HardwareBanter

HardwareBanter (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/index.php)
-   Asus Motherboards (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You canít increase the voltage on the chipset North Bridge ? (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/showthread.php?t=33078)

Paul Mathews June 17th 04 08:54 PM

ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You canít increase the voltage on the chipset North Bridge ?
 


ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You canít increase the voltage on the chipset
North Bridge ?

Has this be changed in the bios updates ?, just saw a review and this
states the best overclock you could get was 225 ?

Must be a simple thing to do to add right ?

Thanks.




Paul Mathews June 17th 04 08:55 PM



Is this a common option in bios's ?



rstlne June 17th 04 10:43 PM


"Paul Mathews" wrote in message
...


Is this a common option in bios's ?



Cant say I have ever seen an option to do that.



Paul June 17th 04 10:45 PM

In article ,
wrote:

Is this a common option in bios's ?


No. Common options are Vcore, Vagp, Vdimm. Only a hardware hack with a
resistor can modify the Northbridge voltage, and that was only necessary
for 1.04 rev boards. Currently shipping boards should do DDR400 on
the Northbridge, no problem. As far as I can remember, you can only
push it a little further than that, so DDR400 is a fine place to stop
and enjoy the performance.

Paul

Ben Pope June 18th 04 12:57 AM

Paul Mathews wrote:
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You can't increase the voltage on the chipset
North Bridge ?

Has this be changed in the bios updates ?, just saw a review and this
states the best overclock you could get was 225 ?

Must be a simple thing to do to add right ?



The Uber 1007 BIOS I have does have that option (I think), but it doesn't
work. It needs to be wired into the motherboard and Asus didn't do that.

Ben
--
A7N8X FAQ: www.ben.pope.name/a7n8x_faq.html
Questions by email will likely be ignored, please use the newsgroups.
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...



Paul Mathews June 18th 04 04:51 AM


You sure were did you here that from ?


On Fri, 18 Jun 2004 00:57:49 +0100, "Ben Pope"
wrote:

Paul Mathews wrote:
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You can't increase the voltage on the chipset
North Bridge ?

Has this be changed in the bios updates ?, just saw a review and this
states the best overclock you could get was 225 ?

Must be a simple thing to do to add right ?



The Uber 1007 BIOS I have does have that option (I think), but it doesn't
work. It needs to be wired into the motherboard and Asus didn't do that.

Ben



Minotaur June 18th 04 05:15 AM

Paul Mathews wrote:

You sure were did you here that from ?


On Fri, 18 Jun 2004 00:57:49 +0100, "Ben Pope"
wrote:


Paul Mathews wrote:

ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe,You can't increase the voltage on the chipset
North Bridge ?

Has this be changed in the bios updates ?, just saw a review and this
states the best overclock you could get was 225 ?

Must be a simple thing to do to add right ?



The Uber 1007 BIOS I have does have that option (I think), but it doesn't
work. It needs to be wired into the motherboard and Asus didn't do that.

Ben




Pretty sure that is true, did read the same in the release notes for
UBER 1007. Option is there, but dosn't work till you have hard wired the
mod. From all my overclocking here, it seems it is that way (A7N8X-D
1.04 and now a V2.00 M/B) as it hasn't helped at all just changing the
BIOS setings for it.

Minotaur (8*

Ben Pope June 18th 04 07:55 PM

Paul Mathews wrote:
You sure were did you here that from ?


What? Whether the feature is there or whether it works?

The feature to up the voltage on one of the chipset chips (don't recall
North/South) IS there.

I think I heard that it doesn't work from various posts on nForcersHQ.
Never really tested it myself.

Ben
--
A7N8X FAQ: www.ben.pope.name/a7n8x_faq.html
Questions by email will likely be ignored, please use the newsgroups.
I'm not just a number. To many, I'm known as a String...



Paul June 19th 04 06:16 PM

In article , "Ben Pope"
wrote:

Paul Mathews wrote:
You sure were did you here that from ?


What? Whether the feature is there or whether it works?

The feature to up the voltage on one of the chipset chips (don't recall
North/South) IS there.

I think I heard that it doesn't work from various posts on nForcersHQ.
Never really tested it myself.

Ben


If you are referring to this mod:

http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=9237

the CM3708 has no programmable options. You could tie a GPIO
pin from one of the motherboard chips, to a resistor divider
network on the Vref pin, which could be used to give you two
programmable voltage values. So, it can be made adjustable,
but from the mobo manufacturers point of view, if the
Vreg had been designed properly in the first place, there
wouldn't be any need to mod it or overvolt it. The problem
was, the circuit undervolts unintentionally, and this
should have been fixed on later boards.

The datasheet for the CM3708 is he
http://www.champion-micro.com/datash...ice/CM3708.pdf

On page 6 of the datasheet, L1-C1-C2 is the filter network on the
output side of the regulator (being chinese, they drew the schematic
backwards :-). On the A7N8X-E, these components are likely to be
the coil and cap near the right hand end of the AGP slot. Maybe
someone who owns both older and newer versions of the board, could
measure the voltage at the output filter, and prove this has been
fixed.

Paul


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HardwareBanter.com