A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

5000 series



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 22nd 04, 05:32 AM
Ted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 5000 series

5wv254. What speed processor can I upgrade my 700 MHz Anthon with?
Thanks in advance
Ted


  #2  
Old September 22nd 04, 12:36 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Your PC came with a 700 MHz Duron, not an Athlon. It can take up to at least
a 950MHz Athlon, which is what the top model in the 5WV2 series has.
HH

"Ted" wrote in message
...
5wv254. What speed processor can I upgrade my 700 MHz Anthon with?
Thanks in advance
Ted





  #3  
Old September 22nd 04, 02:04 PM
Tomas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Ted" wrote in message ...
5wv254. What speed processor can I upgrade my 700 MHz Anthon with?
Thanks in advance
Ted


If the 5000 series is like the 5000US, then reportedly 1.2G Athlon is
possible according to he

ftp://ftp.fic.com.tw/motherboard/cpu...cketa/az31.pdf

Or 1.1G Athlon according to he

http://www.softwareandstuff.com/mb_cmpqsk7.html

Does your motherboard look like the one pictured?

I briefly looked at upgrading my 5000US to a 1.1G Athlon but decided
it was not cost-effective. Might upgrade to a 7,200rpm 8MB HDD
though. Once I figure out how to install the OS on the new HDD since
I don't have the installation disc just the recovery disc.
  #4  
Old September 24th 04, 03:18 AM
Ted
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes HH.. its a 700MHz Duran of course. I don't think the very slight
improvement with a 950MHz would be worth the effort!
Bur thanks anyway.
Ted

"HH" wrote in message
...
Your PC came with a 700 MHz Duron, not an Athlon. It can take up to at

least
a 950MHz Athlon, which is what the top model in the 5WV2 series has.
HH

"Ted" wrote in message
...
5wv254. What speed processor can I upgrade my 700 MHz Anthon with?
Thanks in advance
Ted







  #5  
Old September 24th 04, 03:36 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hmmm. Dunno. To a 950 Duron, I agree. A 950 Athlon would be noticeably
faster, though. Much larger L1 and L2 cache.
HH
"Ted" wrote in message
...
Yes HH.. its a 700MHz Duran of course. I don't think the very slight
improvement with a 950MHz would be worth the effort!
Bur thanks anyway.
Ted

"HH" wrote in message
...
Your PC came with a 700 MHz Duron, not an Athlon. It can take up to at

least
a 950MHz Athlon, which is what the top model in the 5WV2 series has.
HH

"Ted" wrote in message
...
5wv254. What speed processor can I upgrade my 700 MHz Anthon with?
Thanks in advance
Ted










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pc problems after g card upgrade + sp2 ben reed Homebuilt PC's 9 November 30th 04 01:04 AM
Presario 5000 Series, Replacing Motherboard, etc [email protected] Compaq Computers 4 January 6th 04 07:41 AM
Compaq Presario 5000 Series Zejad Setrallah General 4 October 12th 03 01:49 PM
5000 series Power supply MICHAEL Compaq Computers 0 July 23rd 03 08:14 AM
5000 Series -- Can't Stay Connected to 'Net David Compaq Computers 1 June 25th 03 08:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.