A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Compaq Laptop - delete System Save Partition?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 7th 03, 05:00 PM
Rackie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well then be shocked cuz he is totally incorrect. Hey, how many times
have you phone a product tech support person only to find out they
don't know what they are talking about. No wonder is an EX compaq
tech. Maybe the same joker I talked to.


"Tom Scales" wrote:

I'd be absolutely shocked if HH was wrong. He's an ex-Compaq tech and BY FAR
the most useful and helpful person on this newsgroup.

Tom
"HH" wrote in message
.. .
I beg to differ. There is an 1800T-XL1, a CTO (configure to order), but no
1800XL1.In fact there are 4 models of 1800T-XL1, the 450, 500, 600 and

650.
Also there are also other models of 1800T-XLs, the XL2 and XL4. I make

every
effort to get my facts straight. I suggest you do the same before
criticizing others.
HH

"Rackie" wrote in message
...
There most certainly is a 1800XL1. I've had one for 3.5 years now.
Get your facts straight.

Yes, you can delete that partition. I repartitioned my hd into 5
partitions. I've never had to use the restore disk(have heard that
many time they do not work and that don't surprise me) but most likely
it will repartition to the factory settings.


"HH" wrote:

No such animal as an 1800XL1. 1800XL180? XL181? XL190? Anyway, leave it

if
you want to use the Recovery CD to do a full Restore.
HH

"JCH" wrote in message
. ..
I have a Compaq 1800XL1 with two partitions; Local Disk (C and

System
Save
(D. The D: partition takes up about 2.3G of HD space. Can I safely
delete
the D: partition and thus free up more HD space?







  #12  
Old October 7th 03, 05:01 PM
Rackie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh well jch...I guess these folks know it all eh? lol hahahehehohoho
Don't they wish!

"jch" wrote:

Useful or not, he's *wrong* about the 1800XL1. I have had this laptop for 3
or 4 years now and I should know what I own. The laptop plainly says
1800-XL1 on the model/serial number tag. This is ridiculous. Perhaps you'd
like to argue next about what model car I own


"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
I'd be absolutely shocked if HH was wrong. He's an ex-Compaq tech and BY

FAR
the most useful and helpful person on this newsgroup.

Tom
"HH" wrote in message
...
I beg to differ. There is an 1800T-XL1, a CTO (configure to order), but

no
1800XL1.In fact there are 4 models of 1800T-XL1, the 450, 500, 600 and

650.
Also there are also other models of 1800T-XLs, the XL2 and XL4. I make

every
effort to get my facts straight. I suggest you do the same before
criticizing others.
HH

"Rackie" wrote in message
...
There most certainly is a 1800XL1. I've had one for 3.5 years now.
Get your facts straight.

Yes, you can delete that partition. I repartitioned my hd into 5
partitions. I've never had to use the restore disk(have heard that
many time they do not work and that don't surprise me) but most likely
it will repartition to the factory settings.


"HH" wrote:

No such animal as an 1800XL1. 1800XL180? XL181? XL190? Anyway, leave

it
if
you want to use the Recovery CD to do a full Restore.
HH

"JCH" wrote in message
. ..
I have a Compaq 1800XL1 with two partitions; Local Disk (C and

System
Save
(D. The D: partition takes up about 2.3G of HD space. Can I

safely
delete
the D: partition and thus free up more HD space?









  #14  
Old October 7th 03, 05:13 PM
Rackie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here is a portion of a Compaq Support question I submitted to them
about 3 years ago regarding the model of my laptop:
---------
Thank you for using Compaq E-support; it is our pleasure to assist
you.
Based on your inquiry here is a solution for your problem.

I understand that you would like to know what is the specific model of
your unit. According to your serial number, your model unit is an
1800XL1.
---------

Case Closed!

Rackie wrote:

There most certainly is a 1800XL1. I've had one for 3.5 years now.
Get your facts straight.

Yes, you can delete that partition. I repartitioned my hd into 5
partitions. I've never had to use the restore disk(have heard that
many time they do not work and that don't surprise me) but most likely
it will repartition to the factory settings.


"HH" wrote:

No such animal as an 1800XL1. 1800XL180? XL181? XL190? Anyway, leave it if
you want to use the Recovery CD to do a full Restore.
HH

"JCH" wrote in message
...
I have a Compaq 1800XL1 with two partitions; Local Disk (C and System

Save
(D. The D: partition takes up about 2.3G of HD space. Can I safely

delete
the D: partition and thus free up more HD space?



  #15  
Old October 7th 03, 08:30 PM
Godder Teshirt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"HH" wrote in
:

I beg to differ. There is an 1800T-XL1, a CTO (configure to
order), but no 1800XL1.In fact there are 4 models of 1800T-XL1,
the 450, 500, 600 and 650. Also there are also other models of
1800T-XLs, the XL2 and XL4.


Suggest you get onto HP support and have them correct their mistakes
on this web site: http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support.html

Searching on 1800XL1 returns a direct hit i.e.:
http://h20015.www2.hp.com/en/product.jhtml?
lc=en&pagetype=compaqpres95408&submit.y=9&submit.x =7&cc=us

1800T also returns a direct hit.

But 1800T-XL1, 1800T-XL2 and 1800T-XL4 don't return any direct hits.


  #16  
Old October 7th 03, 09:23 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I use the Compaq Consumer TechInfo database, which used to be available on
the Internet, but no longer is. I got a copy on CD from contacts at Compaq.
All Pesario 1800 CTO units have a T suffix before the model; however, all
of this has nothing to do with the original poster's query regarding the
System Sav partition on the HD, so I will make no further comments on the
model number aspect.
HH

"Godder Teshirt" wrote in message
...
"HH" wrote in
:

I beg to differ. There is an 1800T-XL1, a CTO (configure to
order), but no 1800XL1.In fact there are 4 models of 1800T-XL1,
the 450, 500, 600 and 650. Also there are also other models of
1800T-XLs, the XL2 and XL4.


Suggest you get onto HP support and have them correct their mistakes
on this web site: http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support.html

Searching on 1800XL1 returns a direct hit i.e.:
http://h20015.www2.hp.com/en/product.jhtml?
lc=en&pagetype=compaqpres95408&submit.y=9&submit.x =7&cc=us

1800T also returns a direct hit.

But 1800T-XL1, 1800T-XL2 and 1800T-XL4 don't return any direct hits.




  #17  
Old October 7th 03, 10:34 PM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I use the Compaq Consumer TechInfo database, which used to be available on
the Internet, but no longer is. I got a copy on CD from contacts at Compaq.


Wow--how much would you charge to burn me a copy? Or is it confidential
information that a non-employee is not supposed to have?

Dale
  #18  
Old October 8th 03, 01:46 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry, Dale. It's not really confidential, but I promised the tech who got
the copy for me that I would not pass it around. He did not request that,
but I made the promise nonetheless.
HH

"DEJ57" wrote in message
...
I use the Compaq Consumer TechInfo database, which used to be available

on
the Internet, but no longer is. I got a copy on CD from contacts at

Compaq.

Wow--how much would you charge to burn me a copy? Or is it confidential
information that a non-employee is not supposed to have?

Dale



  #19  
Old October 8th 03, 04:20 PM
DEJ57
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's not really confidential,

Right. Doubt Compaq sees it that way.
My experience with Compaq is that anything not in the public (published) is
confidential, and doubt that current or former employees are encouraged to pass
them around. Compaq went to the extreme of putting such information under
court protective order in the class action suit.
Might want to keep a lower profile over your having that data base CD and your
use of it. Really doesn't mean squat to me, but just an interesting
observation....

Dale
  #20  
Old October 8th 03, 10:39 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Compaq had it out on the Internet (I posted a link to it in the FAQ I repost
weekly on this NG) for quite a while, so I doubt seriously that Compaq views
its content as "confidential." So, I really do not care if anyone knows I
have it.
HH

"DEJ57" wrote in message
...
It's not really confidential,


Right. Doubt Compaq sees it that way.
My experience with Compaq is that anything not in the public (published)

is
confidential, and doubt that current or former employees are encouraged to

pass
them around. Compaq went to the extreme of putting such information under
court protective order in the class action suit.
Might want to keep a lower profile over your having that data base CD and

your
use of it. Really doesn't mean squat to me, but just an interesting
observation....

Dale



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
Athlon CPU Upgrade in Compaq Laptop Karl North Overclocking AMD Processors 3 June 16th 04 07:52 AM
To All HP & Compaq Laptop Users, please read this Yvo General 4 March 6th 04 03:43 PM
using a laptop as a desktop system.. MrJumbles Homebuilt PC's 5 February 5th 04 02:22 AM
how much can i overclock my computer en how MiniDisc_2k2 Overclocking 2 July 6th 03 12:58 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.