A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Getting network to work with Zonealarm



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 18th 04, 11:48 AM
anthony fidler
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Getting network to work with Zonealarm

Can only get my home network to work if I turn off my zonealarm firewall.
Have only two pc`s connected by ethernet cable, any suggestions please?


  #2  
Old April 18th 04, 12:48 PM
sooky grumper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

anthony fidler wrote:
Can only get my home network to work if I turn off my zonealarm firewall.
Have only two pc`s connected by ethernet cable, any suggestions please?



go into the "firewall" tab on the left, then the "zones" tab on the top,
and then add the computers to each other's safe lists using the buttons
at the bottom.

--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo
  #3  
Old April 19th 04, 07:37 PM
mark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"anthony fidler" wrote in message
news:%[email protected]
Can only get my home network to work if I turn off my zonealarm firewall.
Have only two pc`s connected by ethernet cable, any suggestions please?



You need to set the zones for it to work.

Under firewall you have 2 tabs Main and Zone, there should be an entry for
your internet connection and one that shows your network cards ip address.
Set the network card to trusted and you should then be able to access each
pc's shared folders

Mark


  #4  
Old April 20th 04, 11:52 PM
Pete
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"mark" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"anthony fidler" wrote in message
news:%[email protected]
Can only get my home network to work if I turn off my zonealarm

firewall.
Have only two pc`s connected by ethernet cable, any suggestions please?



You need to set the zones for it to work.

Under firewall you have 2 tabs Main and Zone, there should be an entry for
your internet connection and one that shows your network cards ip address.
Set the network card to trusted and you should then be able to access each
pc's shared folders

Mark



You also need to have the paid for version of Zonealarm, the free
donwloadable version doesn`t support networking. I tried. IIRC theres
some info on this on the zonealarm website.

Pete


  #5  
Old April 21st 04, 04:48 AM
Gert B. Frob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Pete" wrote in message
...

"mark" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"anthony fidler" wrote in message
news:%[email protected]
Can only get my home network to work if I turn off my zonealarm

firewall.
Have only two pc`s connected by ethernet cable, any suggestions

please?



You need to set the zones for it to work.

Under firewall you have 2 tabs Main and Zone, there should be an entry

for
your internet connection and one that shows your network cards ip

address.
Set the network card to trusted and you should then be able to access

each
pc's shared folders

Mark



You also need to have the paid for version of Zonealarm, the free
donwloadable version doesn`t support networking. I tried. IIRC theres
some info on this on the zonealarm website.

Pete



Not so. The free version supports trusted zones.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A strange problem with my network. Need advice E.D. General 4 October 16th 04 03:28 PM
Last/Fastest cB0 stepped 'gray zone' Celerons work natively on Abit ZM6/BM6? pgtr General 15 July 9th 04 07:29 PM
DELL upgrade with Kingston Value RAM - will it work properly stromer General 0 January 31st 04 09:29 AM
Wireless Network Card On Win98 Not Working Gary Brown General 2 December 12th 03 12:32 PM
ZoneAlarm & home network [email protected] Homebuilt PC's 5 October 18th 03 10:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.