A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th 07, 02:14 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
David[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?

I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home back to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig



  #2  
Old March 8th 07, 02:50 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 110
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?

Compaq can send you QuickRestore CDs for it. Give them a call.

HH

"David" wrote in message
...
I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home back to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig





  #3  
Old March 10th 07, 01:28 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
David[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?


"HH" wrote in message
...
Compaq can send you QuickRestore CDs for it. Give them a call.

HH


Thanks,

I did order the restore cd's form compaq. If replace the the orginal hard
drive (120gb.) with a larger hard drive,
will it have any effect on using the factory restore cd's?

David C.

"David" wrote in message
...
I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home back

to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working

hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad

hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig







  #4  
Old March 10th 07, 03:46 AM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
Ben Myers
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,432
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?

It should not make a difference. HPaq makes up restore CDs to fit at least an
entire range of models, which can vary in CPU speed, amount of memory, and
capacity of hard drive. It would actually be more work from them to make
restore CDs tailored to specific hard drive capacities, and they want to avoid
extra work just like you and I... Ben Myers

On Fri, 9 Mar 2007 19:28:51 -0500, "David" wrote:


"HH" wrote in message
...
Compaq can send you QuickRestore CDs for it. Give them a call.

HH


Thanks,

I did order the restore cd's form compaq. If replace the the orginal hard
drive (120gb.) with a larger hard drive,
will it have any effect on using the factory restore cd's?

David C.

"David" wrote in message
...
I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home back

to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working

hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad

hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig






  #5  
Old May 6th 07, 11:40 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
glf
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?

I was able to get a set of restore cd's for a presario s4200nx a couple
months ago from hp,so you should not have any problems getting a set for a
s4300nx-

L

"Ben Myers" wrote in message
...
It should not make a difference. HPaq makes up restore CDs to fit at
least an
entire range of models, which can vary in CPU speed, amount of memory, and
capacity of hard drive. It would actually be more work from them to make
restore CDs tailored to specific hard drive capacities, and they want to
avoid
extra work just like you and I... Ben Myers

On Fri, 9 Mar 2007 19:28:51 -0500, "David"
wrote:


"HH" wrote in message
...
Compaq can send you QuickRestore CDs for it. Give them a call.

HH


Thanks,

I did order the restore cd's form compaq. If replace the the orginal hard
drive (120gb.) with a larger hard drive,
will it have any effect on using the factory restore cd's?

David C.

"David" wrote in message
...
I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is
going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home back

to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working

hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad

hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig








  #6  
Old May 6th 07, 11:47 PM posted to alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq
glf
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default Restore Compaq Presario S4300NX?

Here is the link for the S4300nx software & driver page- There is a section
where you can order recovery cd's for the
S4300nx-http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=228&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=325 363&lang=en#

L
"glf" wrote in message
...
I was able to get a set of restore cd's for a presario s4200nx a couple
months ago from hp,so you should not have any problems getting a set for a
s4300nx-

L

"Ben Myers" wrote in message
...
It should not make a difference. HPaq makes up restore CDs to fit at
least an
entire range of models, which can vary in CPU speed, amount of memory,
and
capacity of hard drive. It would actually be more work from them to
make
restore CDs tailored to specific hard drive capacities, and they want to
avoid
extra work just like you and I... Ben Myers

On Fri, 9 Mar 2007 19:28:51 -0500, "David"
wrote:


"HH" wrote in message
.. .
Compaq can send you QuickRestore CDs for it. Give them a call.

HH

Thanks,

I did order the restore cd's form compaq. If replace the the orginal hard
drive (120gb.) with a larger hard drive,
will it have any effect on using the factory restore cd's?

David C.

"David" wrote in message
...
I got a used Compaq Presario SX4300NX for cheap, the hard drive is
going
bad.
It has XP Home on old hard drive. I would like to restore XP home
back
to
original, but I do not have the restore cd's.
IF I can recover the data of the old drive, and copy to a new working
hard
drive can I make a set of restore cd's?
Or is there another way to restore XP home on this computer with abad
hard
drive and no restore cd's?

TIA,
Craig










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore disks for Compaq Presario 6350US CP Compaq Computers 2 February 2nd 07 01:05 AM
compaq presario quick restore fail rujo88 Compaq Computers 0 May 14th 05 02:23 PM
Compaq Presario 6000 restore problem. Gary Compaq Computers 10 May 22nd 04 09:06 PM
Wanted :Compaq Presario 4800 Series restore CD DarthVader000 Compaq Computers 0 April 8th 04 02:47 AM
I look for Quick Restore CD for compaq presario 2274 gg Compaq Computers 1 November 16th 03 03:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.