A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 6th 08, 06:31 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
poachedeggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 34
Default SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below

Hello again. With the RAM replaced, and tests checking out, the
Compaq is working fine and I'm sure noticeably smoother. I just
wanted, though, to check something about the RAM I was sent. It says
SFRAM - usually it's SDRAM isn't it? Is this okay? The chip is about
1/8 of an inch bigger but not in any inconvenient direction, but
everything else written on the chip is as SDRAM, I think. No beep
errors occured, and I checked the new (Samsung) chip alone with the
Hyundai original temporarily removed.

Thanks.
  #2  
Old December 6th 08, 07:05 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Aldo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below

This is a test reply
Aldo

On Dec 6, 6:31 pm, poachedeggs wrote:
Hello again. With the RAM replaced, and tests checking out, the
Compaq is working fine and I'm sure noticeably smoother. I just
wanted, though, to check something about the RAM I was sent. It says
SFRAM - usually it's SDRAM isn't it? Is this okay? The chip is about
1/8 of an inch bigger but not in any inconvenient direction, but
everything else written on the chip is as SDRAM, I think. No beep
errors occured, and I checked the new (Samsung) chip alone with the
Hyundai original temporarily removed.

Thanks.


  #3  
Old December 6th 08, 11:02 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
poachedeggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 34
Default SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below

Also, if you have any idea about the 2nd half of this enquiry (the
fonts bit, as the icons problem is solved), again many thanks:

http://groups.google.com/group/alt.o...f26f2e6fc05c20


Lee


On Dec 6, 5:31*pm, poachedeggs wrote:
Hello again. *With the RAM replaced, and tests checking out, the
Compaq is working fine and I'm sure noticeably smoother. *I just
wanted, though, to check something about the RAM I was sent. *It says
SFRAM - usually it's SDRAM isn't it? *Is this okay? *The chip is about
1/8 of an inch bigger but not in any inconvenient direction, but
everything else written on the chip is as SDRAM, I think. *No beep
errors occured, and I checked the new (Samsung) chip alone with the
Hyundai original temporarily removed.

Thanks.


  #4  
Old December 7th 08, 12:13 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
poachedeggs
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 34
Default SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below

Oh, I see SFRAM is a "lower-cost alternative" that's "almost as
good". Hopefully there's not a lot of difference in it - especially
on an 8 year-old pc running the current Firefox, Flashplayer and
OpenOffice - as I can't be bothered to return it again, heh.


On Dec 6, 10:02*pm, poachedeggs wrote:
Also, if you have any idea about the 2nd half of this enquiry (the
fonts bit, as the icons problem is solved), again many thanks:

http://groups.google.com/group/alt.o...e_thread/threa...

Lee

On Dec 6, 5:31*pm, poachedeggs wrote:



Hello again. *With the RAM replaced, and tests checking out, the
Compaq is working fine and I'm sure noticeably smoother. *I just
wanted, though, to check something about the RAM I was sent. *It says
SFRAM - usually it's SDRAM isn't it? *Is this okay? *The chip is about
1/8 of an inch bigger but not in any inconvenient direction, but
everything else written on the chip is as SDRAM, I think. *No beep
errors occured, and I checked the new (Samsung) chip alone with the
Hyundai original temporarily removed.


Thanks.- Hide quoted text -


- Show quoted text -


  #5  
Old December 8th 08, 02:59 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
William R. Walsh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 930
Default SFRAM memory chip - following previous post below

Hi!

Hello again. With the RAM replaced, and tests checking out, the
Compaq is working fine and I'm sure noticeably smoother. I just
wanted, though, to check something about the RAM I was sent. It says
SFRAM - usually it's SDRAM isn't it? Is this okay?


I've never heard of SFRAM...and Google was short on relevant hits. As best I
can tell, SFRAM is a type of nonvolatile memory, comparable to SRAM (static
RAM, or memory that holds its contents when power is shut off).

If anything, that would make it a "better" grade of product, as SRAM is
typically much more expensive than conventional DRAM (dynamic RAM) which
does not hold its contents for very long after losing power.

I would not give it a second thought if your Compaq computer seems to
operate normally *and* if it can pass the Memtest program after running for
several hours...possibly overnight.

William


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Observations on a UPS - follow up to a previous post Doc[_2_] General 148 September 3rd 07 01:43 PM
previous post X/P media center will not boot Leanin' Cedar Dell Computers 7 August 5th 07 12:50 PM
Clarification of previous post daveiosys Storage & Hardrives 0 August 22nd 06 08:05 PM
P4C800-E DELUXE ref to previous post jime Asus Motherboards 3 June 12th 05 10:17 AM
previous post about Laserjet not printing to WP10 Yaacov David Shulman Printers 0 October 21st 04 07:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.