A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Power Supply upgrade



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 5th 05, 01:36 PM
Gordon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Power Supply upgrade

I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go with a
second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a better
psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon





  #2  
Old June 5th 05, 01:37 PM
Gordon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually i meant a 6600 not a 6800.


"Gordon" wrote in message
...
I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go with
a second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a
better psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon







  #3  
Old June 5th 05, 03:27 PM
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can't recall the innards of a Presario 6600, but many Presarios used
oddly-shaped power supplies. If the power supply in your system does not
follow a standard form factor and you want to upgrade the wattage, consider
buying a new case with power supply and move the guts from the Presario to the
new case... Ben Myers

On Sun, 05 Jun 2005 12:37:16 GMT, "Gordon" wrote:

Actually i meant a 6600 not a 6800.


"Gordon" wrote in message
.. .
I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go with
a second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a
better psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon








  #4  
Old June 6th 05, 08:38 PM
Kevin Childers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Take a look at www.power-on,com. They have some replacement PSU that offer
higher wattages than the OEMs.

KC

"Gordon" wrote in message
...
I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go with

a
second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a better
psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon







  #5  
Old June 7th 05, 12:57 PM
Gordon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks. Good site. However the units aren't any more powerful than what's
already in there.

Gordon

"Kevin Childers" wrote in message
...
Take a look at www.power-on,com. They have some replacement PSU that
offer
higher wattages than the OEMs.

KC

"Gordon" wrote in message
...
I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on
my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go
with

a second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a
better psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon



  #6  
Old June 7th 05, 06:49 PM
Kevin Childers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Was worth a shot, some Mfgs offer replacement PSUs that have a higher
wattage than the cheaper ones OEMs install. There are other sites out there
that may be of use, check the specs and pictures for a good fit at the
wattage you need.

KC

"Gordon" wrote in message
...
Thanks. Good site. However the units aren't any more powerful than what's
already in there.

Gordon

"Kevin Childers" wrote in message
...
Take a look at www.power-on,com. They have some replacement PSU that
offer
higher wattages than the OEMs.

KC

"Gordon" wrote in message
...
I have a Presario 6000 (6rpxe1) with a 220 watt psu. The fan is gone on
my
ti4200 graphics card and was considering upgrading it. I'd like to go
with

a second tier type card (6800 or x700) but have been told I'll need a
better psu.

Anyone know a psu that will fit and handle any proprietary needs for

the
mobo? Are their any modifications that I may need to perform? Thanks in
advance.

Gordon





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS unit needed for the P4C800E-Deluxe jimbo Asus Motherboards 46 April 12th 05 05:17 PM
GP6-300 Power Supply, Radeon video problem Marty Gateway Computers 2 January 6th 05 02:16 AM
GW Power Supply Feedback RDBrimmer Gateway Computers 0 October 20th 04 07:26 AM
Power Supply Upgrade? May Gateway Computers 1 February 29th 04 05:17 PM
P4C800-E Deluxe/SATA RAID 0/Major System Crash/Recovering Drives Paul Asus Motherboards 12 November 4th 03 05:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.