A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

512MB - not, in Compaq Presario 7461



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 18th 05, 10:46 AM
Paul D.Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 512MB - not, in Compaq Presario 7461

Added 512MB to this machine. BIOS counts up to 128MB then red COMPAQ logo
on screen goes awry and machine locks up. Any suggestions? Memory seems to
match Compaq specifications (although they're vage on their website!).

Paul DS.

--
Please remove the "x-" if replying to sender.


  #2  
Old February 18th 05, 12:07 PM
Tom Scales
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Crucial, oddly, doesn't list a 7461. It does list a 7462 and indicates that
max memory is 512MB (2x256). My guess is your machine will not work with a
512mb DIMM
"Paul D.Smith" wrote in message
. net...
Added 512MB to this machine. BIOS counts up to 128MB then red COMPAQ logo
on screen goes awry and machine locks up. Any suggestions? Memory seems
to
match Compaq specifications (although they're vage on their website!).

Paul DS.

--
Please remove the "x-" if replying to sender.




  #3  
Old February 18th 05, 12:32 PM
Paul D.Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sorry, should have said its 2x256MB, as per the Compaq website
(http://www.hp.com/uk/support and search for Presario 7461).

Paul DS.

"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
Crucial, oddly, doesn't list a 7461. It does list a 7462 and indicates

that
max memory is 512MB (2x256). My guess is your machine will not work with

a
512mb DIMM
"Paul D.Smith" wrote in message
. net...
Added 512MB to this machine. BIOS counts up to 128MB then red COMPAQ

logo
on screen goes awry and machine locks up. Any suggestions? Memory

seems
to
match Compaq specifications (although they're vage on their website!).

Paul DS.

--
Please remove the "x-" if replying to sender.






  #4  
Old February 18th 05, 12:48 PM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It needs to be Single/Low density RAM. For a 256MB DIMM, it will have at
least 8 chips on each side of the DIMM. If you put a high density DIMM in,
only 128MB of it will be detected.
HH

"Paul D.Smith" wrote in message
. net...
Sorry, should have said its 2x256MB, as per the Compaq website
(http://www.hp.com/uk/support and search for Presario 7461).

Paul DS.

"Tom Scales" wrote in message
...
Crucial, oddly, doesn't list a 7461. It does list a 7462 and indicates

that
max memory is 512MB (2x256). My guess is your machine will not work with

a
512mb DIMM
"Paul D.Smith" wrote in message
. net...
Added 512MB to this machine. BIOS counts up to 128MB then red COMPAQ

logo
on screen goes awry and machine locks up. Any suggestions? Memory

seems
to
match Compaq specifications (although they're vage on their website!).

Paul DS.

--
Please remove the "x-" if replying to sender.








  #5  
Old February 18th 05, 01:13 PM
Paul D.Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"HH" wrote in message
et...
It needs to be Single/Low density RAM. For a 256MB DIMM, it will have at
least 8 chips on each side of the DIMM. If you put a high density DIMM in,
only 128MB of it will be detected.
HH


HH,

There are 8 chips on each side of the boards that I have. Should there be
more? Is there some other way to determine low/high density?

Cheers,
Paul DS.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 October 10th 04 12:49 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 September 23rd 04 12:21 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 July 31st 04 02:23 PM
Compaq FAQ HH Compaq Computers 0 July 3rd 04 04:25 AM
Compaq ready to go Jazzy Ban Compaq Computers 0 October 14th 03 02:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.