PDA

View Full Version : Sempron 333 FSB into 266 FSB motherboard?


TripleEight
January 12th 05, 08:31 PM
When a Sempron 2200 rated at 333FSB is installed onto an older 266FSB
motherboard would it still retain it's retail it's "2200" speed? I am trying to
do this and hoping that due to different FSB's it would automatically adjust
it's multiplier automatically :/

Dee
January 12th 05, 09:14 PM
TripleEight wrote:
> When a Sempron 2200 rated at 333FSB is installed onto an older 266FSB
> motherboard would it still retain it's retail it's "2200" speed? I am trying to
> do this and hoping that due to different FSB's it would automatically adjust
> it's multiplier automatically :/
>

The multiplier is fixed. If you put it in a system with a slower bus,
the CPU Speed will be Multiplier times Bus. I don't know the CPU's
rated speed, but if it were 1800 MHz with a 333FSB, that's a multiplier
of about 5.5. So, if you install it in a 266FSB, the CPU speed would be
266 x 5.5 = about 1,467 MHz. I wouldn't guess on it rating, but the
2200 is a rating compared to a Celeron at 2200 MHz, not the speed of the
Sempron.

TripleEight
January 12th 05, 09:35 PM
"Dee" > wrote in message
...
| TripleEight wrote:
| > When a Sempron 2200 rated at 333FSB is installed onto an older 266FSB
| > motherboard would it still retain it's retail it's "2200" speed? I am trying
to
| > do this and hoping that due to different FSB's it would automatically adjust
| > it's multiplier automatically :/
| >
|
| The multiplier is fixed. If you put it in a system with a slower bus,
| the CPU Speed will be Multiplier times Bus. I don't know the CPU's
| rated speed, but if it were 1800 MHz with a 333FSB, that's a multiplier
| of about 5.5. So, if you install it in a 266FSB, the CPU speed would be
| 266 x 5.5 = about 1,467 MHz. I wouldn't guess on it rating, but the
| 2200 is a rating compared to a Celeron at 2200 MHz, not the speed of the
| Sempron.
|
|

Thanks for the info. I think I would still do it. I'm going to take my Athlon XP
2200+ back from my brother's pc and give him the Sempron :)

Wes Newell
January 12th 05, 10:41 PM
On Wed, 12 Jan 2005 20:35:23 +0000, TripleEight wrote:

> Thanks for the info. I think I would still do it. I'm going to take my
> Athlon XP 2200+ back from my brother's pc and give him the Sempron :)

The one thing about the new Semprons is that probably all of them are new
cores (meaning Tbred B or later). While your old 2200+ will be
considerably faster than a Sempron 2200+ at stock speeds, if you have an
old A core XP, it doesn't really have much overclocking potential, while
the Sempron with a newer core does. Of course if you can't raise the FSB
to 200MHz and higher or change the Sempron into a mobile to unlock the
multipliers, then that's all moot and you definately want the XP, even if
it is an old A core. FYI, the Sempron 2200+ has a 9 multiplier and only
runs at 1500MHz. that's slower than an 1800+ XP. Put it in a board that
does have Sempron support and it will probably be shown as either a 1700+
or 1800+ XP., as Athlon XP ratings are determined by clockspeed and cache
size. The problem with all the Semprons is even if you can raise the FSB
to 200MHz, you are still just taking it up to the speed of a regular XP
with the same rating. IOW's 9x200=1800MHz, the speed of a 2200+ XP. And at
the price they are today, they aren't worth anything close to it when you
can buy a real.... Well, see Sempron in link below and check current
prices.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

Dee
January 15th 05, 01:38 AM
TripleEight wrote:

> "Dee" > wrote in message
> ...
> | TripleEight wrote:
> | > When a Sempron 2200 rated at 333FSB is installed onto an older 266FSB
> | > motherboard would it still retain it's retail it's "2200" speed? I am trying
> to
> | > do this and hoping that due to different FSB's it would automatically adjust
> | > it's multiplier automatically :/
> | >
> |
> | The multiplier is fixed. If you put it in a system with a slower bus,
> | the CPU Speed will be Multiplier times Bus. I don't know the CPU's
> | rated speed, but if it were 1800 MHz with a 333FSB, that's a multiplier
> | of about 5.5. So, if you install it in a 266FSB, the CPU speed would be
> | 266 x 5.5 = about 1,467 MHz. I wouldn't guess on it rating, but the
> | 2200 is a rating compared to a Celeron at 2200 MHz, not the speed of the
> | Sempron.
> |
> |
>
> Thanks for the info. I think I would still do it. I'm going to take my Athlon XP
> 2200+ back from my brother's pc and give him the Sempron :)
>

I had a brain fart before.

Only half the FSB speed is used.

333/2=167. 1800/167= about 11 (the multiplier).

266/3=133. 133*11= about 1,467MHz.

TripleEight
January 15th 05, 06:46 PM
"Dee" > wrote in message
...
| TripleEight wrote:
|
| > "Dee" > wrote in message
| > ...
| > | TripleEight wrote:
| > | > When a Sempron 2200 rated at 333FSB is installed onto an older 266FSB
| > | > motherboard would it still retain it's retail it's "2200" speed? I am
trying
| > to
| > | > do this and hoping that due to different FSB's it would automatically
adjust
| > | > it's multiplier automatically :/
| > | >
| > |
| > | The multiplier is fixed. If you put it in a system with a slower bus,
| > | the CPU Speed will be Multiplier times Bus. I don't know the CPU's
| > | rated speed, but if it were 1800 MHz with a 333FSB, that's a multiplier
| > | of about 5.5. So, if you install it in a 266FSB, the CPU speed would be
| > | 266 x 5.5 = about 1,467 MHz. I wouldn't guess on it rating, but the
| > | 2200 is a rating compared to a Celeron at 2200 MHz, not the speed of the
| > | Sempron.
| > |
| > |
| >
| > Thanks for the info. I think I would still do it. I'm going to take my
Athlon XP
| > 2200+ back from my brother's pc and give him the Sempron :)
| >
|
| I had a brain fart before.
|
| Only half the FSB speed is used.
|
| 333/2=167. 1800/167= about 11 (the multiplier).
|
| 266/3=133. 133*11= about 1,467MHz.
|
|

Yes I know. BUS speed is different to FSB. For FSB=166Mhz BUS=333MHz, etc.

After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I got a
"1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than 1500MHz (retail
speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's corresponding model rating? I
guess Sempron "2000" (??).

Thanks.

Dee
January 15th 05, 06:55 PM
TripleEight wrote:

> Yes I know. BUS speed is different to FSB. For FSB=166Mhz BUS=333MHz, etc.
>
> After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I got a
> "1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than 1500MHz (retail
> speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's corresponding model rating? I
> guess Sempron "2000" (??).
>
> Thanks.
>

Don't remember where I found this, but I downloaded it on Dec 21, 04


AMD Desktop Sempron Roadmap:

Processor Clock Socket Launch End of
Speed Date Line
================================================== =====
Sempron 3500+ ??? 754 Q1'06
Sempron 3400+ ??? 939 Q3'05
Sempron 3400+ ??? 754 Q4'05
Sempron 3300+ ??? 754 Q2'05
Sempron 3200+ ??? 939 Q1'05
Sempron 3200+ ??? 754 Q1'05
Sempron 3100+ 1.8 GHz 754 Now
Sempron 3000+ ??? 939 Q1'05
Sempron 3000+ ??? 754 Q1'05
Sempron 2800+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q1'06
Sempron 2600+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q4'05
Sempron 3000+ 2.00 GHz 512K A Now Q3'05
Sempron 2800+ 2.0 GHz A Now Q3'05
Sempron 2600+ 1.83 GHz A Now Q3'05
Sempron 2500+ 1.75 GHz A Now Q3'05
Sempron 2400+ 1.67 GHz A Now Q1'05
Sempron 2300+ 1.58 GHz A Now Q1'05
Sempron 2200+ 1.5 GHz A Now Q1'05

TripleEight
January 15th 05, 08:41 PM
"Dee" > wrote in message
...
| TripleEight wrote:
|
| > Yes I know. BUS speed is different to FSB. For FSB=166Mhz BUS=333MHz, etc.
| >
| > After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I got a
| > "1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than 1500MHz (retail
| > speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's corresponding model
rating? I
| > guess Sempron "2000" (??).
| >
| > Thanks.
| >
|
| Don't remember where I found this, but I downloaded it on Dec 21, 04
|
|
| AMD Desktop Sempron Roadmap:
|
| Processor Clock Socket Launch End of
| Speed Date Line
| ================================================== =====
| Sempron 3500+ ??? 754 Q1'06
| Sempron 3400+ ??? 939 Q3'05
| Sempron 3400+ ??? 754 Q4'05
| Sempron 3300+ ??? 754 Q2'05
| Sempron 3200+ ??? 939 Q1'05
| Sempron 3200+ ??? 754 Q1'05
| Sempron 3100+ 1.8 GHz 754 Now
| Sempron 3000+ ??? 939 Q1'05
| Sempron 3000+ ??? 754 Q1'05
| Sempron 2800+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q1'06
| Sempron 2600+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q4'05
| Sempron 3000+ 2.00 GHz 512K A Now Q3'05
| Sempron 2800+ 2.0 GHz A Now Q3'05
| Sempron 2600+ 1.83 GHz A Now Q3'05
| Sempron 2500+ 1.75 GHz A Now Q3'05
| Sempron 2400+ 1.67 GHz A Now Q1'05
| Sempron 2300+ 1.58 GHz A Now Q1'05
| Sempron 2200+ 1.5 GHz A Now Q1'05
|

Thanks! According to your nice list. Taking only the bottom few cpus and
assuming nomial speed is linear to true speed, the 1.2GHz Sempron is roughly
equivalent to a "Sempron 1750", which of course doesn't exists :/

January 15th 05, 09:27 PM
On Sat, 15 Jan 2005 19:41:06 -0000, "TripleEight" > wrote:

>
>"Dee" > wrote in message
...
>| TripleEight wrote:
>
>| > Yes I know. BUS speed is different to FSB. For FSB=166Mhz BUS=333MHz, etc.

>| > After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I got a
>| > "1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than 1500MHz (retail
>| > speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's corresponding model
>rating? I
>| > guess Sempron "2000" (??).

>| > Thanks.


>| Don't remember where I found this, but I downloaded it on Dec 21, 04


>| AMD Desktop Sempron Roadmap:

>| Processor Clock Socket Launch End of
>| Speed Date Line
>| ================================================== =====
>| Sempron 3500+ ??? 754 Q1'06
>| Sempron 3400+ ??? 939 Q3'05
>| Sempron 3400+ ??? 754 Q4'05
>| Sempron 3300+ ??? 754 Q2'05
>| Sempron 3200+ ??? 939 Q1'05
>| Sempron 3200+ ??? 754 Q1'05
>| Sempron 3100+ 1.8 GHz 754 Now
>| Sempron 3000+ ??? 939 Q1'05
>| Sempron 3000+ ??? 754 Q1'05
>| Sempron 2800+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q1'06
>| Sempron 2600+ ??? 754 Q1'05 Q4'05
>| Sempron 3000+ 2.00 GHz 512K A Now Q3'05
>| Sempron 2800+ 2.0 GHz A Now Q3'05
>| Sempron 2600+ 1.83 GHz A Now Q3'05
>| Sempron 2500+ 1.75 GHz A Now Q3'05
>| Sempron 2400+ 1.67 GHz A Now Q1'05
>| Sempron 2300+ 1.58 GHz A Now Q1'05
>| Sempron 2200+ 1.5 GHz A Now Q1'05


>Thanks! According to your nice list. Taking only the bottom few cpus and
>assuming nomial speed is linear to true speed, the 1.2GHz Sempron is roughly
>equivalent to a "Sempron 1750", which of course doesn't exists :/

The Sempron is a Tbred B core with

- a new name
- clocked slower
- using a different set of benchmarks and
- numbering it higher

If you want to compare speeds between the Semprons, just subtract 400
from the model number and you will then have the same as the XP. The
same goes for socket 754 Semprons.

See posts by Wes Newell

Wes Newell
January 15th 05, 10:59 PM
On Sat, 15 Jan 2005 17:46:56 +0000, TripleEight wrote:

> After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I
> got a "1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than
> 1500MHz (retail speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's
> corresponding model rating? I guess Sempron "2000" (??).
>
Well, change the FSB to 166Mhz if possible and you will have the default
speed of the Sempron. If it's a Sempron 2800+, then the MB should report
it as a 2400+ XP (which it basically is). if his board won't support a
166Mhz FSB, then set it to 133Mhz (or maybe up to 145MHz). Set at 133MHz,
it should run at 1600MHz and be reported as an XP 2000+. If he's got a
real old board that doesn't support 133MHz, then you're screwed. Might get
the FSB up to about 114-116MHz for a little more speed, but I'd call it
basically worthless in a board of this type. A 1200Mhz reading would rate
it somewhere around an XP 1300+ or Sempron model 1700+. He'd be much
better off with a used XP that the multiplier could be changed on. You
could mod it to a mobile (XP-M) and set the max multiplier up to 24x, but
without mods, you don't have many choices.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

TripleEight
January 15th 05, 11:29 PM
"Wes Newell" > wrote in message
news:[email protected] .net...
| On Sat, 15 Jan 2005 17:46:56 +0000, TripleEight wrote:
|
| > After installing the Sempron on my brother's non-Sempron motherboard I
| > got a "1200MHz" (underclocked!) processor. It is 300MHz lower than
| > 1500MHz (retail speed). So what is a Sempron 1.2MHz in terms it's
| > corresponding model rating? I guess Sempron "2000" (??).
| >
| Well, change the FSB to 166Mhz if possible and you will have the default
| speed of the Sempron. If it's a Sempron 2800+, then the MB should report
| it as a 2400+ XP (which it basically is). if his board won't support a
| 166Mhz FSB, then set it to 133Mhz (or maybe up to 145MHz). Set at 133MHz,
| it should run at 1600MHz and be reported as an XP 2000+. If he's got a
| real old board that doesn't support 133MHz, then you're screwed. Might get
| the FSB up to about 114-116MHz for a little more speed, but I'd call it
| basically worthless in a board of this type. A 1200Mhz reading would rate
| it somewhere around an XP 1300+ or Sempron model 1700+. He'd be much
| better off with a used XP that the multiplier could be changed on. You
| could mod it to a mobile (XP-M) and set the max multiplier up to 24x, but
| without mods, you don't have many choices.
|

Well he's got the Soyo Dragon Ultra VIA KT333 chipset which only supports max
FSB 133Mhz and max memory BUS 333MHz.

On the newer motherboard with FSB 166, my Sempron 2200 ran at 1.5GHz (= 166 x
9).

Since multiplier is locked (seems to be anyway), on the KT333 it runs at 1.2GHz
(= 133 x 9). To get it to work at the retail speed, the multiplier would be 11
(11 x 133 = 1463).

I think the older KT333 has to live with the speed :/

Wes Newell
January 16th 05, 10:39 AM
On Sat, 15 Jan 2005 22:29:15 +0000, TripleEight wrote:

> Well he's got the Soyo Dragon Ultra VIA KT333 chipset which only supports max
> FSB 133Mhz and max memory BUS 333MHz.
>
That board should be able to support a 166Mhz FSB. The KT333 chipset does
unofficially anyway.. Look for a newer bios are a mod for this board. to
fix it.

> On the newer motherboard with FSB 166, my Sempron 2200 ran at 1.5GHz (=
> 166 x 9).
>
My mistake, I thought it was a Sempron 2800+ you had. I guess that was
someone else. You really need a board with a PCI lock that will run a high
FSB to get the most out of Semprons, and with a 9 multiplier, you'd need a
FSB of a real 266MH to get to the max speed it's capable of. Basically,
socket A Semprons are worthless be cause of the low multiplier. Might ask
if anyone has done the mobile mod to it so you could run it at it's max
potential that way.. Here's a link for you if you're interested in that.

http://fab51.com/cpu/barton/athlon-e24.html

> Since multiplier is locked (seems to be anyway), on the KT333 it runs at
> 1.2GHz (= 133 x 9). To get it to work at the retail speed, the
> multiplier would be 11 (11 x 133 = 1463).
>
> I think the older KT333 has to live with the speed :/

I'd be interested on how they crippled it. The KT333 chipset is cable of
very high FSB speeds, but only has support for a 5 divider which limits
its useful FSB speed to about 185MHz on most boards. But, this could be a
MB maker limitation. My first board was a Soyo. $700 with a 3386-33. Never
bought another one. good luck.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

TripleEight
January 16th 05, 01:41 PM
"Wes Newell" > wrote in message
news:[email protected] .net...
| On Sat, 15 Jan 2005 22:29:15 +0000, TripleEight wrote:
|
| > Well he's got the Soyo Dragon Ultra VIA KT333 chipset which only supports
max
| > FSB 133Mhz and max memory BUS 333MHz.
| >
| That board should be able to support a 166Mhz FSB. The KT333 chipset does
| unofficially anyway.. Look for a newer bios are a mod for this board. to
| fix it.
|
| > On the newer motherboard with FSB 166, my Sempron 2200 ran at 1.5GHz (=
| > 166 x 9).
| >
| My mistake, I thought it was a Sempron 2800+ you had. I guess that was
| someone else. You really need a board with a PCI lock that will run a high
| FSB to get the most out of Semprons, and with a 9 multiplier, you'd need a
| FSB of a real 266MH to get to the max speed it's capable of. Basically,
| socket A Semprons are worthless be cause of the low multiplier. Might ask
| if anyone has done the mobile mod to it so you could run it at it's max
| potential that way.. Here's a link for you if you're interested in that.
|
| http://fab51.com/cpu/barton/athlon-e24.html
|
| > Since multiplier is locked (seems to be anyway), on the KT333 it runs at
| > 1.2GHz (= 133 x 9). To get it to work at the retail speed, the
| > multiplier would be 11 (11 x 133 = 1463).
| >
| > I think the older KT333 has to live with the speed :/
|
| I'd be interested on how they crippled it. The KT333 chipset is cable of
| very high FSB speeds, but only has support for a 5 divider which limits
| its useful FSB speed to about 185MHz on most boards. But, this could be a
| MB maker limitation. My first board was a Soyo. $700 with a 3386-33. Never
| bought another one. good luck.
|
| --
| Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
| http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

I myself use the Athlon XP 2600+ Barton 512K and suprisingly it is totally
unlocked above multiplier 6 or 7 (can't remember exactly). It is rated at FSB
166 but because I have the nForce 2 which can support up to FSB 200 I actually
set it to run at 200. With memory in-sync (400), I am running the cpu at 200 at
clock 2000MHz (= 10 x 200). Of course, I had to lower the multiplier since it's
default at 11!

I can boot up with no problems up to a multiplier of 11.5!!! But it gets
unstable after I run a game. So my conclusion is the best way to overclock the
CPU (only) is to ideally have the following:

- Motherboard that supports higher BUS frequncies than your CPU
- Memory that are made to run within range of the overlcocked cpu frequncy
- Good case and cpu cooler (mine run at 45C max and 35C idle (case temp:cpu temp
is 1:1 believe it or not**! And the pc is quiet too :) )




**cpu fan draws air directly from the surroundings