A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

QuickRestore



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 30th 05, 03:53 PM
Andrew Clark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default QuickRestore

Hello,

I was given a presario to use and I want to see if I can get XP on there
so I can use it as my everyday computer. When I try to use "quick"
restore, it gives me error xxx.xx and says I need to contact compaq
(which i WON'T do). The other option is to do a manual reinstall. I've
done this many times but never with this result. I format the drive and
install win95 (that's the only complete OS I have -- all the rest are
upgrades). On the reboot this is what I get:

While initializing device IOS:
Windows protection error. You need to restart your computer.

I've googled for a solution for this to no avail. I have no idea what's
causing this and I would like to figure it out rather than get rid of the
computer. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Andrew

  #2  
Old May 30th 05, 08:08 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It would help if you would tell us a little more information, such as the
model of computer, the specs, etc.

If you're trying to use the QR disk, it likely requires the D: partition
which I'd bet you chose to blow away.

If so, you have to call Compaq and order the full restore disks.

Not sure why you won't call Compaq. Is it stolen?

Tom
"Andrew Clark" wrote in message
news:[email protected] eranews...
Hello,

I was given a presario to use and I want to see if I can get XP on there
so I can use it as my everyday computer. When I try to use "quick"
restore, it gives me error xxx.xx and says I need to contact compaq
(which i WON'T do). The other option is to do a manual reinstall. I've
done this many times but never with this result. I format the drive and
install win95 (that's the only complete OS I have -- all the rest are
upgrades). On the reboot this is what I get:

While initializing device IOS:
Windows protection error. You need to restart your computer.

I've googled for a solution for this to no avail. I have no idea what's
causing this and I would like to figure it out rather than get rid of the
computer. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Andrew



  #3  
Old May 30th 05, 08:14 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Andrew,
I just ran into this same problem. When booting with the restore disk
make sure the num lock light is on. When the Quick restore box shows up
and starts flashing hit the Caps lock button. When the box stops
flashing hit the num lock button. When the language screen comes up
choose your language. When you get the next screen asking to hit any
key press Ctrl+Q. The screen will then have at the top "quick restore
(Q)". Follow the rest of the normal installation instructions. The
error is caused by an incomplete restore attempt.

  #4  
Old May 31st 05, 02:03 PM
Andrew Clark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tom Scales" wrote in
:

It would help if you would tell us a little more information, such as
the model of computer, the specs, etc.

If you're trying to use the QR disk, it likely requires the D:
partition which I'd bet you chose to blow away.

If so, you have to call Compaq and order the full restore disks.

Not sure why you won't call Compaq. Is it stolen?

Tom



No, it's not stolen. My girlfriend's aunt gave it to me because she had
no use for it. The first thing I do when I get a new computer is to
reformat and reinstall Windows.

The problem here was Windows 95's incompatability with the AMD K6. I
looked for and found a solution on Compaq's site about it.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/support/te...ories/DB010327
_CW01_2.html

Andrew

  #5  
Old May 31st 05, 11:59 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Andrew Clark" wrote in message
news:[email protected] eranews...
"Tom Scales" wrote in
:

It would help if you would tell us a little more information, such as
the model of computer, the specs, etc.

If you're trying to use the QR disk, it likely requires the D:
partition which I'd bet you chose to blow away.

If so, you have to call Compaq and order the full restore disks.

Not sure why you won't call Compaq. Is it stolen?

Tom



No, it's not stolen. My girlfriend's aunt gave it to me because she had
no use for it. The first thing I do when I get a new computer is to
reformat and reinstall Windows.

The problem here was Windows 95's incompatability with the AMD K6. I
looked for and found a solution on Compaq's site about it.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/support/te...ories/DB010327
_CW01_2.html

Andrew


Great, glad you found the answer. Windows 95 has a similar problem on a
Pentium-4.

I am curious, though, why you wouldn't call Compaq?

Sorry about the stolen comment.

Tom


  #6  
Old June 2nd 05, 01:13 PM
Andrew Clark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Tom Scales" wrote in news:b%5ne.88762$IO.34765
@tornado.tampabay.rr.com:


Great, glad you found the answer. Windows 95 has a similar problem on a
Pentium-4.

I am curious, though, why you wouldn't call Compaq?

Sorry about the stolen comment.

Tom



I like to do these things by myself if I can find a solution. I also make
it a policy to never call technical "help"

Andrew
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq QuickRestore Trick/Solution Mark Compaq Computers 0 September 21st 04 02:22 AM
Compaq QuickRestore Trick/Solution Mark Compaq Computers 0 September 21st 04 02:22 AM
QuickRestore CD Peppo Compaq Computers 3 February 18th 04 12:11 PM
Compaq Presario 5140 QuickRestore??? Marie Compaq Computers 6 February 13th 04 12:01 AM
Compaq 5000T with Quickrestore problem Robert John Compaq Computers 0 October 31st 03 01:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.