A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Question about upgrading CPU and Mainboard



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 19th 04, 06:04 AM
Craig Gobbi
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Question about upgrading CPU and Mainboard

I am about to replace my Ausu A7A166 mainboard and AMD1.6+ cpu with somethin
faster (havent decided on what yet) I just want to do a straight swap into
my case keeping all of the cards I have now including a GF5900fx. I am
running XP pro.
My question is will the hard drive chuck a wobbly the 1st time it is started
with a new mainboard installed?

Is there a good way to do this?
Thanks for any help
Craig



  #2  
Old October 19th 04, 06:43 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Craig Gobbi wrote:

I am about to replace my Ausu A7A166 mainboard and AMD1.6+ cpu with somethin
faster (havent decided on what yet) I just want to do a straight swap into
my case keeping all of the cards I have now including a GF5900fx. I am
running XP pro.
My question is will the hard drive chuck a wobbly the 1st time it is started
with a new mainboard installed?


Yes. Each and every time till you do a 'repair' resintall from your CD,
which will save your programs and settings, to redetect the hardware.


Is there a good way to do this?


Boot your XP CD and say no to the first 'repair' question (rescue console
or rescue floppy) and go on as if installing fresh. When it detects the
existing XP installation on the hard drive it will ask if you want to
repair it. Say yes and follow the instructions. (If it doesn't ask if you
want to repair then you have a problem with your existing installation. In
that case, do NOT continue unless you want to wipe out the existing install.)

Since you'll be reinstalling from the original CD you'll loose your service
packs (they aren't on it), including media player and I.E. updates, and
need to redo those.

Note: if your original CD is pre service pack 1 then after the repair
reinstall you'll be confronted with applications complaining and installer
attempting to reinstall things. Don't panic. Ignore those and cancel the
installer's 'installing' attempts. Everything will automagically work again
after SP1 (or SP2) is reinstalled (as that's what's 'missing').

Downloading the 'IT professionals' full install (not small. SP1 is 133 meg
and SP2 is 266 meg)) of the service pack before you change the system is a
good idea as it'll then already be on your hard drive and avoid any
internet problems you may run into after changing the hardware.

Burn your full service packs, including media player and I.E. updates, to
CD and keep with your XP CD in case you ever need to do another repair (or
fresh install for that matter).


Thanks for any help
Craig




  #3  
Old October 20th 04, 12:15 AM
DaveW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you change the motherboard that a harddrive with the OS on it uses, then
you MUST reformat the harddrive and do a fresh install of the OS. Otherwise
you can look forward to ongoing nasty Registry errors on your system.

--
DaveW



"Craig Gobbi" wrote in message
...
I am about to replace my Ausu A7A166 mainboard and AMD1.6+ cpu with
somethin faster (havent decided on what yet) I just want to do a straight
swap into my case keeping all of the cards I have now including a GF5900fx.
I am running XP pro.
My question is will the hard drive chuck a wobbly the 1st time it is
started with a new mainboard installed?

Is there a good way to do this?
Thanks for any help
Craig





  #4  
Old October 20th 04, 12:52 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DaveW wrote:

If you change the motherboard that a harddrive with the OS on it uses, then
you MUST reformat the harddrive and do a fresh install of the OS. Otherwise
you can look forward to ongoing nasty Registry errors on your system.


You may safely ignore DaveW's uninformed and invalid babblings on this subject.

  #5  
Old October 20th 04, 03:26 AM
Craig Gobbi
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK thanks, I was tring to avoid that but, if I must.
Ta
Craig



"DaveW" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s04...
If you change the motherboard that a harddrive with the OS on it uses,
then you MUST reformat the harddrive and do a fresh install of the OS.
Otherwise you can look forward to ongoing nasty Registry errors on your
system.

--
DaveW



"Craig Gobbi" wrote in message
...
I am about to replace my Ausu A7A166 mainboard and AMD1.6+ cpu with
somethin faster (havent decided on what yet) I just want to do a straight
swap into my case keeping all of the cards I have now including a
GF5900fx. I am running XP pro.
My question is will the hard drive chuck a wobbly the 1st time it is
started with a new mainboard installed?

Is there a good way to do this?
Thanks for any help
Craig







  #6  
Old October 20th 04, 04:02 AM
Art
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Craig Gobbi" wrote in message
...
I am about to replace my Ausu A7A166 mainboard and AMD1.6+ cpu with
somethin faster (havent decided on what yet) I just want to do a straight
swap into my case keeping all of the cards I have now including a
GF5900fx. I am running XP pro.
My question is will the hard drive chuck a wobbly the 1st time it is
started with a new mainboard installed?

Is there a good way to do this?
Thanks for any help
Craig



"DaveW" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s04...
If you change the motherboard that a harddrive with the OS on it uses,
then you MUST reformat the harddrive and do a fresh install of the OS.
Otherwise you can look forward to ongoing nasty Registry errors on your
system.

--
DaveW



David Maynard wrote:
You may safely ignore DaveW's uninformed and invalid babblings on this
subject.


Craig:
You can install a new motherboard/processor/RAM in your system and perform a
Repair install of the XP OS. It's a near certainty that the system will not
boot (thus resulting in a "chuck a wobbly" hard drive, I guess) until you
perform this Repair install which will maintain your present programs and
data. Needless to say, there's no absolute guarantee of this so it will be
prudent for you to backup whatever programs and data that are important to
you before you undertake the Repair install. You will, of course, need to
have available any drivers that may be needed for your new components after
performing the Repair install.

In nearly every case there is no need to do a "fresh install" of the OS and
you need not "look forward to ongoing nasty Registry errors..." should you
perform a Repair install.

You can obtain detailed instructions on how to perform a Repair install by
doing a Google search of "windows xp repair install".

Art


  #7  
Old October 20th 04, 02:52 PM
Theodat
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I did a new motherboard, video card, memory, and CPU and just left the
old harddrive in and it fired up found all of the new hardware
(although I had to re-register with Microsoft) and I am still running
strong 5 months later...
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.