PDA

View Full Version : CPU temp Monitor for ZNF3-250


Carlo Razzeto
August 8th 04, 08:12 PM
Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an decent
3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out MBM 5 with
the latest updates but in only officially supports the ZNF3-150, and when it
started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C to 1C (I would love those
temps but that's not very relisitic!). Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and
up to 73C under load. However when I look at the display from my Ahainx
Black Knight (sensor sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C
idle. What I'm woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's
CPU monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put the
sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But, I just
want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!

Carlo Razzeto

Wes Newell
August 8th 04, 08:55 PM
On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 15:12:57 -0400, Carlo Razzeto wrote:

> Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
> Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an decent
> 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out MBM 5 with
> the latest updates but in only officially supports the ZNF3-150, and when it
> started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C to 1C (I would love those
> temps but that's not very relisitic!).

So configure MBM to read the right sensor.

> Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However when
> I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor sitting next
> to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm woundering is
> which is more correct.

If Chaintech is reading the die temp, it will be, and it's high. Stock
cooler?

> I'm thinking my case's CPU monitor is more correct because when took off
> the heat sink to put the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very
> warm at all. But, I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
>
Then maybe your cooler isn't installed properly. It should be warm to the
touch even with low temps. If it isn't warm then it's not doing it's job.
I'd make sure the thermal compound is there and the cooler is on right.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

JL
August 8th 04, 09:44 PM
It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+ CPU and
the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch the
heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my finger off.
The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads my pc3200
memory.

Carlo Razzeto wrote:
> Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
> Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
> decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out
> MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
> ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C
> to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
> Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However
> when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
> sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
> woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
> monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
> the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But,
> I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
>
> Carlo Razzeto
>

Carlo Razzeto
August 8th 04, 10:06 PM
I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed when the
highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm really hopeing there
is a fix for this.

Carlo

"JL" > wrote in message
...
> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+ CPU
and
> the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch the
> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my finger
off.
> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads my
pc3200
> memory.
>
> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
> > Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
> > Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
> > decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out
> > MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
> > ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C
> > to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
> > Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However
> > when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
> > sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
> > woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
> > monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
> > the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But,
> > I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
> >
> > Carlo Razzeto
> >
>
>

Carlo Razzeto
August 8th 04, 10:17 PM
"Wes Newell" > wrote in message
news:[email protected] .net...
> On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 15:12:57 -0400, Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>

<SNIP>

>
> So configure MBM to read the right sensor.
>
Played around with the different sensors, didn't have any luck.

<SNIP>

>
> If Chaintech is reading the die temp, it will be, and it's high. Stock
> cooler?



>
> > I'm thinking my case's CPU monitor is more correct because when took off
> > the heat sink to put the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very
> > warm at all. But, I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
> >
> Then maybe your cooler isn't installed properly. It should be warm to the
> touch even with low temps. If it isn't warm then it's not doing it's job.
> I'd make sure the thermal compound is there and the cooler is on right.
>

Apparently you mis-read the "not very warm at all" statement. Indeed the
Heatsink is warm to the touch when I turn off my system, it just isn't all
that hot compared to what I'm used to dealing with. As you guessed earlier
yes I do use stock cooling, I don't seen any reason to get anything "better"
as I do not overclock (unless it turns out the MB is right). Before I
started fiddinly with the case's cpu temp sensor I had attached the heat
sink to the bracket around the CPU socket, attaching both ends of the
heatsink clip to the "hooks" (can't think of a better word at the moment) on
the mounting bracket. I then pushed down the lever on the back end of the
CPU as illistrated. When I removed the heatsink to place my case's CPU temps
sensor next to the CPU under the heatsink as recommended the CPU it's self
actually came off with the heatsink! So I think I have the heatsink
installed properly, it's certaily making good contact! Since taking off my
heatsink I have replaced the stock thermal compound with Antec Reference
Silver.

Carlo

> --
> Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
> http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

George Hizinwak
August 9th 04, 01:15 AM
Did you install two sticks of DDRAM? If so use the slots closest to the CPU.
If you have installed only one stick, then chose AUTO for the DDRAM speed.


"Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
...
>I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed when the
> highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm really hopeing
> there
> is a fix for this.
>
> Carlo
>
> "JL" > wrote in message
> ...
>> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+ CPU
> and
>> the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch the
>> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my finger
> off.
>> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads my
> pc3200
>> memory.
>>
>> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>> > Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
>> > Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
>> > decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out
>> > MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
>> > ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C
>> > to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
>> > Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However
>> > when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
>> > sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
>> > woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
>> > monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
>> > the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But,
>> > I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
>> >
>> > Carlo Razzeto
>> >
>>
>>
>
>

Wes Newell
August 9th 04, 01:35 AM
On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 17:17:03 -0400, Carlo Razzeto wrote:

>
> "Wes Newell" > wrote in message
> news:[email protected] .net...
>> On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 15:12:57 -0400, Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>
> <SNIP>
>
>> So configure MBM to read the right sensor.
>>
> Played around with the different sensors, didn't have any luck.
>
Do you know where your sensor readings are taken from? My boards not
supported by MBM either (S755MAX), but I knew the readinds came from the
IT8705F chip. Finally found the right one (sensor 3 diode) of the 6
settings.. To start, I just chose another board with a sis chipset, even
though it wasn't the same chipset I had. Didn't find a sis 755 chipset
board listed in the db.

> <SNIP>
>
>> If Chaintech is reading the die temp, it will be, and it's high. Stock
>> cooler?
>
>> > I'm thinking my case's CPU monitor is more correct because when took
>> > off the heat sink to put the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink
>> > wasn't very warm at all. But, I just want to be sure. Thanks for all
>> > the help!
>> >
>> Then maybe your cooler isn't installed properly. It should be warm to
>> the touch even with low temps. If it isn't warm then it's not doing
>> it's job. I'd make sure the thermal compound is there and the cooler is
>> on right.
>>
>>
> Apparently you mis-read the "not very warm at all" statement. Indeed the

I tooh your not very warn at all to mean cool, well, cool compared to what
it should be..:-)

> Heatsink is warm to the touch when I turn off my system, it just isn't
> all that hot compared to what I'm used to dealing with. As you guessed
> earlier yes I do use stock cooling, I don't seen any reason to get
> anything "better" as I do not overclock (unless it turns out the MB is
> right).

The stock coolers are pretty bad compared even to a cheap $10 cooler. Even
at stock speeds, they get hotter than I like. Both of my home machines
idle in the mid 30's and never get close to 50C under load.

> I have replaced the stock thermal compound with Antec Reference Silver.
>
Artic silver I assume, Just hype. All thermal compounds cool about the
same, even axle grease. And it's a lot easier to clean.:-)

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

Carlo Razzeto
August 9th 04, 01:36 AM
I have 3 sticks, 1 512MB and 2 256MB all PC3200. The 512 is double sided and
in slot 1.

Carlo

"George Hizinwak" > wrote in message
...
> Did you install two sticks of DDRAM? If so use the slots closest to the
CPU.
> If you have installed only one stick, then chose AUTO for the DDRAM speed.
>
>
> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
> ...
> >I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed when
the
> > highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm really hopeing
> > there
> > is a fix for this.
> >
> > Carlo
> >
> > "JL" > wrote in message
> > ...
> >> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+
CPU
> > and
> >> the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch the
> >> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my finger
> > off.
> >> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads my
> > pc3200
> >> memory.
> >>
> >> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
> >> > Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
> >> > Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
> >> > decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried out
> >> > MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
> >> > ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C
> >> > to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
> >> > Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However
> >> > when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
> >> > sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
> >> > woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
> >> > monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
> >> > the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But,
> >> > I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
> >> >
> >> > Carlo Razzeto
> >> >
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

George Hizinwak
August 9th 04, 02:13 AM
That is the problem then. Remove the stick furthest away from the CPU, and
your speed should now show 400mhz.


"Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
...
>I have 3 sticks, 1 512MB and 2 256MB all PC3200. The 512 is double sided
>and
> in slot 1.
>
> Carlo
>
> "George Hizinwak" > wrote in message
> ...
>> Did you install two sticks of DDRAM? If so use the slots closest to the
> CPU.
>> If you have installed only one stick, then chose AUTO for the DDRAM
>> speed.
>>
>>
>> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
>> ...
>> >I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed when
> the
>> > highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm really hopeing
>> > there
>> > is a fix for this.
>> >
>> > Carlo
>> >
>> > "JL" > wrote in message
>> > ...
>> >> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+
> CPU
>> > and
>> >> the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch
>> >> the
>> >> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my
>> >> finger
>> > off.
>> >> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads my
>> > pc3200
>> >> memory.
>> >>
>> >> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>> >> > Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
>> >> > Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
>> >> > decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried
>> >> > out
>> >> > MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
>> >> > ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display -6C
>> >> > to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
>> >> > Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load. However
>> >> > when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
>> >> > sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
>> >> > woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
>> >> > monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
>> >> > the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all.
>> >> > But,
>> >> > I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
>> >> >
>> >> > Carlo Razzeto
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >>
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>
>

JL
August 9th 04, 04:36 AM
I only have two sticks of 512 each in the first two slots and it reads them
incorrectly. I know they are pc3200 it is definitelly a bios problem. In the
first bios they were read properly. It must be something they did to try and
fix an issue in the first bios.

George Hizinwak wrote:
> That is the problem then. Remove the stick furthest away from the
> CPU, and your speed should now show 400mhz.
>
>
> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
> ...
>> I have 3 sticks, 1 512MB and 2 256MB all PC3200. The 512 is double
>> sided and
>> in slot 1.
>>
>> Carlo
>>
>> "George Hizinwak" > wrote in message
>> ...
>>> Did you install two sticks of DDRAM? If so use the slots closest to
>>> the CPU. If you have installed only one stick, then chose AUTO for
>>> the DDRAM speed.
>>>
>>>
>>> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
>>> ...
>>>> I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed
>>>> when the highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm
>>>> really hopeing there
>>>> is a fix for this.
>>>>
>>>> Carlo
>>>>
>>>> "JL" > wrote in message
>>>> ...
>>>>> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a
>>>>> 3200+ CPU and the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like
>>>>> you said, I touch the
>>>>> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my
>>>>> finger
>>>> off.
>>>>> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly
>>>>> reads my pc3200 memory.
>>>>>
>>>>> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>>>>>> Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech
>>>>>> ZNF3-250 Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if
>>>>>> there is an decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that
>>>>>> board. I tried out
>>>>>> MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
>>>>>> ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would display
>>>>>> -6C to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very
>>>>>> relisitic!). Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C
>>>>>> under load. However when I look at the display from my Ahainx
>>>>>> Black Knight (sensor sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it
>>>>>> displays 41C idle. What I'm woundering is which is more correct.
>>>>>> I'm thinking my case's CPU monitor is more correct because when
>>>>>> took off the heat sink to put the sensor next to the CPU the
>>>>>> heatsink wasn't very warm at all. But,
>>>>>> I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Carlo Razzeto
>>>>>>

Carlo Razzeto
August 9th 04, 05:40 AM
Yeah, much like LJ my system was also reading 400MHz prior to the BIOS
upgrade. I have read up on the memory configuration in the user manual and
the only caution was that the double sided DIMM must reside in slot 1. Other
than that there shouldn't be an issue, hopefully chaintech will fix this
issue soon. I would hate to see them kill a perfectly good design with lousy
BIOS support.



Carlo



"George Hizinwak" > wrote in message
...
> That is the problem then. Remove the stick furthest away from the CPU, and
> your speed should now show 400mhz.
>
>
> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
> ...
> >I have 3 sticks, 1 512MB and 2 256MB all PC3200. The 512 is double sided
> >and
> > in slot 1.
> >
> > Carlo
> >
> > "George Hizinwak" > wrote in message
> > ...
> >> Did you install two sticks of DDRAM? If so use the slots closest to the
> > CPU.
> >> If you have installed only one stick, then chose AUTO for the DDRAM
> >> speed.
> >>
> >>
> >> "Carlo Razzeto" > wrote in message
> >> ...
> >> >I just installed the newest BIOS as well, was really dissapointed when
> > the
> >> > highest frequency I can set my memory to is 333MHz. I'm really
hopeing
> >> > there
> >> > is a fix for this.
> >> >
> >> > Carlo
> >> >
> >> > "JL" > wrote in message
> >> > ...
> >> >> It's a known problem with these boards. I have the same with a 3200+
> > CPU
> >> > and
> >> >> the temp reading by digidoc cannot be right. Like you said, I touch
> >> >> the
> >> >> heatsink and it feels warm but not enough to cause me to take my
> >> >> finger
> >> > off.
> >> >> The new 2.0 bios does seem to read better but it incorrectly reads
my
> >> > pc3200
> >> >> memory.
> >> >>
> >> >> Carlo Razzeto wrote:
> >> >> > Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech
ZNF3-250
> >> >> > Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is
an
> >> >> > decent 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board. I tried
> >> >> > out
> >> >> > MBM 5 with the latest updates but in only officially supports the
> >> >> > ZNF3-150, and when it started tracking CPU temp it would
display -6C
> >> >> > to 1C (I would love those temps but that's not very relisitic!).
> >> >> > Chaintechs DigiDoc shows 65C idle and up to 73C under load.
However
> >> >> > when I look at the display from my Ahainx Black Knight (sensor
> >> >> > sitting next to CPU under heatsink) it displays 41C idle. What I'm
> >> >> > woundering is which is more correct. I'm thinking my case's CPU
> >> >> > monitor is more correct because when took off the heat sink to put
> >> >> > the sensor next to the CPU the heatsink wasn't very warm at all.
> >> >> > But,
> >> >> > I just want to be sure. Thanks for all the help!
> >> >> >
> >> >> > Carlo Razzeto
> >> >> >
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >
> >> >
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

Joakim Mutka
August 9th 04, 08:03 AM
On Sun, 8 Aug 2004 15:12:57 -0400, Carlo Razzeto >
wrote:

> Hey there, I have an Athlon64 3000+ sitting in a Chaintech ZNF3-250
> Motherboard. What I'm woundering is, if anyone knows if there is an
> decent
> 3rd party CPU temp monitor program for that board.


Try speedfan: http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

--
Sodassa saa polttaa rauhassa.

Carlo Razzeto
August 10th 04, 03:24 AM
"Wes Newell" > wrote in message
news:[email protected] .net...
> On Sun, 08 Aug 2004 17:17:03 -0400, Carlo Razzeto wrote:
>
> Do you know where your sensor readings are taken from? My boards not
> supported by MBM either (S755MAX), but I knew the readinds came from the
> IT8705F chip. Finally found the right one (sensor 3 diode) of the 6
> settings.. To start, I just chose another board with a sis chipset, even
> though it wasn't the same chipset I had. Didn't find a sis 755 chipset
> board listed in the db.

Not really, I suppose if I had patience I could play with it... But then
again if I was patient I would probably work in help desk instead of being a
programmer ;-)

>

> I tooh your not very warn at all to mean cool, well, cool compared to what
> it should be..:-)

Well, just in case it's warm not not nearly hot enough to burn.. Currently
my case's cpu temp monitor reads 45C, which compared to what I was feeling
seems more realistic than 70C. I can't imagin my cases cpu temp monitor is
all that wrong considering it's under the heat sink next to the cpu... Not
the most accurate reading I'm sure, but not terribly inaccurate I would
imagin.

> The stock coolers are pretty bad compared even to a cheap $10 cooler. Even
> at stock speeds, they get hotter than I like. Both of my home machines
> idle in the mid 30's and never get close to 50C under load.
>

Was considering getting an after market one, last night I decided to take
the plung. I'm not sure that it will really do anything for me but we'll
see..

> Artic silver I assume, Just hype. All thermal compounds cool about the
> same, even axle grease. And it's a lot easier to clean.:-)

Nope, Antec. They make Power Supply's/Cases/HSF Coolers and thermal grease.
Picked it up at the local staples for about $15 if I'm remembering it
correctly. I just needed a tube of decent thermal compound, so far so good.

>
> --
> Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
> http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm