A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

NEWBIE: Case connectors to Mainboard



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 4th 03, 07:37 AM
Wiley Q. Hacker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default NEWBIE: Case connectors to Mainboard

Hi all:

I'm working on putting together my first system. Almost done, with
considerable help from those on this forum. Many thanks.

One final question:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard) on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:

| ______
|-- | * |----------
|-- | * |
| |_*__|----------

Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?

Thanks in advance.
-----
Wiley
  #2  
Old December 4th 03, 07:55 AM
BigJim
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yep, use the head of a pin to pull back the little flap and slide the wire
out.
"Wiley Q. Hacker" wrote in message
om...
Hi all:

I'm working on putting together my first system. Almost done, with
considerable help from those on this forum. Many thanks.

One final question:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard) on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:

| ______
|-- | * |----------
|-- | * |
| |_*__|----------

Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?

Thanks in advance.
-----
Wiley



  #3  
Old December 4th 03, 08:05 AM
Bob Troll
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Make sure you don't have the wrong connector trying to plug on there.

Bob Troll

Wiley Q. Hacker wrote:
Hi all:

I'm working on putting together my first system. Almost done, with
considerable help from those on this forum. Many thanks.

One final question:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard) on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:

| ______
|-- | * |----------
|-- | * |
| |_*__|----------

Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?

Thanks in advance.
-----
Wiley



  #4  
Old December 4th 03, 08:13 AM
Sooky Grumper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Bob Troll wrote:
Make sure you don't have the wrong connector trying to plug on there.


That's just what I was thinking, too...

Bob Troll

Wiley Q. Hacker wrote:

Hi all:

I'm working on putting together my first system. Almost done, with
considerable help from those on this forum. Many thanks.

One final question:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard) on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:

| ______
|-- | * |----------
|-- | * |
| |_*__|----------

Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?

Thanks in advance.
-----
Wiley






--
spammage trappage: replace fishies_ with yahoo

  #5  
Old December 4th 03, 03:32 PM
Marvin & Sue
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wiley wrote:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard) on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:


I just finished "building" my first computer and the MOBO had two places for
the Power LED connector. There was a 2 wide and a 3 wide male connectors on
the board, and the connector from the Antec Sonnata case was 2 wire three
wide. I have no idea if it would make any difference to pull a wire out and
move it, but I would make sure there was no other connector on the board.
--
Marvin & Sue


  #6  
Old December 4th 03, 03:51 PM
Groove
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wiley Q. Hacker said this...
Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?



What I normally do is carefully shave down one side of the triple plug with
a craft knife. This releases the metal insert which you then click into the
centre socket. Finally use your craft knife to trim off the remaining part
of the 3rd housing and you're done. PS: Doesn't matter which side you cut.


--
~ dvd ~


  #7  
Old December 4th 03, 04:57 PM
jeff findley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Groove writes:

What I normally do is carefully shave down one side of the triple plug with
a craft knife. This releases the metal insert which you then click into the
centre socket. Finally use your craft knife to trim off the remaining part
of the 3rd housing and you're done. PS: Doesn't matter which side you cut.


I typically use a very small screwdriver to release the metal insert,
then start cutting the plug down to two. Note that the cutting may
not be necessary. Sometimes the LED connection isn't adjacent to
another connection that's needed, and having the empty socket covering
a non-needed pin isn't really an issue.

Jeff
--
Remove "no" and "spam" from email address to reply.
If it says "This is not spam!", it's surely a lie.
  #8  
Old December 4th 03, 05:31 PM
jeffc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Wiley Q. Hacker" wrote in message
om...
Hi all:

I'm working on putting together my first system. Almost done, with
considerable help from those on this forum. Many thanks.

One final question:

The Power LED connector from the case needs to be plugged into the
jumpers on the mainboard. However, the two "prongs" (sorry, can't
think of a better word, though I'm sure there's a standard)


Usually called "pins". Same thing.

on the
mainboard are adjacent, whereas the wire from the case is 3-wide,
with a gap in the middle. Here's roughly what I'm talking about:

| ______
|-- | * |----------
|-- | * |
| |_*__|----------

Question is, can I just pull the wire out of the 3rd position on the
connector and push it into the middle one, and then plug the whole
thing into the mainboard? What's the right way to do this?


One of the 3 connectors if for the RPM sensing of the fan. If you don't
need RPM sensing, you don't need 3 wires. But you do have to make sure the
2 wires that get connected are the power wires, and you should note the
polarity. If you get the polarity wrong, the fan will spin backward.
That's OK if you can flip the fan around, but it won't work if the fan can
only go in one way.


  #9  
Old December 4th 03, 05:33 PM
jeffc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Bob Troll" wrote in message
.com...
Make sure you don't have the wrong connector trying to plug on there.


It sounds like some sort of CD connector, or maybe a switch connector or
possibly even a speaker or light connector. From the fan connectors I
recall seeing, the 2 power wires were not separated with a gap in the middle
like that.


  #10  
Old December 4th 03, 05:34 PM
Groove
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

jeff findley said this...
I typically use a very small screwdriver to release the metal insert,
then start cutting the plug down to two....


I must try that. That way is marginally less chance of damaging the insert.
But you kind of get into a habit with such details and never think of
alternatives.

--
~ dvd ~


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On the brink of madness... I.C. Koets General 18 January 31st 05 11:49 PM
My Review: ASPIRE Turbo Case X-Dreamer Black Mid-Tower Case with350W Power Supply, Model "ATXB3KLW/350W" Cyde Weys General 3 June 1st 04 04:10 PM
Happy Birthday America SST Overclocking 333 November 27th 03 08:54 PM
Happy Birthday America SST Overclocking AMD Processors 326 November 27th 03 08:54 PM
Testing a Mainboard out of the case? bad_knee Homebuilt PC's 7 September 22nd 03 06:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.