise when spin up" but make no noise.

Today i going to try put another electronic board from other hd.

thnks


"Rod Speed" escribió en el mensaje
...
peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd model)?


Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd


You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote


I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it and
SO began to boot, but next to it system reboots.


Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because i dont
listen noise.


any tool could access to hd without bios support ?


If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.





  #8  
Old August 9th 06, 07:56 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,559
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

peyoting wrote:

I have some question about the hd electronic part:


the bios communicate with hd trough mainboard ide controller,


Yes.

its possible send commands to ide controller


Not unless you write the code to do that.

or view the process of detection of hd?


Npe.

are there cmos or flash or other rewritable chip?


Yes, there drive is usually flashable, or at
least has the firmware on the the platters.

Always i hd a bad hd it made a "klok noise when spin up"


Thats the drive recalibrating.

but make no noise.


Thats not usual if it doesnt spin up at all.

Today i going to try put another electronic board from other hd.



"Rod Speed" escribió en el mensaje
...
peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd
model)?


Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd


You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote


I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it
and SO began to boot, but next to it system reboots.


Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because
i dont listen noise.


any tool could access to hd without bios support ?


If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.



  #9  
Old August 9th 06, 08:55 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
peyoting
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

I 've changed the electronic board with positive result.
Now the hd is running and i'm copying important data to other hd, and after
it i will send the bad hd to vendor.

My hd is a western digital WD400, and in the bad board i don't see any fuse
or chip burned...my good luck is having another same model hd






"Rod Speed" escribió en el mensaje
...
peyoting wrote:

I have some question about the hd electronic part:


the bios communicate with hd trough mainboard ide controller,


Yes.

its possible send commands to ide controller


Not unless you write the code to do that.

or view the process of detection of hd?


Npe.

are there cmos or flash or other rewritable chip?


Yes, there drive is usually flashable, or at
least has the firmware on the the platters.

Always i hd a bad hd it made a "klok noise when spin up"


Thats the drive recalibrating.

but make no noise.


Thats not usual if it doesnt spin up at all.

Today i going to try put another electronic board from other hd.



"Rod Speed" escribió en el mensaje
...
peyoting wrote:

is possible change the hd electronic board for other (same hd
model)?

Yes, but that doesnt always work.

i want recover data and after it i will buy a new hd

You can also use a recovery operation like www.retrodata.co.uk,
the price isnt as bad as the worst of them.


peyoting wrote

I've a hard drive that began to fail, sometimes bios recognised it
and SO began to boot, but next to it system reboots.

Now none computer find it. I'm think that hd don't spin, because
i dont listen noise.

any tool could access to hd without bios support ?

If it doesnt spin up, no software can access the data.

the hd is a western digital caviar 40gb ide.





  #10  
Old August 9th 06, 11:20 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Alan Kakareka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default access to hard drive not recognised by bios

"Rod Speed" wrote in message
...
peyoting wrote:

I have some question about the hd electronic part:


the bios communicate with hd trough mainboard ide controller,


Yes.

its possible send commands to ide controller


Not unless you write the code to do that.

or view the process of detection of hd?


Npe.


Yes,
Seagate, Toshiba - easily, with built in TMOS, other brands - more complex

are there cmos or flash or other rewritable chip?


Yes, there drive is usually flashable, or at
least has the firmware on the the platters.


There are serial, parallel flashes, firmware is on the platters, HDD`s
microprocessor and inside flash

Always i hd a bad hd it made a "klok noise when spin up"


Thats the drive recalibrating.

but make no noise.


??????

HDD recalibrates when powered on, later it constantly recalibrates according
to working temperature

Thats not usual if it doesnt spin up at all.

Today i going to try put another electronic board from other hd.


good,
let us know when you have any news.

--
Alan Kakareka
Data Recovery Service
786-253-8286 cell
http://www.247recovery.com
--


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Harddrives whilst PC includes a RAID Array D Storage (alternative) 10 November 24th 05 11:05 PM
how to test psu and reset to cmos to default Tanya General 23 February 7th 05 09:56 AM
Primary Hard Disk Drive 1 Not Found brandon General Hardware 5 July 18th 04 11:39 PM
Removable Drive Bays Rod Speed Storage (alternative) 35 January 3rd 04 08:31 PM
Multi-boot Windows XP without special software Timothy Daniels General 11 December 12th 03 05:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.