A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

newbie: attach CDRW as slave?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 15th 03, 10:46 PM
Larry Gagnon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default newbie: attach CDRW as slave?

I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address
  #2  
Old November 16th 03, 01:18 AM
LeeB18509
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Larry Gagnon" wrote in message
...
I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address


Secondary Master is a good spot and usually what the drive maker recommends.


  #3  
Old November 16th 03, 01:22 AM
rms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Secondary Master is a good spot and usually what the drive maker
recommends.

And use a 80pin cable on both IDE ports. Run a 'manual drive detect' in
bios if needed.

rms


  #4  
Old November 16th 03, 03:22 AM
Joe727
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Larry Gagnon" wrote in message
...
I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address


Secondary. It's really not a good idea to put hard drives and optical
drives on the same IDE channel IMHO. When I first added a CD-RW burner
about 5 years ago, I had problems because I put it on the primary IDE
channel with the Hard Drive.

Joe


  #5  
Old November 16th 03, 01:31 PM
Stephen Farrell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

put optical drives on same channell, but as far as i know you should'nt have
an optical and a hard drive on the same eide channel

Regards
"Joe727" wrote in message
. com...
"Larry Gagnon" wrote in message
...
I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address


Secondary. It's really not a good idea to put hard drives and optical
drives on the same IDE channel IMHO. When I first added a CD-RW burner
about 5 years ago, I had problems because I put it on the primary IDE
channel with the Hard Drive.

Joe




  #6  
Old November 16th 03, 04:35 PM
LeeB18509
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"
Regards
"Joe727" wrote in message
. com...
"Larry Gagnon" wrote in message
...
I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address


Secondary. It's really not a good idea to put hard drives and optical
drives on the same IDE channel IMHO. When I first added a CD-RW burner
about 5 years ago, I had problems because I put it on the primary IDE
channel with the Hard Drive.

Joe

Stephen Farrell" wrote in message
... put optical drives on same channell,
but as far as i know you should'nt have
an optical and a hard drive on the same eide channel


None of that matters anymore.
http://www.storagereview.com/guide20...onfTiming.html


  #7  
Old November 16th 03, 05:15 PM
Laziter [9440]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Larry Gagnon" skrev i en meddelelse
...
I am about to build up an Athlon XP2500 computer. I will have one hard
disk, one CDRW-DVD combo drive and one floppy disk drive. How do most
of you connect the CDRW, i.e. to the same EIDE controller as the hard
drive (as slave and HD as master), or do you use the second EIDE
controller seperately?

Larry Gagnon
***************
remove "fake" from email address


I have my CDRW attached as slave, and I have no problems with performance or
anything else for that matter.

/Benjamin


  #8  
Old November 16th 03, 09:00 PM
Joe727
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That's what I said.

Joe

"Stephen Farrell" wrote in message
...
put optical drives on same channell, but as far as i know you should'nt

have
an optical and a hard drive on the same eide channel

Regards
"Joe727" wrote in message

snip Secondary. It's really not a good idea to put hard drives and
optical
drives on the same IDE channel IMHO. When I first added a CD-RW burner
about 5 years ago, I had problems because I put it on the primary IDE
channel with the Hard Drive.

Joe




  #9  
Old November 16th 03, 10:29 PM
Dodge Tom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have no problem with hdd/cd as master/slave on primary ide AND hdd/cdrw on
secondary ide for several years. Yes, 8 out of ten PC I own has that
configurations.

Two PC of those ten has DVD as slaves on primary ide and I watch DVD movies
with no problems as long as you have DVD's DMA enabled in Win98 and Win2000.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CDRW not being detected as pri or sec slave... Fredericks General 2 April 18th 04 10:01 PM
lost primary slave when installing ASUS A7V8X-X BC Berry General 3 January 1st 04 03:33 AM
Slave or Master RanMan General 6 December 21st 03 12:32 AM
DVD / CDRW drive master slave situation - General 3 November 24th 03 11:23 PM
set CDROM as master not slave? kony General 1 June 28th 03 07:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.