A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

unknown hardware



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 10th 06, 03:08 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Injun-ear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default unknown hardware

I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have no
idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting with
WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or XP-Pro.
Anyone else have this and know what it might be?


  #2  
Old August 10th 06, 03:38 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
c
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default unknown hardware


"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting
with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or
XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?
I don't see any driver releases for vista on thier site,not even 'beta'.

http://support.asus.com/download/dow...us&model=A8N5X
Take a look and see or disable the device until they release one.
C.


  #3  
Old August 10th 06, 07:54 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Injun-ear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default unknown hardware

But how can I determine what it is?? I look in Device Manager and it just
shows me a question mark. No idea what it is. Properties don't tell me
anything. If there was a program that told us what the device is, then we
could look for drivers.

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting
with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or
XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?



  #4  
Old August 10th 06, 08:32 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Rob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 63
Default unknown hardware

Injun-ear wrote:
But how can I determine what it is?? I look in Device Manager and it just
shows me a question mark. No idea what it is. Properties don't tell me
anything. If there was a program that told us what the device is, then we
could look for drivers.

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...

I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting
with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or
XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?





Only thing I could suggest is to Google the filename Vista is looking
for. Maybe you could get some insight as to what kind of device it is
that way.
Rob
  #5  
Old August 10th 06, 09:59 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Roger Hamlett
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 120
Default unknown hardware


"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
But how can I determine what it is?? I look in Device Manager and it
just
shows me a question mark. No idea what it is. Properties don't tell me
anything. If there was a program that told us what the device is, then
we
could look for drivers.

In XP (rather than Vista), the 'properties' page, has a vendor ID, and
device instance ID number. When I played with Vista a little while ago, it
too gave the ID's. With the vendor ID, you can immediately 'narrow' the
field a lot, and with both, you should be able to match the numbers used
in XP, to identify the device.
The 'classic' devices that give this sort of problem in XP, are the WDM
drivers for Vivo TV cards.

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an
Athlon dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware.
Have no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm
triple-booting with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice
in XP-64 or XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?


Best Wishes


  #6  
Old August 11th 06, 01:01 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
c
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default unknown hardware


"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
But how can I determine what it is?? I look in Device Manager and it just
shows me a question mark. No idea what it is. Properties don't tell me
anything. If there was a program that told us what the device is, then we
could look for drivers.

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm
triple-booting with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice
in XP-64 or XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?


What is your configuration?Are you using raid,firewire

or Ide.Could be the raid drivers.If not using,disable in bios or install
drivers.

C.


  #7  
Old August 11th 06, 01:04 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Injun-ear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default unknown hardware

I already had compared with my XP64 device manager. The only thing there
that's not in Vista is a "Nvidia network bus enumerator". I downloaded a
set of Vista 64 drivers from Nvidia's website, but so far none of them work.
Nothing pops up in XP64, I have all the drivers. And I have no TV card in
this machine. And I have the RAID disabled in BIOS since my HD is a
300 GB EIDE

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting
with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or
XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?



  #8  
Old August 12th 06, 12:03 AM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Injun-ear
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default unknown hardware

Now I disabled the SATA stuff, since I'm using IDE, and it went away. KOOL!

"Injun-ear" wrote in message
...
I'm playing with Windows Vista Beta 2 on my A8N5X mobo running an Athlon
dual-core 4200 and 1 GB ram.
Using the 64-bit version.

Vista keeps wanting to install a driver for some unknown hardware. Have
no idea what it could be since everything is working. I'm triple-booting
with WinXP, XP-64 and Vista-64. I don't get this notice in XP-64 or
XP-Pro. Anyone else have this and know what it might be?



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disabling hardware data prefetch Steve AMD x86-64 Processors 0 April 8th 06 09:19 PM
Seagate Barracuda 160 GB IDE becomes corrupted. RMA? Dan_Musicant Storage (alternative) 79 February 28th 06 08:23 AM
Anyone have a A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard? Najum Hussain Asus Motherboards 33 February 9th 05 12:17 PM
Newbie Question re hardware vs software RAID Gilgamesh General 44 November 22nd 04 10:52 PM
IDE RAID Ted Dawson Asus Motherboards 29 September 21st 04 03:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.