HardwareBanter

HardwareBanter (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/index.php)
-   Overclocking AMD Processors (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   FSB question (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/showthread.php?t=8576)

Ken Ruppel October 8th 04 12:32 PM

FSB question
 
I'm almost sure this is a dumb question. I'm still on an Athlon XP1700+
(w/ an Asus A7V266-E), but I believe that I need a bit more octane
because things are slowing down to a level of concern.

I believe the XP2600+ is the highest CPU that is FSB 266. However,
there are also XP2600+ with FSB 333.

My (dumb) question is: If I put the XP2600+ w/FSB 333 on my FSB 266
mobo, will I have a problem, or will it just be a matter of my not
getting the full capability of the chip?

TIA,
Ken

YanquiDawg October 8th 04 08:03 PM

If you put a 333 part in and run it at 266 it'll be running underclocked. The
266 and 333 CPU's have different multipliers that can't easily be changed. One
thing to try is a mobile chip. They have an unlocked multiplier and 266 FSB and
might run at higher than 2600. Be careful though,most 266 boards only go to
2400+,not 2600+ and check the CPU voltages your mobo supports.

I'm almost sure this is a dumb question. I'm still on an Athlon XP1700+
(w/ an Asus A7V266-E), but I believe that I need a bit more octane
because things are slowing down to a level of concern.

I believe the XP2600+ is the highest CPU that is FSB 266. However,
there are also XP2600+ with FSB 333.

My (dumb) question is: If I put the XP2600+ w/FSB 333 on my FSB 266
mobo, will I have a problem, or will it just be a matter of my not
getting the full capability of the chip?




Wes Newell October 8th 04 08:37 PM

On Fri, 08 Oct 2004 11:32:59 +0000, Ken Ruppel wrote:

I'm almost sure this is a dumb question. I'm still on an Athlon XP1700+
(w/ an Asus A7V266-E), but I believe that I need a bit more octane
because things are slowing down to a level of concern.

Depending on the model and date code of the 1700+ you have, you may be
able to clock it up to as high as a 2800+ with no ill effects. At a
minimum, you should be able to clock it to 2100+ speeds even if it's the
old original Palomino core XP.

I believe the XP2600+ is the highest CPU that is FSB 266.

Not really. Mobiles, MP's have a 266FSB (133MHz)

My (dumb) question is: If I put the XP2600+ w/FSB 333 on my FSB 266
mobo, will I have a problem, or will it just be a matter of my not
getting the full capability of the chip?

Again this depends on if it's a locked cpu or not. If it's an earlier
unlocked model XP, then you can change the multiplier and get the max
speed it will run at. Multipliers go up to 24x. Might get more info from
link below.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HardwareBanter.com