PDA

View Full Version : AMD64 vs. a floating point operation (FLOP)


Only NoSpammers
June 10th 04, 07:52 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a 3GHz
AMD64 CPU give?

--
Mazi

Early 2 Riz
June 10th 04, 07:56 PM
I was not aware that there was an AMD64 CPU running at 3GHz ???



"Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s54...
> Hi,
>
> Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a 3GHz
> AMD64 CPU give?
>
> --
> Mazi
>
>

Jason Cothran
June 11th 04, 12:55 AM
"Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s54...
| Hi,
|
| Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a 3GHz
| AMD64 CPU give?
|

When one is sold, we will let you know <wink>.

Jason Cothran
June 11th 04, 01:07 AM
But, FWIW, my 2GHz mobile A64 gives 3200+MFLOPs (3,200,000,000+/- FLOPs,
3.2+ "GigaFLOPs") FPU, and 4100+MFLOPs(4,100,000,000+ FLOPs, 4.1+
"GigaFLOPs") iSSE2. Both measurements quoted from within a 32bit
invironment.

neil s
June 20th 04, 05:27 PM
On Thu, 10 Jun 2004 13:56:33 -0500, Early 2 Riz wrote:

> I was not aware that there was an AMD64 CPU running at 3GHz ???
>
>
>
> "Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
> news:[email protected]_s54...
>> Hi,
>>
>> Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a 3GHz
>> AMD64 CPU give?
>>
>> --
>> Mazi
>>
>>

Not without some very extreme cooling on the exotic end of the scale....

Neil
June 20th 04, 05:29 PM
On Sun, 20 Jun 2004 12:27:38 -0400, neil s wrote:

> On Thu, 10 Jun 2004 13:56:33 -0500, Early 2 Riz wrote:
>
>> I was not aware that there was an AMD64 CPU running at 3GHz ???
>>
>>
>>
>> "Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
>> news:[email protected]_s54...
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a 3GHz
>>> AMD64 CPU give?
>>>
>>> --
>>> Mazi
>>>
>>>
>
> Not without some very extreme cooling on the exotic end of the scale....
maybe even take dry ice or liquid nitrogen to get there would believe

Only NoSpammers
June 22nd 04, 02:38 PM
"neil s" > wrote in message
ldomain...
> On Thu, 10 Jun 2004 13:56:33 -0500, Early 2 Riz wrote:
>
> > I was not aware that there was an AMD64 CPU running at 3GHz ???
> >
> >
> >
> > "Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
> > news:[email protected]_s54...
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> Does anyone know how much of a floating point operation (FLOP) can a
3GHz
> >> AMD64 CPU give?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Mazi
> >>
> >>
>
> Not without some very extreme cooling on the exotic end of the scale....
>

Did U mean an AMD64 3200+ would not deliver a 3.2GFLOPS without a very
extreme cooling? The Emotion Chip on a Playstation2 that runs @300MHz only
requires a huge heatsink to deliver a whopping 6.02GFLOPS.

--
Mazi

Jason Cothran
June 22nd 04, 02:51 PM
"Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s53...

|
| Did U mean an AMD64 3200+ would not deliver a 3.2GFLOPS without a very
| extreme cooling? The Emotion Chip on a Playstation2 that runs @300MHz only
| requires a huge heatsink to deliver a whopping 6.02GFLOPS.
|
| --
| Mazi
|

I must be special then. My 2GHz AMD64 3200+ with stock cooling in a notebook
gives over 3.2GFLOPS FPU and over 4.1GFLOPS iSSE2, which of course doesn't
mean anything unless you are using it to compare to processors with
identical instruction sets.

Only NoSpammers
June 27th 04, 03:55 PM
"Jason Cothran" > wrote in message
...
>
> "Only NoSpammers" > wrote in message
> news:[email protected]_s53...
>
> |
> | Did U mean an AMD64 3200+ would not deliver a 3.2GFLOPS without a very
> | extreme cooling? The Emotion Chip on a Playstation2 that runs @300MHz
only
> | requires a huge heatsink to deliver a whopping 6.02GFLOPS.
> |
> | --
> | Mazi
> |
>
> I must be special then. My 2GHz AMD64 3200+ with stock cooling in a
notebook
> gives over 3.2GFLOPS FPU and over 4.1GFLOPS iSSE2, which of course doesn't
> mean anything unless you are using it to compare to processors with
> identical instruction sets.
>
>

R those specs of 3200+ @ a bursting or sustaining rate?

--
Mazi