A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

need 3 drive ribbon cable



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old May 10th 04, 03:16 AM
Impmon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 9 May 2004 06:24:54 -0400, "HH" wrote:

Uh, an IDE card will not allow 3 drives on a cable any more than your
onboard IDE controller will, so in actuality, it is not an answer either.
Also, many PCs and their OSs react strangely to any more than 4 IDE devices
total.


Not quite. With a second IDE card, you could add 4 more devices.
I've done this before with Win 3.1 and a pile of 120MB hard drives.
As long as the correct drivers are used, no odd behavior should
happen. It's not common though as for most people, 2 ports and 4
drives are usually enough.

The only possible issues with multiple IDE cards is the boot order.
Onboard IDE generally have boot drives only but if there's no onboard
IDE or if it's been disabled and you have 2 or more IDE cards,
figuring which card get sthe boot priority would require a bit of
trial and error.

Dale was politely making a good point.


Yes he was. There is simply no way to get 3 or more IDE devices on
the same IDE port. The OP was being a jerk for insisting the
impossible was possible without closely checking for what it really
was. (SCSI? Or 2 separate cables held together so it appears as one
cable?)
--
To reply, replace digi.mon with tds.net
  #22  
Old May 10th 04, 11:13 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Uh, I was referring to non-ancient OSs. I've seen the squirrelly behavior
with more than 4 IDE devices in Win 95, 98, Me and even 2000 and XP. Raid
controllers are another matter. A standard dual channel IDe controller and a
raid controller often can co-exist peacefully.
HH

"Impmon" wrote in message
...
On Sun, 9 May 2004 06:24:54 -0400, "HH" wrote:

Uh, an IDE card will not allow 3 drives on a cable any more than your
onboard IDE controller will, so in actuality, it is not an answer either.
Also, many PCs and their OSs react strangely to any more than 4 IDE

devices
total.


Not quite. With a second IDE card, you could add 4 more devices.
I've done this before with Win 3.1 and a pile of 120MB hard drives.
As long as the correct drivers are used, no odd behavior should
happen. It's not common though as for most people, 2 ports and 4
drives are usually enough.

The only possible issues with multiple IDE cards is the boot order.
Onboard IDE generally have boot drives only but if there's no onboard
IDE or if it's been disabled and you have 2 or more IDE cards,
figuring which card get sthe boot priority would require a bit of
trial and error.

Dale was politely making a good point.


Yes he was. There is simply no way to get 3 or more IDE devices on
the same IDE port. The OP was being a jerk for insisting the
impossible was possible without closely checking for what it really
was. (SCSI? Or 2 separate cables held together so it appears as one
cable?)
--
To reply, replace digi.mon with tds.net




  #23  
Old May 10th 04, 05:24 PM
Impmon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 10 May 2004 06:13:36 -0400, "HH" wrote:

Uh, I was referring to non-ancient OSs. I've seen the squirrelly behavior
with more than 4 IDE devices in Win 95, 98, Me and even 2000 and XP. Raid
controllers are another matter. A standard dual channel IDe controller and a
raid controller often can co-exist peacefully.


Funny I don't have any problem with my current system: onboard IDE
with 80GB primary, 60GB slave (boot drive), DVD-ROM and DVD burner and
I have a plain vanilla ATA133 card added with 3x 200GB hard drives.
The only odd problem I had in the past 6 months was that one of the
200GB hard drive mysteriously unformatted itself but that was probably
because the file table was being written when a power failure happened
and corrupted the partition data.

Oh yeah I have XP with SP1, older XP can't handle 200GB drives anyway.
--
To reply, replace digi.mon with tds.net
  #24  
Old May 11th 04, 02:34 PM
JHEM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

tele64 wrote:
This group has tried to answer my question but can not....


The group has consistently and correctly answered your question, you simply
refuse to accept the reply you've received!

Regards,

James

Vist the NEW Thinkpad Forums: http://forum.thinkpads.com


  #25  
Old May 14th 04, 07:20 PM
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

First, the other postings are correct. A standard IDE channel handles two, and
no more than two, devices. I have been in this business for many many years,
and I have torn apart, serviced, or built thousands of computers. NEVER have I
seen a 3-device 40-pin IDE cable. If it does exist, it also requires a
non-standard IDE controller of some sort. IDE drives have exactly two device
settings: master & slave. So no more than two devices per cable. SCSI
controllers support up to 7, or even 15, devices depending on the type of SCSI
you have. But SCSI uses 50-pin or 68-pin cables, not 40-pin.

Second, you can add PCI IDE controller cards to a system to expand the number of
IDE channels beyond the usual primary and secondary. I have seen systems with
four IDE channels, two devices each, for a total of eight IDE devices. Even
more are possible.

Third, especially if the system is a Compaq, there is the possibility that the
"floppy" drive is/was an LS120 drive with an IDE connector. LS120 reads and
writes both its own 120MB disk and standard 1.44MB floppy diskettes. A system
with three IDE devices would customarily use two IDE channels and have two
cables.

Rather than simply denying responses, as in the past, how about identifying the
IDE controller card (manufacturer and model) which uses a 3-device cable and
allows 3 devices to be attached? Thanks... Ben Myers

On Mon, 3 May 2004 21:36:19 -0400, "tele64" wrote:

Where can I buy a 3 drive (plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin ribbon cable?

thanks in advance,

tele64



  #26  
Old May 15th 04, 05:19 AM
Ryan 8088
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You're a n00b. It's not nOOb. It's n00b. Sorry. I just had to say it.
"Impmon" wrote in message
news
On Tue, 4 May 2004 21:19:47 -0400, "tele64"
wrote:

you're wrong.


Are you sure? Unless your son uses SCSI setup and has SCSI disk drive
(is there such thing as internal SCSI floppy drive??), there is no way
a floppy drive and hard drive can be on the same cable. Take another
look, maybe it only appeared to be one cable is in fact 2 cables
positioned close together so to fool some nOObs like you.

Better yet, prove you're right by taking picture oif his computer and
posting it so we could look for ourselves.
--
To reply, replace digi.mon with tds.net



  #27  
Old May 15th 04, 09:57 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You sure that nOOb isn't just an overweight n00b?
"Ryan 8088" wrote in message
m...
You're a n00b. It's not nOOb. It's n00b. Sorry. I just had to say it.
"Impmon" wrote in message
news
On Tue, 4 May 2004 21:19:47 -0400, "tele64"
wrote:

you're wrong.


Are you sure? Unless your son uses SCSI setup and has SCSI disk drive
(is there such thing as internal SCSI floppy drive??), there is no way
a floppy drive and hard drive can be on the same cable. Take another
look, maybe it only appeared to be one cable is in fact 2 cables
positioned close together so to fool some nOObs like you.

Better yet, prove you're right by taking picture oif his computer and
posting it so we could look for ourselves.
--
To reply, replace digi.mon with tds.net





  #28  
Old May 16th 04, 05:42 PM
Ryan 8088
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Good point. He's prolly fat as a telly.
"Tom Scales" wrote
in message
...
| You sure that nOOb isn't just an
overweight n00b?
| "Ryan 8088"
wrote in message
|
m...
| You're a n00b. It's not nOOb. It's
n00b. Sorry. I just had to say it.
| "Impmon" wrote in
message
|
news | On Tue, 4 May 2004 21:19:47 -0400,
"tele64"
| wrote:
|
| you're wrong.
|
| Are you sure? Unless your son
uses SCSI setup and has SCSI disk drive
| (is there such thing as internal
SCSI floppy drive??), there is no way
| a floppy drive and hard drive can
be on the same cable. Take another
| look, maybe it only appeared to be
one cable is in fact 2 cables
| positioned close together so to
fool some nOObs like you.
|
| Better yet, prove you're right by
taking picture oif his computer and
| posting it so we could look for
ourselves.
| --
| To reply, replace digi.mon with
tds.net
|
|
|
|
|


  #29  
Old May 16th 04, 05:42 PM
Ryan 8088
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you're wrong
"tele64" wrote in
message
. ..
| you're wrong.
|
|
| "doS" wrote
in message
|
...
| No he doesn't.
|
| "tele64"
wrote in message
|
. ..
| HH, I don't get it....my nephew
has 3 drives connected; 2 CDRW drives
| and
| one floppy.....all with one ribbon
cable!
|
|
| "HH" wrote
in message
|
...
| You cannot. Only 2 drives per
IDE controller.
| HH
|
| "tele64"
wrote in message
|
. ..
| Where can I buy a 3 drive
(plus the motherboard connect) 40Pin
| ribbon
| cable?
|
| thanks in advance,
|
| tele64
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|


  #30  
Old May 16th 04, 06:44 PM
Herb Stein
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Ryan 8088" wrote in message
om...
Good point. He's prolly fat as a telly.
"Tom Scales" wrote
in message
...
| You sure that nOOb isn't just an
overweight n00b?
| "Ryan 8088"
wrote in message
|
m...
| You're a n00b. It's not nOOb. It's
n00b. Sorry. I just had to say it.
| "Impmon" wrote in
message
|
news | On Tue, 4 May 2004 21:19:47 -0400,
"tele64"
| wrote:
|
| you're wrong.
|
| Are you sure? Unless your son
uses SCSI setup and has SCSI disk drive
| (is there such thing as internal
SCSI floppy drive??), there is no way


Well, there is such a device as an internal SCSI floppy
but I've only seen them in older Sun Sparc hardware.
I'd be very surprised to see one in a Compaq consumer
product.

| a floppy drive and hard drive can
be on the same cable. Take another
| look, maybe it only appeared to be
one cable is in fact 2 cables
| positioned close together so to
fool some nOObs like you.


I'd go with this poster. You in fact have two cables
which can be hard to see when they're jammed in
to tight areas.

| Better yet, prove you're right by
taking picture oif his computer and
| posting it so we could look for
ourselves.
| --
| To reply, replace digi.mon with
tds.net
|
|
|
|
|


--
Herb Stein



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to test psu and reset to cmos to default Tanya General 23 February 7th 05 10:56 AM
"Failure Imminent" should i continue? Lindsay Asus Motherboards 3 July 11th 04 06:45 PM
Help... Gene Puhl Homebuilt PC's 3 April 10th 04 02:16 AM
Help needed: problem installing XP on new system GJ General 26 March 1st 04 11:04 PM
isolating new clone drive for 1st bootup Timothy Daniels General 86 February 29th 04 04:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.