A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Armada 1750 - service partition not installable



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 4th 04, 01:13 PM
Joachim Gnauk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Armada 1750 - service partition not installable

Hi,

since some weeks I own a Compaq Armada 1750 notebook. When I bought it, the
service partition of the hard disk was missing. So there is no BIOS access
for me in the moment. On the HP/Compaq website, I found a tool which
created a bootdisk to setup the service partition again but while booting
from the floppy disk, it stops with the error message
"An error occured while loading". First I assumed that the floppy drive was
defect, but trying to boot from CD with the same image caused the same
error. What else can I do? Probabely the Image is - although downloaded
from the HP/Compaq Server - broken. Does anyone have this tool (SP8975) and
could boot with it without problems?

Thank you all in advance,

Joachim

  #2  
Old May 4th 04, 08:50 PM
David
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sounds like maybe a bad download? sp8975.exe should have a file size of
1441312 bytes. I've used it with no problems.

"Joachim Gnauk" wrote in message
...
Hi,

since some weeks I own a Compaq Armada 1750 notebook. When I bought it,

the
service partition of the hard disk was missing. So there is no BIOS access
for me in the moment. On the HP/Compaq website, I found a tool which
created a bootdisk to setup the service partition again but while booting
from the floppy disk, it stops with the error message
"An error occured while loading". First I assumed that the floppy drive

was
defect, but trying to boot from CD with the same image caused the same
error. What else can I do? Probabely the Image is - although downloaded
from the HP/Compaq Server - broken. Does anyone have this tool (SP8975)

and
could boot with it without problems?

Thank you all in advance,

Joachim



  #3  
Old May 5th 04, 02:56 PM
Joachim Gnauk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

David wrote:
Sounds like maybe a bad download? sp8975.exe should have a file size of
1441312 bytes. I've used it with no problems.


Thank you for your help. No, that's exactly the file size I've got. I hope
it's not the BIOS itself keeping me from the BIOS access. :-( BTW: the BIOS
Update (and also the restore) works fine, also the diagnosis floppy disk.

Joachim
  #4  
Old May 5th 04, 07:51 PM
David
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

When you boot with the diskette does it load all the way to the
run/install/exit screen? If not, I would try downloading the file again even
though the one you have is the correct size. If the run option works but not
the install option I would suspect an HD issue of some kind. Using the run
option from the diskette is the same thing as using f10 when the setup
partition is installed on the HD. You could also try clearing the CMOS using
this method..

Compaq FAQ: How do I clear CMOS on my Armada 1700, 1750, and/or my ProSignia
16x, 100, 12x, or 14x? (FAQ5259)
Remove all battery packs from the battery bay and MultiBay, if applicable.
Disconnect the AC power.
Remove the real-time clock battery.
Wait five minutes.
Reconnect the AC power.
Restart the computer. During Power-On Self Test (POST), a "162 System
Options not set" message appears.
Shut down the computer, then disconnect AC power again.
Replace the real-time clock battery.
Install the battery pack(s).

"Joachim Gnauk" wrote in message
...
David wrote:
Sounds like maybe a bad download? sp8975.exe should have a file size of
1441312 bytes. I've used it with no problems.


Thank you for your help. No, that's exactly the file size I've got. I hope
it's not the BIOS itself keeping me from the BIOS access. :-( BTW: the

BIOS
Update (and also the restore) works fine, also the diagnosis floppy disk.

Joachim



  #5  
Old May 6th 04, 12:00 PM
Joachim Gnauk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

David ) wrote in
. net:

When you boot with the diskette does it load all the way to the
run/install/exit screen? If not, I would try downloading the file again
even though the one you have is the correct size. If the run option works
but not the install option I would suspect an HD issue of some kind. Using
the run option from the diskette is the same thing as using f10 when the
setup partition is installed on the HD. You could also try clearing the
CMOS using this method..


I downloaded the setup-tool again, but it is bit-identical with the one I
used. The setup terminates while (or directly after?) loading, so there is
no way to access the BIOS features. Perhaps clearing the CMOS could be a
way, but I am afraid, how I can restore the present state, if it won't
work?

Joachim
--
To send Email, please use gnauk(at)mpie(dot)de
  #6  
Old May 7th 04, 11:11 AM
Joachim Gnauk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

David ) wrote in
. net:

Sounds like maybe a bad download? sp8975.exe should have a file size of
1441312 bytes. I've used it with no problems.


I solved the problem. The file was OK, but the floppy had a physical error,
which was not detected during format. The image on CD hat of course the
same error, because it was taken from the floppy.

Thank you very much for your help,

Jo
--
To send Email, please use gnauk(at)mpie(dot)de
  #7  
Old May 7th 04, 11:25 AM
David
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Great! Glad you got it working..

"Joachim Gnauk" wrote in message
...
David ) wrote in
. net:

Sounds like maybe a bad download? sp8975.exe should have a file size of
1441312 bytes. I've used it with no problems.


I solved the problem. The file was OK, but the floppy had a physical

error,
which was not detected during format. The image on CD hat of course the
same error, because it was taken from the floppy.

Thank you very much for your help,

Jo
--
To send Email, please use gnauk(at)mpie(dot)de



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corrupted partition table - help needed! Justin Case General 0 August 3rd 04 09:22 AM
Partition Hex Codes? NiteWolf1138 General 2 February 11th 04 06:53 PM
Armada 1750 HD issues Tony Rice Compaq Computers 2 September 29th 03 11:39 PM
Armada 1750 NTFS NT4 Helen Compaq Computers 1 September 5th 03 02:37 AM
Compaq Armada 1750 Willard Compaq Computers 0 July 23rd 03 09:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.