A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

nvidia mainboard swap



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 20th 04, 04:17 AM
JAD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a repair install
from the console


"maurice" wrote in
message u...
I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte

ga7n400, with
another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall of

XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight budget

(and a
very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte nforce

chipset
board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can find

no info
on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia

soundstorm chip)
but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce

chipset I'm
most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide

drives etc
would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past history

of this
job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice




  #2  
Old August 20th 04, 08:42 PM
maurice
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default nvidia mainboard swap

I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte ga7n400, with
another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall of XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight budget (and a
very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte nforce chipset
board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can find no info
on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia soundstorm chip)
but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce chipset I'm
most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide drives etc
would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past history of this
job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice


  #3  
Old August 21st 04, 12:16 AM
DaveW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS.

--
DaveW



"maurice" wrote in message
u...
I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte ga7n400, with
another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall of XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight budget (and a
very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte nforce

chipset
board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can find no info
on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia soundstorm

chip)
but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce chipset

I'm
most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide drives etc
would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past history of

this
job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice




  #4  
Old August 21st 04, 02:11 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DaveW wrote:

Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS.


I do upgrade/repair swaps of comPLETEly different motherboards all the time
with no problems whatsoever.

  #5  
Old August 21st 04, 05:58 PM
MC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"maurice" wrote in message
u...
Ok, two very different opinions here,

JAD "1. after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a repair
install
from the console"

DaveW "2. Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME
MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS"

Dave, have you had first hand experience with swapping identical chipset
boards and having to reformat. Do you have reason to believe the repair
console wont work?

I normally would reformat but the client has had some custom software
installed which will need to be reconfigured by the vendor if I have to
reinstall the OS.

Anybody else had good or bad luck with either of these scenarios?


I had to do much the same recently when an Asus A7N8X stopped working on a
Saturday evening - I had an Abit NF7 available, so swapped the components
over and rebooted, started Windows (XP Home) in Safe Mode, went to Device
Manager, removed everything it would allow, ignoring the requests to reboot
until I'd finished, then rebooted properly and allowed Windows to re-detect
all it needed. I don't recall it asking for the installation disk, it just
sorted itself out and has been fine since (about 3/4 weeks). I did have to
re-activate Windows due to the hardware changes but that wasn't a problem.

HTH
Martin


  #6  
Old August 21st 04, 07:01 PM
maurice
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, two very different opinions here,

JAD "1. after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a repair
install
from the console"

DaveW "2. Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME
MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS"

Dave, have you had first hand experience with swapping identical chipset
boards and having to reformat. Do you have reason to believe the repair
console wont work?

I normally would reformat but the client has had some custom software
installed which will need to be reconfigured by the vendor if I have to
reinstall the OS.

Anybody else had good or bad luck with either of these scenarios?

thanks


"maurice" wrote in message
u...
I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte ga7n400,

with
another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall of XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight budget (and

a
very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte nforce

chipset
board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can find no

info
on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia soundstorm

chip)
but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce chipset

I'm
most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide drives

etc
would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past history of

this
job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice






  #7  
Old August 21st 04, 07:35 PM
spodosaurus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

maurice wrote:
Ok, two very different opinions here,

JAD "1. after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a repair
install
from the console"


You dont want to go into the console. Just put the hardware together,
and boot from the XP cdrom. Keep going through the stages as if you were
going to do a new install. Eventually you'll be asked if you want to
reinstall or repair (not the same as console), and this is what you
want. If you miss it, do NOT format anything :-)

DaveW "2. Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME
MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS"


Dave is talking out of his arse, this is not the only way.

Dave, have you had first hand experience with swapping identical chipset
boards and having to reformat. Do you have reason to believe the repair
console wont work?

I normally would reformat but the client has had some custom software
installed which will need to be reconfigured by the vendor if I have to
reinstall the OS.

Anybody else had good or bad luck with either of these scenarios?


I've done both, both work.

thanks



"maurice" wrote in message
.au...

I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte ga7n400,


with

another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall of XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight budget (and


a

very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte nforce


chipset

board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can find no


info

on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia soundstorm


chip)

but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce chipset


I'm

most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide drives


etc

would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past history of


this

job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice








--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo
  #8  
Old August 21st 04, 08:30 PM
JAD
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

the 'proper' way is to use the console.......not to say that what you
do doesn't work. Question: after doing the install your way, have you
looked over the boot log? is it without 'failed to load' lines,
curious is all.


"spodosaurus" wrote in message
...
maurice wrote:
Ok, two very different opinions here,

JAD "1. after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a

repair
install
from the console"


You dont want to go into the console. Just put the hardware

together,
and boot from the XP cdrom. Keep going through the stages as if you

were
going to do a new install. Eventually you'll be asked if you want to
reinstall or repair (not the same as console), and this is what you
want. If you miss it, do NOT format anything :-)

DaveW "2. Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME
MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat

the
harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS"


Dave is talking out of his arse, this is not the only way.

Dave, have you had first hand experience with swapping identical

chipset
boards and having to reformat. Do you have reason to believe the

repair
console wont work?

I normally would reformat but the client has had some custom

software
installed which will need to be reconfigured by the vendor if I

have to
reinstall the OS.

Anybody else had good or bad luck with either of these scenarios?


I've done both, both work.

thanks



"maurice" wrote in

message
.au...

I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte

ga7n400,

with

another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall

of XP.
Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight

budget (and

a

very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte

nforce

chipset

board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can

find no

info

on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia

soundstorm

chip)

but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce

chipset

I'm

most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide

drives

etc

would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past

history of

this

job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice








--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo



  #9  
Old August 22nd 04, 12:19 AM
David Maynard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

JAD wrote:

the 'proper' way is to use the console.......


Using 'the console' is the 'proper' way to do WHAT?

not to say that what you
do doesn't work. Question: after doing the install your way, have you
looked over the boot log? is it without 'failed to load' lines,
curious is all.


"spodosaurus" wrote in message
...

maurice wrote:

Ok, two very different opinions here,

JAD "1. after the install of the MB boot with XP CD and do a


repair

install
from the console"


You dont want to go into the console. Just put the hardware


together,

and boot from the XP cdrom. Keep going through the stages as if you


were

going to do a new install. Eventually you'll be asked if you want to
reinstall or repair (not the same as console), and this is what you
want. If you miss it, do NOT format anything :-)


DaveW "2. Unless you replace the motherboard with the EXACT SAME
MOTHERBOARD,
including version, etc., you'll be hosed if you don not reformat


the

harddrive and do a CLEAN install of the OS"


Dave is talking out of his arse, this is not the only way.


Dave, have you had first hand experience with swapping identical


chipset

boards and having to reformat. Do you have reason to believe the


repair

console wont work?

I normally would reformat but the client has had some custom


software

installed which will need to be reconfigured by the vendor if I


have to

reinstall the OS.

Anybody else had good or bad luck with either of these scenarios?


I've done both, both work.


thanks




"maurice" wrote in


message

om.au...


I have have to replace a nvidia chipset mainboard a gigabyte


ga7n400,

with


another mainboard but really dont want to have to do a reinstall


of XP.

Ideally Id replace with the same model but its a very tight


budget (and

a


very long story!) so I was looking at using another Gigabyte


nforce

chipset


board either the ga7n400L or a new model ga7nf-rz which I can


find no

info


on beyond it uses mcp and spp.

I know the sound will be different(the pro uses the nvidia


soundstorm

chip)


but hopefully this wont be a terminal
problem, its differences in the different flavors of the nforce


chipset

I'm


most concerned about. I was hoping that the core logic for ide


drives

etc


would be close enough not to cause a problem but if the past


history of

this


job has any bearing then I'm screwed!

any thoughts on these issues much appreciated

cheers

Maurice






--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo





  #10  
Old August 22nd 04, 01:00 AM
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 21 Aug 2004 12:30:31 -0700 To confuse Arrogance with
Confidence is as stupid as to confuse Ambition with Ability and then
"JAD" wrote :

the 'proper' way is to use the console.......not to say that what you
do doesn't work. Question: after doing the install your way, have you
looked over the boot log? is it without 'failed to load' lines,
curious is all.



Read here Jad,
http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm
The console sucks.



--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
remove obvious to reply
email
Free songs to download and,"BURN" :O)
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/nomessiahsmusic.htm
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot swap trays for 2k3 taipan General 3 September 29th 04 06:55 AM
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
swap file Steve James General 23 January 10th 04 02:32 PM
help a oldtimer Vasko Altiparmakov Overclocking 12 December 3rd 03 03:06 PM
Asking for recommandations on CPU & Mainboard _Jung Homebuilt PC's 7 September 1st 03 01:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.