A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Applle Mac Question.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 6th 03, 11:24 AM
jk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Applle Mac Question.

Real quickly - can Mac's be thrown onto a standard ethernet LAN switch??
Basically, I've got a bunch of PC's connected to my switch at
home...flatmates getting a second hand Mac and I'm wondering if it would be
able to go onto the network as well? It will be running Mac OS 8.7

cheers

- Kwaj


  #2  
Old August 6th 03, 04:22 PM
Gareth Church
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"jk" wrote in message
. au...
Real quickly - can Mac's be thrown onto a standard ethernet LAN switch??
Basically, I've got a bunch of PC's connected to my switch at
home...flatmates getting a second hand Mac and I'm wondering if it would

be
able to go onto the network as well? It will be running Mac OS 8.7


Yep, easiest way would be to get a copy of DAVE. It lets you access Windows
shares through Chooser, and displays the Mac under Network Neighborhood on
the PCs.

Gareth


  #3  
Old August 6th 03, 10:50 PM
MCheu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 6 Aug 2003 20:24:34 +1000, "jk"
wrote::

Real quickly - can Mac's be thrown onto a standard ethernet LAN switch??
Basically, I've got a bunch of PC's connected to my switch at
home...flatmates getting a second hand Mac and I'm wondering if it would be
able to go onto the network as well? It will be running Mac OS 8.7

cheers

- Kwaj


Yup. The networking protocols aren't platform specific. If you
wanted to, you could theoretically link up an iMac, a WindowsXP PC, a
Linux Machine (oh, let's say running an NEC Alpha Proc to make it
interesting), and an IBM mainframe on the same network -- assuming
they're all using the same protocol of course.

As I don't own a Mac, I can't tell you how hard it will be to set it
up for networking, but seeing as it takes me all of 10 (maybe 5 if I'm
in a hurry) to set up a WindowsXP machine, and maybe 30 minutes to do
it on a Linux machine, I don't see how it can take any more than that
on a Mac.
  #4  
Old August 7th 03, 01:27 AM
jk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK - worked it out last night. It was actually pretty easy at the end of the
day.

Cheers guys

"jk" wrote in message
. au...
Real quickly - can Mac's be thrown onto a standard ethernet LAN switch??
Basically, I've got a bunch of PC's connected to my switch at
home...flatmates getting a second hand Mac and I'm wondering if it would

be
able to go onto the network as well? It will be running Mac OS 8.7

cheers

- Kwaj




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rediculously Simple Question Jeremy General 11 August 11th 03 03:49 AM
Voodoo5 5500 display adapter question BRH General 8 August 9th 03 03:06 AM
Motherboard FSB - Newbie Question mac General 1 August 2nd 03 03:16 AM
Question about LCD monitors Joseph General 2 July 10th 03 09:18 PM
Memory question for Intel 865PERL grendel General 1 July 7th 03 04:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.