A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

P4C800-E Deluxe - Modem Problems



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 15th 03, 10:14 AM
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default P4C800-E Deluxe - Modem Problems

Well three weeks later, after building my new PC, around an Asus P4C800-e
Deluxe Motherboard, I am still having problems installing a modem.

First up, I had an old Speed+ Com Serial port modem lying around and after
tracing XP drivers (I'm running XP Pro SP1a) I experienced frequent random
lock-ups necessitating reboots.

Next I found a new but cheap NetoDragon PCI internal modem bought at PC
World and after reading about problems with this modem on a website, I
configured the "country setting" to United States and I got it working.
However when it came to reconnecting, say after a cut-off, or after
Freeserve's 2 hour limit, again I would experience lock-ups necessitating
reboots.

Third I bought a Conexant/Rockwell (not sure of the manufacturer) USB port
modem - installed as a Softk56 modem in device manager. It connects nicely,
but will not under any circumstance, hang up properly, releasing the line
connection. After it supposedly disconnects, on the next dial up, the dial
up icon appears as normal and when executing it, a message appears saying
"opening port", where it stays indefinitely - no error message. The only
way to free up the line or more importantly to reconnect is another reboot
!!! Indeed with this modem XP hangs at the screen immediately before
switching off, which says "saving settings". The only way to close down is
to manually press the switch off button for 4 seconds. During a session
which does not utilise the modem, Windows shuts down perfectly.

I am about to go into town to buy a more recognised 56K PCI internal modem,
in the hope that I can get it working but three in a row - I have never had
these problems before and when I rang Freeserve, they said it was a driver
or installation problem and they could not help me, pointing me to the
manufacturer of the modem if I wanted further assistance. I have been
fitting modems for years and know what I am doing and never come across
these problems before. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 'till I'm
blue in the face with no luck. I have tried putting the modem in slots 2,3
and 5 again with no luck.

I recognise that the three modems I've tried are on the "cheap" side but I'm
beginning to think that it might be my system.

My System: -

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (version 10 Bios) : Intel P4 3.0 Ghz CPU (800fsb) :
Cooling - Zalman Al/Cu 7000 Cooler : Case - Thermaltake Xaser III Series
: Kingston Value Ram - 2 x 512Gb PC 3200 working in Dual DDR 400 Mode -
KVR400X64C3A/51 : Hercules Prophet 3D Radeon 9800 Pro (128Mb) : PSU -
Antec TruePower 550Watt : RAID Arrays - OS - 2 x WD Raptors 36Gb 10000rpm
SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Intel ICH5R) - Storage - 2 x Seagate
Barracuda 7's 160Gb 7200rpm SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Promise) :
Iomega Dual DVD +/- Writer (PM) : Aopen DVD Rom (SM) : SoundBlaster
Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1) :
OS - Windows XP Pro (SP1a)

If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it very
much. By the way I am running 2 x Anytime Freeserve on my two phone lines -
we don't get broadband until 11.02.2004

Paul


--------------------------------------------------------------------

This footnote confirms that this email message
has been swept by Norton AntiVirus for the
presence of computer viruses.

This computer is protected
by GIANT Company's Spam Inspector

---------------------------------------------------------------------


  #2  
Old November 15th 03, 11:25 AM
sheer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Have you looked at satellite?

"Paul" wrote in message
...
Well three weeks later, after building my new PC, around an Asus P4C800-e
Deluxe Motherboard, I am still having problems installing a modem.

First up, I had an old Speed+ Com Serial port modem lying around and after
tracing XP drivers (I'm running XP Pro SP1a) I experienced frequent random
lock-ups necessitating reboots.

Next I found a new but cheap NetoDragon PCI internal modem bought at PC
World and after reading about problems with this modem on a website, I
configured the "country setting" to United States and I got it working.
However when it came to reconnecting, say after a cut-off, or after
Freeserve's 2 hour limit, again I would experience lock-ups necessitating
reboots.

Third I bought a Conexant/Rockwell (not sure of the manufacturer) USB port
modem - installed as a Softk56 modem in device manager. It connects

nicely,
but will not under any circumstance, hang up properly, releasing the line
connection. After it supposedly disconnects, on the next dial up, the

dial
up icon appears as normal and when executing it, a message appears saying
"opening port", where it stays indefinitely - no error message. The only
way to free up the line or more importantly to reconnect is another reboot
!!! Indeed with this modem XP hangs at the screen immediately before
switching off, which says "saving settings". The only way to close down

is
to manually press the switch off button for 4 seconds. During a session
which does not utilise the modem, Windows shuts down perfectly.

I am about to go into town to buy a more recognised 56K PCI internal

modem,
in the hope that I can get it working but three in a row - I have never

had
these problems before and when I rang Freeserve, they said it was a driver
or installation problem and they could not help me, pointing me to the
manufacturer of the modem if I wanted further assistance. I have been
fitting modems for years and know what I am doing and never come across
these problems before. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 'till

I'm
blue in the face with no luck. I have tried putting the modem in slots

2,3
and 5 again with no luck.

I recognise that the three modems I've tried are on the "cheap" side but

I'm
beginning to think that it might be my system.

My System: -

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (version 10 Bios) : Intel P4 3.0 Ghz CPU (800fsb)

:
Cooling - Zalman Al/Cu 7000 Cooler : Case - Thermaltake Xaser III Series
: Kingston Value Ram - 2 x 512Gb PC 3200 working in Dual DDR 400 Mode -
KVR400X64C3A/51 : Hercules Prophet 3D Radeon 9800 Pro (128Mb) : PSU -
Antec TruePower 550Watt : RAID Arrays - OS - 2 x WD Raptors 36Gb

10000rpm
SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Intel ICH5R) - Storage - 2 x Seagate
Barracuda 7's 160Gb 7200rpm SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Promise) :
Iomega Dual DVD +/- Writer (PM) : Aopen DVD Rom (SM) : SoundBlaster
Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1) :
OS - Windows XP Pro (SP1a)

If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it

very
much. By the way I am running 2 x Anytime Freeserve on my two phone

lines -
we don't get broadband until 11.02.2004

Paul


--------------------------------------------------------------------

This footnote confirms that this email message
has been swept by Norton AntiVirus for the
presence of computer viruses.

This computer is protected
by GIANT Company's Spam Inspector

---------------------------------------------------------------------




  #3  
Old November 15th 03, 12:54 PM
BoB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

get an Intel(R) 536EP V.92 Modem
Encore is the one I have, Newegg(US) has for 14$, after going to windows
update, I started connecting at 50.6-54.6K.
"Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1)"
these may be in the wrong slots!


"Paul" wrote in message
...
Well three weeks later, after building my new PC, around an Asus P4C800-e
Deluxe Motherboard, I am still having problems installing a modem.

First up, I had an old Speed+ Com Serial port modem lying around and after
tracing XP drivers (I'm running XP Pro SP1a) I experienced frequent random
lock-ups necessitating reboots.

Next I found a new but cheap NetoDragon PCI internal modem bought at PC
World and after reading about problems with this modem on a website, I
configured the "country setting" to United States and I got it working.
However when it came to reconnecting, say after a cut-off, or after
Freeserve's 2 hour limit, again I would experience lock-ups necessitating
reboots.

Third I bought a Conexant/Rockwell (not sure of the manufacturer) USB port
modem - installed as a Softk56 modem in device manager. It connects

nicely,
but will not under any circumstance, hang up properly, releasing the line
connection. After it supposedly disconnects, on the next dial up, the

dial
up icon appears as normal and when executing it, a message appears saying
"opening port", where it stays indefinitely - no error message. The only
way to free up the line or more importantly to reconnect is another reboot
!!! Indeed with this modem XP hangs at the screen immediately before
switching off, which says "saving settings". The only way to close down

is
to manually press the switch off button for 4 seconds. During a session
which does not utilise the modem, Windows shuts down perfectly.

I am about to go into town to buy a more recognised 56K PCI internal

modem,
in the hope that I can get it working but three in a row - I have never

had
these problems before and when I rang Freeserve, they said it was a driver
or installation problem and they could not help me, pointing me to the
manufacturer of the modem if I wanted further assistance. I have been
fitting modems for years and know what I am doing and never come across
these problems before. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 'till

I'm
blue in the face with no luck. I have tried putting the modem in slots

2,3
and 5 again with no luck.

I recognise that the three modems I've tried are on the "cheap" side but

I'm
beginning to think that it might be my system.

My System: -

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (version 10 Bios) : Intel P4 3.0 Ghz CPU (800fsb)

:
Cooling - Zalman Al/Cu 7000 Cooler : Case - Thermaltake Xaser III Series
: Kingston Value Ram - 2 x 512Gb PC 3200 working in Dual DDR 400 Mode -
KVR400X64C3A/51 : Hercules Prophet 3D Radeon 9800 Pro (128Mb) : PSU -
Antec TruePower 550Watt : RAID Arrays - OS - 2 x WD Raptors 36Gb

10000rpm
SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Intel ICH5R) - Storage - 2 x Seagate
Barracuda 7's 160Gb 7200rpm SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Promise) :
Iomega Dual DVD +/- Writer (PM) : Aopen DVD Rom (SM) : SoundBlaster
Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1) :
OS - Windows XP Pro (SP1a)

If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it

very
much. By the way I am running 2 x Anytime Freeserve on my two phone

lines -
we don't get broadband until 11.02.2004

Paul


--------------------------------------------------------------------

This footnote confirms that this email message
has been swept by Norton AntiVirus for the
presence of computer viruses.

This computer is protected
by GIANT Company's Spam Inspector

---------------------------------------------------------------------




  #4  
Old November 15th 03, 09:42 PM
Patrick Martin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have recent experience with this M/B and a USR 56K PCI modem (P/N
USR5610B) running under XP S/P1. It worked well on the first attempt to
dial up my ISP. However, the xfer rate of this V.92 modem seems to be about
75% of an ISA 56K modem also made by USR. BIOS problems with the M/B halted
my modem grooming efforts after about one day so I'm not sure if I'll be
able to get transfer rate (D/L) back up to what I had with the ISA modem.

-PGM


"Paul" wrote in message
...
Well three weeks later, after building my new PC, around an Asus P4C800-e
Deluxe Motherboard, I am still having problems installing a modem.

First up, I had an old Speed+ Com Serial port modem lying around and after
tracing XP drivers (I'm running XP Pro SP1a) I experienced frequent random
lock-ups necessitating reboots.

Next I found a new but cheap NetoDragon PCI internal modem bought at PC
World and after reading about problems with this modem on a website, I
configured the "country setting" to United States and I got it working.
However when it came to reconnecting, say after a cut-off, or after
Freeserve's 2 hour limit, again I would experience lock-ups necessitating
reboots.

Third I bought a Conexant/Rockwell (not sure of the manufacturer) USB port
modem - installed as a Softk56 modem in device manager. It connects

nicely,
but will not under any circumstance, hang up properly, releasing the line
connection. After it supposedly disconnects, on the next dial up, the

dial
up icon appears as normal and when executing it, a message appears saying
"opening port", where it stays indefinitely - no error message. The only
way to free up the line or more importantly to reconnect is another reboot
!!! Indeed with this modem XP hangs at the screen immediately before
switching off, which says "saving settings". The only way to close down

is
to manually press the switch off button for 4 seconds. During a session
which does not utilise the modem, Windows shuts down perfectly.

I am about to go into town to buy a more recognised 56K PCI internal

modem,
in the hope that I can get it working but three in a row - I have never

had
these problems before and when I rang Freeserve, they said it was a driver
or installation problem and they could not help me, pointing me to the
manufacturer of the modem if I wanted further assistance. I have been
fitting modems for years and know what I am doing and never come across
these problems before. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 'till

I'm
blue in the face with no luck. I have tried putting the modem in slots

2,3
and 5 again with no luck.

I recognise that the three modems I've tried are on the "cheap" side but

I'm
beginning to think that it might be my system.

My System: -

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (version 10 Bios) : Intel P4 3.0 Ghz CPU (800fsb)

:
Cooling - Zalman Al/Cu 7000 Cooler : Case - Thermaltake Xaser III Series
: Kingston Value Ram - 2 x 512Gb PC 3200 working in Dual DDR 400 Mode -
KVR400X64C3A/51 : Hercules Prophet 3D Radeon 9800 Pro (128Mb) : PSU -
Antec TruePower 550Watt : RAID Arrays - OS - 2 x WD Raptors 36Gb

10000rpm
SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Intel ICH5R) - Storage - 2 x Seagate
Barracuda 7's 160Gb 7200rpm SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Promise) :
Iomega Dual DVD +/- Writer (PM) : Aopen DVD Rom (SM) : SoundBlaster
Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1) :
OS - Windows XP Pro (SP1a)

If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it

very
much. By the way I am running 2 x Anytime Freeserve on my two phone

lines -
we don't get broadband until 11.02.2004

Paul


--------------------------------------------------------------------

This footnote confirms that this email message
has been swept by Norton AntiVirus for the
presence of computer viruses.

This computer is protected
by GIANT Company's Spam Inspector

---------------------------------------------------------------------




  #5  
Old November 16th 03, 11:17 AM
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for your replies - I have now successfully installed a Hayes 56k PCI
Internal modem which so far seems to work perfectly. Maybe it just goes to
show that you get what you pay for - this modem cost £23, a little more than
the others (PCI £11, serial £15 and USB £17) and it seems to have more
support, driver-wise than the others.

Roll on 11.02.2004, when we go Broadband, but what pitfalls then lol!

Paul


xV-
"Patrick Martin" wrote in message
...
I have recent experience with this M/B and a USR 56K PCI modem (P/N
USR5610B) running under XP S/P1. It worked well on the first attempt to
dial up my ISP. However, the xfer rate of this V.92 modem seems to be

about
75% of an ISA 56K modem also made by USR. BIOS problems with the M/B

halted
my modem grooming efforts after about one day so I'm not sure if I'll be
able to get transfer rate (D/L) back up to what I had with the ISA modem.

-PGM


"Paul" wrote in message
...
Well three weeks later, after building my new PC, around an Asus

P4C800-e
Deluxe Motherboard, I am still having problems installing a modem.

First up, I had an old Speed+ Com Serial port modem lying around and

after
tracing XP drivers (I'm running XP Pro SP1a) I experienced frequent

random
lock-ups necessitating reboots.

Next I found a new but cheap NetoDragon PCI internal modem bought at PC
World and after reading about problems with this modem on a website, I
configured the "country setting" to United States and I got it working.
However when it came to reconnecting, say after a cut-off, or after
Freeserve's 2 hour limit, again I would experience lock-ups

necessitating
reboots.

Third I bought a Conexant/Rockwell (not sure of the manufacturer) USB

port
modem - installed as a Softk56 modem in device manager. It connects

nicely,
but will not under any circumstance, hang up properly, releasing the

line
connection. After it supposedly disconnects, on the next dial up, the

dial
up icon appears as normal and when executing it, a message appears

saying
"opening port", where it stays indefinitely - no error message. The

only
way to free up the line or more importantly to reconnect is another

reboot
!!! Indeed with this modem XP hangs at the screen immediately before
switching off, which says "saving settings". The only way to close down

is
to manually press the switch off button for 4 seconds. During a session
which does not utilise the modem, Windows shuts down perfectly.

I am about to go into town to buy a more recognised 56K PCI internal

modem,
in the hope that I can get it working but three in a row - I have never

had
these problems before and when I rang Freeserve, they said it was a

driver
or installation problem and they could not help me, pointing me to the
manufacturer of the modem if I wanted further assistance. I have been
fitting modems for years and know what I am doing and never come across
these problems before. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling 'till

I'm
blue in the face with no luck. I have tried putting the modem in slots

2,3
and 5 again with no luck.

I recognise that the three modems I've tried are on the "cheap" side but

I'm
beginning to think that it might be my system.

My System: -

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (version 10 Bios) : Intel P4 3.0 Ghz CPU (800fsb)

:
Cooling - Zalman Al/Cu 7000 Cooler : Case - Thermaltake Xaser III

Series
: Kingston Value Ram - 2 x 512Gb PC 3200 working in Dual DDR 400 Mode -
KVR400X64C3A/51 : Hercules Prophet 3D Radeon 9800 Pro (128Mb) :

PSU -
Antec TruePower 550Watt : RAID Arrays - OS - 2 x WD Raptors 36Gb

10000rpm
SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Intel ICH5R) - Storage - 2 x Seagate
Barracuda 7's 160Gb 7200rpm SATA (150) in RAID 0 config (on Promise) :
Iomega Dual DVD +/- Writer (PM) : Aopen DVD Rom (SM) : SoundBlaster
Audigy 2 ZS (pci slot 4) : Pinnacle DV 500 Capture Card (pci slot 1) :
OS - Windows XP Pro (SP1a)

If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it

very
much. By the way I am running 2 x Anytime Freeserve on my two phone

lines -
we don't get broadband until 11.02.2004

Paul


--------------------------------------------------------------------

This footnote confirms that this email message
has been swept by Norton AntiVirus for the
presence of computer viruses.

This computer is protected
by GIANT Company's Spam Inspector

---------------------------------------------------------------------






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A7N8X-E Deluxe 3000 NOT 1800 problems Wes Stebbins Overclocking AMD Processors 2 September 6th 04 08:13 AM
P4C800 Deluxe overclocking ....:::°Terrence°:::.... Overclocking 9 January 21st 04 07:48 PM
A7N8X Deluxe & 98SE Problems ! Rick Asus Motherboards 13 November 13th 03 02:29 AM
Asus P4C800 - Deluxe What is the highest Voltage I can run the vCore at Safely? Golgatha Asus Motherboards 5 November 11th 03 07:40 PM
A7N8X Deluxe Problems Jason Asus Motherboards 10 October 2nd 03 01:00 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.