HardwareBanter

HardwareBanter (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/index.php)
-   Compaq Computers (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   SmartArray 5Si Creating Boot Volume With 32 Sector Offset (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/showthread.php?t=156706)

Will August 31st 07 04:02 AM

SmartArray 5Si Creating Boot Volume With 32 Sector Offset
 
The boot volume on a DL585 server with a SmartArray 5Si adapter is being
created with a 32 sector offset. This is seen under Windows 2003 64-bit
using Symantec Storage Foundation for Windows Basic 5.0. Every other
device created under Windows has a 63 sector offset. Even other drives
created using the same SmartArray controller start at an offset of sector
63.

I cannot mirror the system volume as a dynamic disk mirror when the offset
is under 63. My questions a

1) Is the 32 sector offset seen on the boot device a side effect of using
the "Enable 4GB" boot volume BIOS option for the smartarray? Is there a
way I can change that setting after the logical drive is initially created?

2) Is there an straightforward way for me to move the system partition such
that it has an offset of 63? What utility would be needed for this and I
guess I would need to make the disk a simple disk instead of dynamic.

--
Will



HH August 31st 07 12:46 PM

SmartArray 5Si Creating Boot Volume With 32 Sector Offset
 
Will,
You likely will get a quicker, better answer if you post in
alt.sys.pc-clone.compaq.servers newsgroup.

HH


"Will" wrote in message
...
The boot volume on a DL585 server with a SmartArray 5Si adapter is being
created with a 32 sector offset. This is seen under Windows 2003 64-bit
using Symantec Storage Foundation for Windows Basic 5.0. Every other
device created under Windows has a 63 sector offset. Even other drives
created using the same SmartArray controller start at an offset of sector
63.

I cannot mirror the system volume as a dynamic disk mirror when the offset
is under 63. My questions a

1) Is the 32 sector offset seen on the boot device a side effect of using
the "Enable 4GB" boot volume BIOS option for the smartarray? Is there a
way I can change that setting after the logical drive is initially
created?

2) Is there an straightforward way for me to move the system partition
such that it has an offset of 63? What utility would be needed for this
and I guess I would need to make the disk a simple disk instead of
dynamic.

--
Will





All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HardwareBanter.com